SteemLand - an adventure

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

This is a story of what happened with me in the last week. We might need more than one coffee for this post.


Once upon a time , there was me....



 ...bitcoin enthusiast , crazy cam girl for kicks and giggles and bitcoin of course. Always interested in cryptocurrencies, bitcoin and everything in between.


(sorry for the quality, phone sucks)


It all started a week ago , when i was introduced to Steemit. I liked everything about it, the idea, the posts, the hype, the people..everything. It became the #1 discussion topic in my XOtika.TV channel , to a point where everyone made accounts, shared links, comment, asked questions about how it works...the more we talked about it, the more i liked it. I was even asking everyone entering my channel if they know steemit and what do they think about it. Between all this happening , i was doing my own research about steemit and steem and getting more and more addicted to this social-media platform. 


So one day, after many encouragements, i decided to introduce myself over a cup of coffee.


And this happen: 



While we where chilling in my channel...it hit $2000. One of my members (aka @demotruk , the one who also introduced me to steemit ) wrote in chat , "Your post has $2000" , then another one said "$1984", and another, "noo it's 1989" all this, while i was saying "guys stop messing with me" (they have a reputation as cheeky monkeys , so messing with me wouldnt be a first) and actually calling the first one an "ass" (still apologizing for that), but they kept insisting, "go and check" "see for yourself"!! 


I honestly was afraid to check myself...i was thinking surely they were messing with me. It can be true. So i gathered my courage and refreshed the page. AND OMG THERE IT WAS!! $2000, going up and down and up and down and i was shocked! 


This is an actual screen shot of my reaction taken by one of the members present in my channel.


I was delighted, i was in awe, kept asking myself, how did this happen. It was such a rush..i still get goosebumps just writing about it. I didn't know what to do...how do i repay those people who gave their vote and those who comment? How can i give something back to them and to this amazing project? 


Until that point , i was mostly reading content and voting here and there, adding a comment sometimes. But i wanted more, i wanted to know more, and learn more. So if until now i was only learning about the platform, from that point forward , i started to research the currency itself(thank God for my previous researches about Bitcoin).  


It didn't take me long to learn what i needed to know. 


Thanks to https://steem.io/documentation/how-to-mine/ and @joseph https://steemit.com/steemhelp/@joseph/mining-steem-for-dummies i was able to start mining on my other computer. But i wasn't satisfied with the hash rate (it was an i3 old machine) so i decided to investigate further.


So i found @pfunk guide https://steemit.com/steem/@pfunk/guide-maximize-your-mining-hashrate-in-windows-by-mining-steem-in-a-vm and @tuck-fheman https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/how-to-mine-steem-in-windows


Carefully reading the comments i found out that the compiled binaries for v0.11.0 were already made and relieved that i don't have to compile everything from the start i said to give it a try.


Keep in mind that this is pretty much my first time trying anything like this. 


First run first pain: 



Uhm ... decided to delete and copy again witness_node_data_dir from http://steemitup.eu/


And Success!!! there we go mining...



Now the waiting begun....and there it was my first pow. Oh the happiness, i was giggling like a kid on the Xmas morning.


Royaltiffany royaltiffany found a pow 17 hours ago 712fb4cf



After all this, i decided that alongside with bitcoin, i want to promote steem too. And this is how i'm doing it.




To end this chapter of SteemLand adventure, i am going to say a big big  "Thank you" , thank you for making me want to discover new territories  (mining) in cryptoland and thank you everyone for the warm welcome.




PS:

Small preview for tonight cam session!!





#steemit #steem #mining #life #introducemyself #bitcoin

Sort:  

Somehow it doesn't surprise me that Tiff got Steem block ... she's clever girl with just enough luck on her side :P

I doubt it will be the only one. Maybe we need a poll on how many she gets.

Ahahahah i am still waiting for the next pow !! :D For some reason it gives me so much joy !

Where did you get those cute T-shirts? I wanna get one for my girl as well.

You can go to any print shop with a blank tshirt and they will do it. I did mine for like 15 $ , in my fav print shop :D

Oh, you're great, I love you

Plug them maybe you will get a discount for the next one. :)

I already get discounts lol because of previous things i did with them...

Welcome to Steemit @sergei!

Here is some interesting info that will help you create amazing content.

How to Create Successful Steemit Content:
Why Steemwhales are upvoting Crap instead of Your Masterpiece - And why you should be Happy About it
How I Earned $100,000 With Steemit
Foolproof Formula for a Successful Post on Steemit: 7 Ingredients for Success
The Secret Formula to a Successful "IntroduceYourself" Post...And The #1 Mistake to Avoid
I Lost Over $124,768 On Steemit In My First Month(Why I'm Kicking Myself In The Balls For Not Powering Up)
How to Properly Format your Steemit Posts
These are just some of the posts that once understood, will give the reader a SIGNIFICANT advantage on steemit.

Everyone is rooting for you!
Good Luck!,
Weenis

Your reply looks more like spam than being on the post subject. You got my (down)vote.

Wow! You rock!!! This is a great post and very inspiring too. Thank you so much, namaste :)

Namaste! Thank you so much !

I'm super jealous that you figured out how to mine! I've been trying for the past couple days but I keep getting errors! Awesome posts btw keep up the good work!

Thank you :) Keep trying , you'll figure it out.

Should I add more inspirational links ? There are plenty but those i added are those that really helped me. Please read the comments too.

How about a step by step video here? That would sure help. are you still mining with an i3?

I'll try to make a video over the weekend when i have more time :)

Are you mining on Windows Tiffany?

perfect that would help all of us since you did the heavy lifitn hehehe.

@tim-johnston At this moment yes i am mining on Windows.

Yea, I've put probably 12 hours into trying to make it work and I keep getting blockchain errors and witness 98: error =(

How I finally got it to sync. Get the latest version link is in this thread somewhere, Comment out the miner-threads line in the config and just let it run for awhile. Every hour or so shut it down and backup the witness_node_data directory. If it crashes go back to the most recent backup that works and keep going. When it's finally fully scynced put the miner-threads line back and start it up to mine.

I haven't tried this yet! I'll let you know if it works! Thanks for the input.

Well, congrats for deciding yourself to go deeper in the cryptoland and i could say it's a perfect choice that you started with Steem. Keep exploring and don't forget that

Fortune favours the bold

Thank you :) I was really anxious about the results but it turned out great :D

That is totally awesome !

Nice! Are you the same Tiff that was on Bitcoin Uncensored a few weeks back? How do you put up with those knuckleheads?!?! I think you are on your way to becoming the Crypto Queen!

Yes she is. She has been on a couple of times now.

Yes i am the same Tiff hahahahaha , i have a weird sense of humor , and half the time ignore them when i disagree with them. "Worst show in bitcoin"!!

I'm sure there will be a whole episode upcoming about Steemit and how it has to be a scam bc there's no point to blockchain tech beyond bitcoin amirite?!?!

Can't wait for it hahahaha !!! Yes Sir , you are right! heavy sarcasm

You know your a closet BU fan.

Lol, you are mining too? That's real immersion... Btw, what was the payout of the mining?

1% of market cap..
In steem power.
I didn't check until now :D

Great post Tiffany. You're a proper evangelist and deserve every success.
See you at the moon landing!

Thank you so much! I'll do my best :)

I'm going to make sure my cousin doesn't go on Steemit, lest she becomes a camgirl.

I worked too hard to have the girls in my family be subject to the sort of objectification, poor girls were exposing themselves to in the shithole I grew up in!

There are a lot of women writing content on this amazing platform , that you would probably approve , that you would like your cousin to see , like these ones :
@blinova
https://steemit.com/donate/@blinova/steemit-s-first-donate-post

@heiditravels
https://steemit.com/travel/@heiditravels/trespassing-waterfalls-and-giant-centipedes

@katecloud
https://steemit.com/littlebitsandbigdeals/@katecloud/4g1n5s-what-i-m-taking-to-survive-a-6-month-hiking-trip

@edgeland
https://steemit.com/anarchism/@edgeland/don-t-follow-me-i-m-lost

And these are only on the popular and trending pages. There are a lot more everywhere else.

So , if your cousin, decides to be a cam girl, i am pretty sure it wont be because of my blog, where besides being a cam girl ,as a hobby , i also have the same job in the same company for too many years now, in an economy that only goes down. Also , i have been involved in cryptoland as much as i could and will continue to do so. Thank you for the feedback :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65054.60
ETH 3558.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35