RE: Fast Reply - Why Not Take Things Even Further? Let's Automate All Replies

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

NOTE: This is not by any means me dissing the "Fast Reply" service. I simply got the idea from it, but other than that, this has next to nothing to do with the service itself. I'm sure it's a fine service.

Read the above again before proceeding further.

That said.

Something about the attitude of it being hard work to reply to people commenting to you rubbed me the wrong way. Don't misunderstand: some of it had to with dealing with the blockchain limitations, which can get annoying for sure.

But the idea of people making $500 of absolutely free trash money per post finding it "hard work" to reply to people who bother to leave comments and engage is still ehh to me.

Again, nothing to do with the service or the - I'm sure - fine developers responsible for creating it. That simply sparked the idea.

If there is an attitude amongst some content creators that it's an annoyance and an inconvenience to reply to people - and I'm not talking about the spammers, I'm talking about the fine people who actually read what you create and bother to leave a comment - then those people really need to get over themselves, in my opinion.

It's not an inconvenience to get comments. Hell, I'd say that genuine comments on Steemit are almost a damn privilege if anything.

Remember: these people bother to leave a comment. They bothered to read your/check out your stuff.

Yeah, I've had a few trending posts myself (back in the good ooooole days) and I think I got over 200 comments once, and it was tough to take everyone into account. Although most of the hard work aspect came from the fact that the site simply clogged to a freezing halt after too many comments.

That said, I really tried not only to reply, but to reply with non-generic shit. Keep in mind that these were trending posts that earned me triple-digits - we on Steemit often forget how damn unheard of this is for what are essentially pretty worthless blog posts on the internet. Those rewards partially happened due to these people reading it, engaging, and voting. So, to treat these people as an afterthought is just so hideously arrogant that I don't even know what to say.

I actually sometimes do go through highly rewarded posts on the trending page and I could drop a few names right now who never ever engage with the people leaving comments.

That's one of the easiest ways these days to get added on my Muted list - growing every day, by the way.

It shines through from these people that dumping a few shitty photographs or lines of text once a day is just an excuse to either self-vote or milk autovotes. And that's that. I find it hard to respect that sort of behaviour. And people can scream "free market" and "anarchy" all the want; as a free market actor, I have the right to choose who to respect and who not to respect as an individual.

Hah, gotcha! I can play that game, too.

But hey. Since automation is clearly the way to go, and we the direction seems to be more efficiency and less effort, why not just develop a service like Fast Reply that goes just a bit further?

As the wise owl @ocrdu said here we can evolve Steemit to a point where no human input is even necessary. Just let the bots handle everything.

Someone should develop a similar service to Fast Reply that bypasses the blockchain limitations but in addition to that also automates the comments.

Just a "Thank you!" after every comment, automatically.

God forbid people making risk-free CEO money for blog posts should ever need to bother engaging with their content consumers. That's almost like work.

No, that's for the peasants.

Sort:  

Not sure I got all of your post (my english may be uncertain), but I think you did not get the point of the fast-reply service, which is just a place to centralize posts and comments that are waiting for an answer, and a field to write this answer without leaving the place.

Just easier than watch steemworld, and click the link each time an answer is posted (this not makes steemworld a bad tool of course, I use it all day long).

Please forgive me if I misunderstood you post.

Yeah, I totally got that. Like I said, the service is very good, I’m sure. This has nothing to do with that service.

It’s just what got me thinking of a sentiment on Steemit that sometimes comes up - usually not on the chain, but in the chat, in private discussions.

I could name a top earning member on Steemit that I have the utmost displeasure of knowing personally, but I won’t.

Ok, I didn't fully get your point, my bad.

Lol, no need to apologize. If a point doesn’t come across in a post, it’s usually the writer’s fault. :)

I reply to positive comments every other Wednesday, are you saying my minions deserve even more attention than that? I do have an earnings-per-hour-of-effort ratio to keep in check, you know; I'm not just anyone.

I apologize for the inconvenience, sir.

Commenting to apply social pressure to coerce you into responding to me.

You bitch! Upvoted to make you feel awkward for doing it.

I looked at the "Fast Reply" service this morning @schattenjaeger, after all the buzz in my feed about it.

I decided against using it, especially since there seemed to be such an outcry against having to wait 20 seconds between posting comments.

This is just going to make the crap comments problem worse, in my opinion.

It seems like for every good thing that gets designed something on the crap side comes along and balances it out and we're back to square one or maybe even minus one.

The sad thing about this one is the a lot of people I consider to be good for the platform have jumped on board this one. 😢

You actually make a good point about the increase of spam. I didn't even think of that one, but you're right.

I think it may already be happening @schattenjaeger. On my last post I noticed I got two comments, straight away from two different accounts that left comments that had absolutely nothing to do with what I'd written.

It happened so fast they had to be automated. 😢

Sigh.

It really breaks a heart, by the way. You work on something, you see a comment and you get excited that someone liked something you created, and then the truth comes out.

I think the worst thing is when you work on a post that you really like and it doesn't do as well as the ones you spent way less time on.

That's the hardest thing for me @schattenjaeger. 😊

Patriot the clairvoyant , "I sense some anger and exasperation....."
😂

..I have had 2 biggy upvotes - 7 or 8 months ago - $80 and $120. Since then nothing.
I wonder at the 'real' motivations behind steemit.

It certainly doesn't seem like 'the blogging social website site where you can earn money from content ', does it?

I'll up vote you, but can you please keep your posts down to ' upvote me' or something?

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaall that reading...

Hah, sorry for all the text!

As for the motivation behind Steemit. Good question. The money is up there, for sure. Let's face it: the money is the gimmick and it's the reason why we all got interested.

In addition, the idea of a social media/content site not controlled by entities like Facebook and YouTube was also enticing. That was one of the original gimmicks, but it's long since been forgotten, honestly. Now it's pretty much all about the money.

It's just that the channeling of the money has been centralized to the hands of a few a lot more recently than it ever was. And I never really had a problem in the beginning with the idea of some people making more. Duhh. That's life, that's how it goes. But with the landscape as it is now, it's gotten more and more disingenuine, and it's getting tiresome. The rise of the bots killed a lot of legitimate curation, there's more SP on the market than ever before, it all but kills the "dolphin votes" and most users are pretty much screwed unless they buy the votes.

So, since this can't really be about the money for most us anymore, we need to think of something else. And fun engagement is what keeps people going to Facebook and Reddit, so...

I'm here mostly because there are a few people who read and like my stuff, so that's what motivates me, personally.

Other than that, I dunno.

Truth in every word of criticism of the process.

The bots and the auto-upvotes are killing all the incentive of taking time to create anything at all, including comments. The technocrats who designed the process could not have done better if they had intentionally built in a "get-rich and then self-destruct" code block.

I'm new at this and it looks very different than it did a few months ago. Instead of being excited about the creative possibilities, only the disillusionment of being immersed in an activity where all the winners are cheating, where everyone knows they are robbing the poor, and the rules make it okay.

The only clear option I have found so far is to either join the robbers or STFU and keep on Steeming.

If there is any incentive, it has been cleverly hidden. /rant

I understand. I’d still like to believe that the incentive is some of the cool people here. They exist.

I’ve found some, and I’m pretty sure more exist, but they’re hidden by the user interface.

It would be great to have a tag that marked us as real people who wanted to interface with other real people without any "bot-boosting", as if we were sitting at a table and chatting. Maybe the nobidbot tag will be a good starting point.

I agree that genuine comments on here is what we NEED and is awesome. And, one of my big pet peeves is when people can't take the time to reply to genuine comments!!

I couldn't agree more. If there was more genuine, good quality engagement, the site would become more fun even when one wouldn't be taking the money aspect into account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16