You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing the Reblog Button

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

@dantheman love the fundamental idea and possibilities of growth with reblog.

One suggestion though. Either a separate tab or the ability to filter within my feed. Couple hours into the reblog and my feed is blasted with reblog posts, thus posts from those I follow are way down the scroll.

Again, love the idea as it will introduce me to new contributors and spread the word on authors organically. Just need a way to keep it clean.

Sort:  

I would suggest you unfollow those who blast you with stuff you don't actually want to see.

That's not what anybody wants to hear.... We all want to be able to follow as many of those we like and on a weekly basis I'm going through my feed to see if there's anything I don't want to follow. It's because I want to read about different things at different times of the day.

The average user is not using steemit for curating reasons or for profit the average user has multiple interests and we're not thinking about everything we're interested in all at once. So we're not always going to like what's at the top of our feed but might have the head to read it at another time of the day!

For instance I might want to read a fitness blog in the morning to motivate me, a travel blog at lunchtime to chill, a philosophical blog in the evening and perhaps a bedtime story at night!

Even the tags currently don't work in our feed so it's a headache to look for good content without fishing through what's new or what's trending which is only what the whales like not necessarily what I like...

https://steemit.com/steemit-ideas/@beanz/create-your-own-feeds-and-other-steemit-ideas

I would be seriously disappointed if there were no plans to change the way the feed works.

Totally agree! I liked the feed coming in as newest from the top! Now its all broken up with reblogs! A separate feed for reblogs , right beside the current feed from people followed , is all thats needed. 😉

Well, I think over time this might work out. People who are re-posting to much crap will muted or un-followed. But I had already some users who I follow because of their great blog posts, but some of the shared some crap, which run into my feed. I don't want to mute them or un-follow them as i value their normal posts. But I will monitor this, as I think that everybody just clicked some random post to test the function. So I will wait a week to see where this feature brings us.

I agree that this will totally push the involvement rates up, and it gives us the chance to support un-seen users while earning good curation rewards.

I like your look at it, it's just like having a friend, you don't have to like everything they are telling you, though you don't unfriend them. Well at least I hope you wouldn't,lol. I know I wouldn't if we agreed on everything, then what would be the point of being subjective human. Good comment @knozaki2015

I think it will have the opposite effect. I'm questioning why I would even bother reading content here anymore. I should be able to follow as many people as I want and still find the content I want to see. If I can't... What am I doing here?! I'm not being paid to curate!

it doesn't take everyone blasting reblogs out to lose the content of those you are following though just everyone reblogging one or two articles.
A separate tab would be ideal and allow us to choose when we want to see reblogged content.

Agreed - I want to read the posts of those I follow. So if they like to reblog I'm not gonna unfollow them just for that cause I still want their stuff. Just want to be able to find it. I'm sure I will love some posts that are reblogged, but I need to separate what I "already like" from the "suggestions."

Exactly , i posted earlier, just a separate feed coming in beside the current feed from people we follow forcthe reblogs , newest at the top!😉

We want to see what the authors themselves type... but not necessarily what they blast the feed in the form of reblogging...

also muting the spammers helps! I love the reblog button it seems crazy good for me, thanks!

Is there any way to reach you besides leaving a comment here or on steemchat, @dantheman?

Without the reblog feature, people we follow do not always post what we want to see. There may be 1 out of 4 posts that I don't like but that doesn't mean I have to unfollow them. I don't share "ALL" the interests of the person I follow and, with the reblog feature, if he/she decides to reblog more of the things I am not interested with, it will surely flood my feed with more "unwanted items". Then, again, that doesn't mean I have to unfollow him/her.

I agree with @scaredycatguide about having a separate tab for the reblogged items.

Here here. The purpose of the repost feature is to improve quality from the bottom up. If people are spamming, then the market will dictate itself.

Good suggestion. Is it safe to mute somebody you're following on a temporary basis? Mute sounds like it may be semi-permanent or even force you to unfollow. On the other hand it might be the filter you're looking for. Haven't tried it myself. Anybody?
Edit: Tested and as expected it unfollows and mutes the person. Thankfully I was able to revisit one of their posts I had commented on and follow/unmute. I'm not sure if going to my comment history was the only way to get them back or not.

Thanks for testing that out. I hadn't muted anyone before, now we know.

I see your point. There are pros and cons to both ways of implementing it. Personally I actually kind of like having it all in my feed.

I am upvoting your comment though, because I think this is a good conversation to have.

Exactly, everyone is going to have a different opinion on it. You will never have 100% approval on any item. The goal of my suggestions is to have things on steemit as efficient and user friendly as possible, whatever that may look like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78