Most of your followers are probably GHOSTS or DEAD - Find out how many REAL followers you currently have!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

If you've been here for long enough, you probably know about The Beast laying in the corner, creeping on our users. What Beast? User retention, or to be more precise, the lack of it. Let's not fool ourselves by looking at Steemit through pink colored glasses, thinking how everything is perfect. It's not, and to be perfectly honest, it's far from it. Don't get me wrong, I'm not pesimistic, nor do I think that Steem/Steemit won't succeed in the future. I'm just being realistic, and I'm telling you how things really are. That's what I've been doing for the past year, ever since I got here, and that's what I'll continue doing in the future. I'm not here to smudge your eyes with lies and nonsense, or to tell you how everything is perfect while it isn't.

So let's comfront the user retention problem by seeing how many of our followers are real. There is this wonderful site called SteemSpectacles made by @pilcrow and @sjennon which allows you to take a realistic look insight into your follower count.

When you first land on the page it will ask you to enter a username which you want to look into. Type in your Steemit nick, or a nick from another user who you would like to a check up for.

Depending on the number of followers you currently have, it could take up to a min or two for it to fully load up. When it does, click on the Followers tab at the left part of the screen.

Here, you will be propted with a stats and names of your GHOST followers (those that are active and haven't interacted with you in 100 posts) and DEAD followers (those that been active for longer than a mont)

The bitter reality

Looking at my stats, we can see the depressing aftermath of The Beast feasting on my fellow Steemians. Most of my followers (4168/4583) are GHOSTS and 1933 out of the 4168 ghosts are DEAD.

How many real followers do you have?

Share your results in the comment section down below!

While some might argue that the GHOSTS are actually somewhat real followers, but they are just shy to interact, this at least gives you an insight to what your real follower base is (those that actually interact with you). Some of your GHOST followers might still read your stuff, but they never engage. Leaving a question hanging in the air:"Who is really a ghost then?" Well, untill we get a way of finding out which users actually read through your posts, we will never know. Until then we can just hope to see more of our GHOST or DEAD followers come to life and start engaging with our content!

How?

START WRIGING MORE INTERESTING/ENGAGING STUFF. Go through the list of your GHOSTS and engage with their content. Ask questions throughout your posts and demand engagement that way, or go around the STEEM blockchain and consume other people's content, engage with them and start building your network. Post by post, comment by comment, the GHOSTS will appear and start engaging with your content. Believe me, they will!

What do you think?

What else can we do to bring up to life our GHOSTS and get more engagement on our posts? See what I did there? Not only is this question going to help me and others reading this blog figure out more ways to get better engagement, but it will also motivate some of you to comment, even though you probably wouldn't have done that if I didn't ask the question.

Read my other Steemit related posts

Make Your Steem Life Easier With Instant Notifications Using GinaBot

- CREATING NEW STEEMIANS - STEEM Evangelism Through Apps Like Steepshot, Dlive or Dtube

Why LOW Steem Prices SHOULDN'T Discourage You From Producing Content But SHOULD Motivate You Instead

Posts Gaining/Loosing Value Without Aditional Upvotes/Flags? Find out why!

Understanding Full Potential of The Steem Blockchain And Why To Power Up


Share your thoughts.


Stay connected!

Like what you see? Consider re-steeming this post to help inform others about it.

Sort:  

Abysmal
After 2 years and almost 3,000 followers...only 400 are active and most of the people who vote for me...do so with bots!
X@#$#!!!!@runicar, thanks for holding up a mirror, so that I could see.

Well, that could change if everyone would stop being so shy / concentrated on content creation and started engaging more.

With bidbots? You mean autovoters? Yeah, some people don't have time to, or the will power needed to manually curate so they follow curation trails or individuals to curate them automatically.

We have to face the facts to realize the problem and then we might fix it :)

I started writing a 2nd response and well, it became a post in itself @runicar.

I have given you credit and you can find it here:
https://steemit.com/esteemapp/@rebeccaryan/almost-dead-in-the-water-f7ae1d89c9586

How nice. Glad to have inspired you and thanks for the credit.

quite sad when I look at it
image.png

Yep, seems like most of us have around 15%-20% of active followers. Everyone is too concerned about content creation nowadays. No time to engage with others, I guess.

Yeah that is a lot of the problem I think, I try to be active but clearly not all do

It was a mixed emotion
It was funny and sad, funny and sad because I knew that all of them really don't care about me

vyxzcdhhn8.png

They are all dead and ghosts

Well, you still have 7 real followers :)

How sad hahahaha
I'll make them all interact with me hahahaha

Damn dude. It can only get better from here though. Many steemians just need to see the results of this spectacle program to realize the sitewide problem. Following your account too.

Hahahahah don't be sad
Honestly I was thinking that I won't be having real followers

I'll follow you for real ^_^

Ouch the truth hurts!!

about 10 % are still following. And it looks quite the same for all of you.

What does this say about steemit?

Yep. It says that we are too focused on content creation and don't have to interact with each other.

thanks for sharing this I will have to check my stats out on this

Np. Drop them here when you do. I would really like to see what others reading this get as a result.

I have Just 30 Active Members, SAD but True apart from this It is a great project.

30 out of how many? I agree. Steem is going places, but there are problems that need to be fixed first.

Wow great site and i think i have the leadt active followers see:-
Screenshot_20180907_181437.png

And as a friend, you have done a mistake in the following sentences

Here, you will be propted with a stats and names of your DEAD followers (those that are active and haven't interacted with you in 100 posts) and DEAD followers (those that been active for longer than a mont)

It will be Ghost followers in place of dead followers.

Thanks for sharing...

Percentage wise, you got more active followers than me :) Thanks! Don't know how that one slipped through.

Wow its amazing, i will keep it up..

Well, percentage wise you have the best score out of everyone that posthed their score here :)

I'm going to start communicating with my ghosts anyway XD

Awesome!

not dead, but bots

Yes, there are a lot of bots but not that many

Hi @runicar!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.835 which ranks you at #1223 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1232).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 325 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95