Steemit You can not edit old posts Can change this so we can edit old posts? I can not see a way to contact steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

Hello I can not see a way to contact steemit I will try here steemit I have a problem I want to insert more links from (future posts) that i will create I want to add in my old posts the links creating a menu of the posts that I am creating but you can not edit the old post !
You can change this so we can edit old posts?

Example:

Lesson 1 HTML
Lesson 2 What is HTML?
Lesson 3 What are HTML tags?
Lesson 4 Create your first website
Lesson 5 what have you learned?
Sort:  

I upvoted You

this situation is ridiculous and m u s t be improved. Facts, things, situations and infos are changing permanently - only our Steemit post staying outdated cause we can't edit/update it. Thats just an absolutely no-go.

I find this troublesome as well, but I think it has to do with the underlying technique: the blockchain makes it impossible to change or edit anything after a week or so....

In the first few days after you post something, you can still edit it but after some time the edit button dissapears: the message will be there forever as it is never to be changed anymore....

This is really frustrating I admit.

I am not sure if it wil ever be possible to change this.

This is also the power of the blockchain technique in the case where it is used in cryptocurrencies: the whole "chain" of transactions is permanent; nobody can change the old transactions anymore after they are done.
This makes it an enormous safe system for transactions and contracts, but maybe we must come to the conclusion that it is not good for writing things that should be dynamically changed.

I think there is a way out. https://github.com/steemit/steem-js/issues/130

Maybe, they will allow you to do that in a simpler way in the future.

I really hope it does, because I think the whole problem with the editing will hold people back from posting content once they find out this handicap.
Not only if one finds a misspelling or such thing, but also if there are links in the post that have become obsolete, many ( serious ) content posters will want to be able to edit these older posts.

There is a way to contact steemit by sending an e-mail to [email protected]. Thing is their mailbox is most probably full and you'll get an answer...well after a long time.

I sent an email now thank-you!

Like I said, don't hold your breath for an answer. They are under heavy volume of work right now.

Hi @sahriarbappy, you can edit your posts using the Edit button at the bottom of the post:

This site is still in Beta, so they are still working through some bugs. Sometimes the Edit button won't work, or you won't be able to post the edit, but come back later or the next day and it should work :)

Is there a time limit until your not able to edit anymore I see my post from 4 days ago I can but from 7 days ago I cannot.

Also I see you and @sahriarbappy don’t have a Steemit Profile Picture I made a story post to make it simply to do. https://steemit.com/steemit/@isteemithard/how-to-upload-a-profile-picture-and-or-cover-image-to-your-steemit-account

This is very unfortunate , I really want to update my old posts, it looks crappy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34