To do Video or to Not Do Video...that is the Question My Dear Steemians :)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

v2.jpg

Source

Okay back in December I joined Steemit with the intent of blogging and pretty much blogging alone. I have done video with my Online business but it was NEVER a huge Passion. I always get caught up in trying to make it perfect i.e talking without stumbling, right angles, lighting, location etc..etc..

So I have been committed to my Passion of writing blog posts about entertaining, interesting, and thought provoking subjects.

But...

I obviously know the power of doing videos. Especially when you are trying to engage with people in a more quaint and personable level. For instance, there is something about seeing @bobaphet 's face on video doing Comedy and Life topics that are much more poignant than if he just wrote a blog post about it. Absolutely no question.

However...

I think people like @bobaphet are very efficient at doing videos. And can reel them out pretty quickly without sacrificing quality. Iam not for certain of this as I have never asked him. Just a suspicion. Plus, you can just tell with his body language on his videos that the guy just loves doing it and is quite the natural at it ;)

As for Me...

I made the decision early on that I would limit any video content on the Steemit platform. I do plan to throw some here and there for good measure. But very limited. It came down to this : I do love blogging and writing with such a Passion. And I can do it pretty efficiently and effectively. Plus, if I did videos I would sacrifice the time of other things I do here particularly Commenting and Curation on my HUGE Manuel Curation Trail. And I just DO NOT want to do that. It's another Passion of mine. And the time it takes for me to produce a video would take all day, and it would cut into that time.

End of story !!

Conclusion...

Of course video can be extremely effective. And we each have to make that choice whether to pursue it or not. For many it is totally worth it. Just not for me; at least not right now.

Cheers,
Robert

P.S. Here's a video I did in my car for a small YT channel I started for my online business ( that I have had for the last 10 years). Did it this past Fall. It took the damn thing hours to try to get the phone steady as well as almost getting hit by passerbys trying to get it right lol

)

thealliance_banner_steemitcomics.png

Sort:  

If you know making videos isn't really your passion, you do not have to do anything that you would not fully devote to. If you love blogs, keep doing it. You perform the best when you are doing something you are truly passionate about. I love doing both, not sure if you saw my YouTube channel but if not, here is my link: http://www.youtube.com/DenoxSeries

Thank buddy. Yeah I agree, follow your Passion. I'll check it out. thnx

You appeared comfortable doing the video. I liked your accent..Texas?
You could have some fun doing the singing contest, https://steemit.com/badkaraoke/@simgirlandsnook/bad-karaoke-round-6-winners-round-7-reminder

Thank you my lady. Actually that's a East Tennessee accent who is now transplanted in South Texas :)

It was the reverse for me, I was making not very entertaining YouTube videos and ended up being encouraged here by @old-guy-photos whose videos I watched.

I think the simplest thing though is to make the content that feels right for you, and enjoy doing. It's always difficult to find something people will engage with, and of course just getting posts seen is a challenge - although future enhancements to Steemit should address this.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you buddy. Yeah, I really enjoy going along with you on your trips across the UK. Always a blast :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43