Gimme a Fucking Break Is This Really What Steemit Has Come To?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


The other week I made a @DTube video titled The Quality of Steemit Posts is Going Downhill & Why It's Bad for Steemit Growth & Adoption in which I talked about how I've seen Steemit transition from being more long form content with mixed media, to people posting absolute shit photos 6 times per hour. And the saddest part to me is that these people are actually getting ahead and making money on Steemit as well as raising their scores and followers. Another really fucked up thing is were not talking about Steemit noobs who are (25) new to the platform and frustrated with their lack of growth doing this stuff, were talking about people who are (68) and (70) who have been on here a long time resorting to this

Now don't get me wrong, I have nothing wrong with photography, I love photography, but there's a difference between a shot with a story or even a shot that's well framed and had some thought put into it, there's a big difference between that and taking your phone out of your pocket snapping a quick pic of your refridgerator and captioning it "Bout to eat".

Now I'm used to some shit accounts posting shit, and I'm used to some new accounts posting shit kind of trying to figure out what Steemit's all about and what to post. What's even more frightening however is to see established successful accounts resorting to this type of stuff.

I'm not gonna mention anyone by name because I'm not looking to pick on anyone and I don't want to single this guy out because he's one in a thousand people doing this. I actually quite like the guy who posted this and he's a supporter of mine so I don't mean to talk shit, but seriously look at this out of focus grainy picture, there's no story behind it and not only that but he didn't even take the picture himself he took it from online and cited it. Why in the world would you pick such a shitty photo and why would you think adding a title now makes it an original work and that its somehow adding value to it and adding value to Steemit?

If this is the kind of content that Steemit is gonna have moving forward and if this is the type of behavior and content that gets ahead, well fuck me running, I don't think I want to be part of this site.

Furthermore, this particular user has a higher score than me and this strategy of just bombarding Steemit with horseshit seems to be working in his and many other people's favor.

I feel like I should stop posting content on this channel that I actually put in time and effort to and just create a new account and just post pictures of my dick and my refridgerator every half hour on the hour. It will save me a whole lot of time and I'll probably make as much if not more money.

Sort:  

Unfortunately, it's true. I've tried a couple times to gain some traction on here in the past year but either I haven't been consistent enough or just haven't made the right friends. It's a shame. It's broken and I'm not sure how to fix it.

Hey buddy, good to see you around again. You used to be very active on here and kind of one of my Steemit role models along with @brianphobos and then you kind of disapared for a while. Did you find this platform not to be worth your time? Totally understandable i that' was the case. For me if I wasn't cross promoting youtube content I'm already making anyways I probably wouldn't be on here anymore, that and I've made some good friends on here and enjoy talking to them although honestly I can't say I would ever spend any time here if I wasn't a creator ie I woudl never come here just to consume content. Not to say there's no good stuff here but its too much work sorting thorugh to find the occasional gem and on Reddit and Youtube they deliver stuff I like right to me.

I'm not actually angry despite the tone of the post, I forget the dudes name but there was a guy who did very well with these talking comical slash shock value posts pointing out problems about Steemit, his name is slipping my mind but I kinda got the idea from him and I've had some good success with these posts as well so I try to do one every now and again while pointing out issues I see with Steemit.

I think I am going to create a throwaway account and just post pics to Steepshot once an hour or so, no effort posts maybe a sidewalk a pic of my shoe, my car door. I'm curious to see if that account does better than one I actually put effort into. I honestly feel like it will. Reason being on here people tend to vote for familiar names and also use upvote bots so if you post 10x a day your likely to get 10 votes from some people where someone posting thoughtful or good content once every 2 days is only gonna get one vote from someone. I'll be curious to hear how this experiment works out.

Anyhow, good to see you back around.

Hhahhahaha, Dude I totally busted up by the way this was written and unfortunately I'm not liking what I'm seeing on Steemit either. It is devolving further and further and spiraling downward in an uncontrollable fashion.

A lot of the content creators that were on here when I started back in 2016 have turned into greedy little fuck bags. Only vote for themselves and then the few people they vote for are people who I know they don't agree with but know the person is going to pump the living fuck out of the post with upvote bots so they jump on the curation ride as much as possible.

Then I have basically resorted to strategic post through Busy.org and eSteem but now eSteem's process isn't automated so I'm hard pressed to get an upvote from them. I can't get upvotes from DLive and DTube for the most part.

It has really become one problem after another worse problem here. Only briefly when the price spikes is it a temporary party because we all feel like we are making "good money" relative to what we earned previously. That is when the scammers and the hosers really make bank and yank hundreds of thousands from the system.

Here is a picture of what Steemians looked like 2 years ago.

Here is what Steemians look like now.

You make a very good point. If someone can't bother to take a decent photo and write a few words about it, they don't get my upvote. Average photos and 50 to 100 words isn't very creative but it is much better than half of what we are seeing here.
The technical analysis is lame. Not only is it absolutely random with no mathematical, fundamental or statistical relevance, some of it is also unethical. No one should be speculating about the price of assets and advertising their 'findings' with bidbots. I wouldn't be surprised if a few people got into trouble one day, people with high reputation earning hundreds of dollars can be seen as authority figures when they aren't.
It's very difficult for Steem to fix these issues, it has to be fixed through a grassroots movement. Maybe they could burn half the SP on any post beyond 4 in a day. They could also burn some upvote power on accounts with a large amount of delagated SP and accounts which are bots to make bidbots less competitive with the post promotion function. However this wouldn't be popular to many large holders of Steem.

@rulesforrebels @bodyinbeta Do not despair, Steemit is still a very young network figuring out how to deal with its growing pains. It has much to learn and figure but has come a long way since its inception.
For now on Steemit as in real life, sh^t can float, but eventually will fall apart an disappear.... gross but true. I believe that is a big complaint of @berniesanders against @haejin . Haejin posts about 10 times a day and has a huge whale "benefactor" up voting his posts.
I do find a lot of information about the crypto-world here that I don't find anywhere else, but yes, there are currently better laid out platforms that make for better user experience when seeking certain genres of information.
For now, I think Steemit is a wheel hub with spokes, and new spokes constantly being added. It seems that more and more crypto projects are starting to realize that Steemit is a smart place to be, i.e. the Byte Ball project now doing airdrop for Steem Power hodlers.
This could bode very well should this trend continue, and I believe that as time goes on, we Steemians will all get better at promoting and valuing content if not accurately at least adequately enough.
Thanks for your efforts on here @rulesforrebels They are not going completely unnoticed. I do occasionally send some of you info. to my brother who owns a small t-shirt/clothing line while also owning and running a t-shirt silk screen shop, amongst other things. Lately he has been having trouble with people actually stealing his designs (in detail too ) and selling them to retailers without my brother's company permission....
Again, thanks for your efforts and support as well.

Hey @streetstyle appreciate the comment and the kind words, that actually means a lot and is very inspriing so I truly do appreciate it.

I guess what's frustrating is I've always thought it was kind of all of our duties to be an ambassador of Steemit and bring people on and try to make this a better platform and I've tried to do that, I try creating quality content, I try to bring people over here, I'm always suggesting Steemit, I introduced my Youtube audience and yet it seems the people who game the system and make this a worse platform are the ones who profit and get ahead. I've talked about this with @brianphobos before. He's a person who's really inspired me and kept me on here and who's been on here a long time and I don't see him get ahead.

More recently I see @yungchief doing a ton to create a community and grow steemit yet his two recent posts earned 0.03 cents and 0.08 cents. It's just frustrating seeing the peopel doing the most getting the least and the peopel getting ahead being the people who just take take take and game the sytem.

I don't really have the power to do anything or give anything but I'd love to see some kinda unsung heroes weekly thing for lack of a better word where people who do a lot for the platform somehow get the community rallied behind them and give them some support, help them gain some followers make a little bit of money.

All that said there are some big success stories. @stackin is killing it on here. @kenanqhd over the last year has been doing some amazing things and having success and @reseller is absoultely killing it which I'm super happy for him for, so I don't wanna make it sound like nobody gets ahead there's some people who well deserve the success they are having.

Anyhow, appreciate the kind words and the pep talk. Thank you

Most of these people were supported when it was going great. As the support dwindled, they could only think of themselves and how they could keep raking in the money, forgetting the new guys who earn nothing. Newbies won't stay. And that's the reason why. The older folks are posting crap and getting all the money while some new guys post quality and get nothing. It's depressing. They won't stay!

I agree, while Steemit has always been hard to get ahead and while today's problems have always existed when I got on here back last June there seemed to be much more of a community feel. I felt like everyone was working to grow adoption and bring people on, people were trying to bring people from their local communities on, there seemed to be a genuine effort to support new people and make them feel welcom here and today it seems its every man for himself and also more about gaming the system than moving the platform forward, growing adoption, encouraging new people etc.

I think we as a community need to do more to recognize people who do little things to help Steemit taht sometimes go unnoticed or that aren't rewarded monetarily currently.

Sadly, this is what we get. People who put much hardwork is seen as wasted effort and appreciated. Recently, I saw someone who posted an arrow and the post made over $170. I was like WTF, I like the guy but that post was unnecessary.
Just keep doing what you love, people shouldn't change us from posting valuable content that changes the world

Hey @yungchief I think you are doing great things for Steemit as well as your community. Keep up the good work.

Thank you.

I see a lot of that sort of thing. We have a lot of posting just to post behavior going on to keep the income stream going. I've always thought that for Steem/Steemit to make it it has to provide exterior value outside of the community and that sort of behavior doesn't help. Hopefully that sort of thing won't get out of hand.

@rulesforrebels
I am still trying to be strong enough to survive on this steemit platform

Hey @anishag I'm with you there. Not sure if you have a blog or Youtube Channel or another platform but if you don't I'd suggest you starting one so when you put a lot of effort into a post your not 100% reliant on Steemit to earn money, backlinks, whatever else, you also have other places to cross post your content. For me, if I wasn't also on Youtube, earning off Youtube and building a subscriber base on Youtube I probably wouldn't be here. At least I'm not creating content just for Steemit which is why my efforts here aren't completely wasted when I put a lot of effort into a post and get gets 6 upvotes.

Congratulations @rulesforrebels! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71