Do you want to access the raw HTML from ANY post you've EVER made on Steemit?? Look no further: @roadscape's Steemd.com to the rescue!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!



Thanks for the gifs, @hilarski


Steemit is cool; we all know this or we wouldn't be here. Are you aware there are also lots of tools available to enhance your steeming experience?

The gentleman @roadscape gifted us all one two such tools:

Steemd.com displays tons of info! 

Steemdb.com displays even more!! 


Honestly, Steemd.com is a bit intimidating at first glance for non-techy types such as myself who don't yet know how to analyze all this data. Thankfully, we're all capable of learning if we choose to, so I suggest having a look around to better understand what's there. Ask questions if you don't get it!  

Steemdb.com is easier on the eyes so less menacing to the brain, although it too is pretty dense with all kinds of info. It has been helpful to me on many occasions and is surely relevant to many more. 

In this post, I'm only going to address one feature of Steemd.com, although I encourage you to fully scope both sites to find lots of stuff that may prove extremely valuable & useful to you in your steemy adventures. 

How to find the HTML code for ANY post you have EVER made on Steemit.com:

  1. Go to your post on Steemit.com.
  2. In the URL bar, change steemit.com to steemd.com & hit enter.
  3. Voila!




Why might you want the HTML code from any post ever?

Obviously you're using HTML to build a website and/or impress your friends. 

If you want to add your Steemit posts to another website, you can only access the HTML code on Steemit (through the editor function) for the first 7 days. 

If you didn't have the foresight to save HTML within this one week window, you have to start from scratch - OR you can use this wee hack through Steemd.com to find it, thus saving you a boatload of time from recreating it.

Even if your website is built on something like Weebly or Wix, copy/pasting HTML can by vastly more time efficient than their drag & drop then copy/paste styling, although you might give up some customization capabilities unless you're also a coding whiz...which you probaby aren't if you're using Weebly or Wix or even reading this post in the first place. 

May all your HTMLing needs by abundantly met with this wonderful time saving tool! 


@roadscape is a developer with Steemit, Inc. and witness, so we can all thank him for shaping the current reality of our favorite website and blockchain. Thanks @roadscape








💛 Sara! 

Sort:  

THis post is worth almost as little as mine!

recently, i had used steemsql to pull the raw html for the comments on one specific which works quite well. i wanted to extract the comments out and include them when i post the result of a contest.

Thank you @ace108, I was not aware of that site! That could be so helpful.

You're welcome. That's not so much as a site but more of a database.
You need to use something like SQL or other interface to extract it.

Oh, ok. I don't know how to do that...yet.

It's bit technical. I'm not totally expert in it but if you need some help to get something out let me know

Thank you! I appreciate assistance with these things because I know very little about the tech world.

you're welcome

This post is so valuable! Thanks for sharing it, hope people find the value!

Yes I do as well. It can save so much time and energy to know this shortcut!

Yes indeed!

Atlas we now KNOW!

Thanks @roadscape and thank you @saramiller for helping with this! I am a techy noob, so just starting out with html. I usually just write my blogs in word and copy paste it over to steemit to post. I will have a go and see if I can figure this out! :D

You're welcome, @beautifulbullies. I think it's beneficial to write a Steemit post in another format like word for a lot of reasons. I use Google drive docs often for easy access between devices or to share with other people.

I'm a noob too. I've learned a lot from using Steemit, but the tech stuff is a deep & different realm. It's a brand new language for me with brand new concepts to process, which can be a lot o teach yourself! I'm really grateful for the guides out there including @roadscape who share their wisdom - one of the many great benefits of Steemit is that we can interact with & learn from each other!

Thnx @saramiller for putting this info all together.

You're welcome, I hope it's helpful to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94