Reputation Dropped From 51 to 0!

in #steemit6 years ago

phishing.png

So I got a big shock when I woke up this morning and wanted to do my usual daily posts. It kept saying i need to have at least 10 reputation in order to upload an image. I went back to my #steemit profile and saw that my reputation was ZERO!

WHAT?!?

Something's not right here. I had 51 reputation points. What happened? I immediately went to check steemworld.org and steemd.com. I realised that while I was sleeping, my account made a bunch of spam comments on other people's posts and I got flagged and downvoted by @steemcleaners and a few others.

I quickly googled for help and this was what I found out. I had probably clicked onto a phishing site and submitted by steemit password. So what do I have to do now?

If the same thing happened to you, don't panic. Just follow the below step by step.

  1. Do NOT delete the spam comments.
  2. EDIT the comments and change them to something like "comment deleted".
  3. Do this for ALL the spam comments.
  4. Change your Steemit password so that the phishing sites can't post on your behalf.
  5. Join the steemcleaners discord channel.
  6. Post in the general chat or appeal section that you have deleted all the spam comments and wait for someone to remove the flags & downvotes from your comments.

Your reputation should go back up again if you did the above 6 steps. It is VERY IMPORTANT that you EDIT the spam comments. DO NOT DELETE.

I was unfortunate that someone deleted my comments and @steemcleaners was not able to remove the downvote from those comments. I was left with 1 reputation point after they did what they could.

@bullionstackers has advised me to create a post and DECLINE PAYMENT. He said that it will help me get back my reputation. I'm not sure how that's gonna work out so this post will be the test.

Please be very careful with where you submit your Steemit passwords. Don't let what happened to me happen to you too. I will never wish that on anyone.


ryan fb profile pic.png

Daily Forex is my way of sharing my personal thoughts on the Forex Industry with would-be traders as well as current traders.

I thank you in advance for following my daily blog post and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. It will also be a sign that my content is relevant and have given you a bit of insight on what Forex Trading is all about.

Here are some interesting topics to start you off :


If you wish to get more FREE Forex Content, join my Tradesto Education Group.

Sign up for a FREE Steemit account and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem ($$$) too for doing that! #awesome


Remember to FOLLOW me too!

Sort:  

My upvote brought you to level 8...best of luck for future! Lesson learned for you and anyone who reads your post!

oh wow! thanks @haejin! u made my day! and today i learnt something new. the reputation point increases when the upvote is given, not when it is claimed after 7 days. correct me if i'm wrong?

Ohhh no
It is sad.I can understand it because i know that it is bit harder to get 51 reputation point.
But I can't do something for you.I am really sorry.I can't do any thing and my Sp is also very low otherwise i help you with my Upvote.
Thanks @ryanng for your infprmation for us.
I hope and i pray for you that you get your reputaion back.

hey @bullionstackers, i just saw that you sent me 5 sbd. so should i spend it on this post?

but that means i've to wait 7 days before getting some reputation back right?

Looks like , your Rep have gone down so much.
I will try to assist you as much as I can.

OK. I just read your post.
I keep the fingers crossed for you to get back where you should be.
If I can help I will gladly do that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90