I Caught My 18 Year Old Daughter Smoking Bud. What Shold I Do? My Wife Diagrees With Me.

in #steemit8 years ago

Lo

I Caught My 18 Year Old Daughter Smoking Bud. What Shold I Do? My Wife Diagrees With Me.  I think that if she does it responsably then it's no big deal. I'd rather know about it and be aware rather than her doing it behind our backs. My wife thinks we should send her to rehab. I could really use some input on this.

Sort:  

Please just let your daughter know that you support her and that you trust her to make the right decisions for herself. If you emphasise that you want to see her demonstrate her ability to make the right choices for herself, she will be much more likely to include you in her thoughts on these choices.

I thank you for the great input

When I was younger and got caught and my parents were strict all it made me want to do is rebel more. They would not talk to be about it, level with me, it was all just evil. I knew nothing about weed/drugs in general and all I wanted to do was experiment and party. If only I had a cool parent to sit down with me and explain that they have tried it all, talk to me about what its like, the good, the bad, and the ugly.

You can be there for your daughter in an supportive way like pjheinz said and it will help so much. I wish I had that, I know I certainly would have been saved from or educated on a LOT of stupid shit before trying it.

Rehab!!! Hahahaha!!! So she can meet people who will teach her what real drugs are? Lol... If you want to expose your child to that whole world then go ahead but I'm not throwing my kids to the wolves because of pot you're crazy. How many people have you met that have gone to rehab?! Lol and there is no rehabilitation for smoking marijuana. I would tell my wife she isn't loyal to her own blood and needs to trust her kid to be the good person she raised her to be...

That's really what my gut tells me. Thank you

First and foremost, sit down with your wife and if she is open to it...watch
The Union: The Business Behind Getting High

I too found my daughter as well at about the same age. And feel as you do. It's really all about open, honest communication...rather than autocratic, authoritarian dictatorship. It's worked wonders for me to just be a fellow human being who genuinely cares and can offer articulate perspectives to navigating this thing called "life".

To me, it sounds as if your wife is afraid for her on some level. Maybe there was an negative experience with the plant, or something else. I believe it's closer to "protection from harm" than anything else. But I would argue that force-sending someone to a rehab for cannabis out of fear would be more harmful than not. Fact is...not one human being on the planet EVER has died from smoking the plant. It has a thousand uses, all good. If you want to dive into researching the subject...start with the above video first.

Then check out one of my channel's videos here:

That will get you started....and just surf around the channel for more insightful videos both created by me and shared by others. Hope this helps. Feel free to visit my channel here - https://www.youtube.com/user/ScholarConsciousness/videos

Take care...Peace!

Awesome thanks sooo much😉

it's better than booze or hard drugs...

I have come to a place where I real-eyes that making a plant, for which our bodies have SPECIFIC receptors, illegal is a crime against humanity.

Do your research. Present the studies to your wife. Encourage your daughter to EAT the plant or use its oils, not smoke it.

It should be a staple food of the human diet.

Namasté,
acarya π

I am starting to agree. Seem like it's not that bad just has that stigma still.

C'mon, let her smoke! It's her life, forget all the propaganda about marijuana, they don't want people to smoke because it opens your mind and helps you to have a different perspective in life. It is a catalyst for creativity. Of course, better if you have the natural thing!

Thank you for your advice

Rehab is a bit extreme, just talk to her and let her know she needs to do it responsible.. tell her to never mix it with alcohol, that is a big no no!

Thank you for your advice

You are correct sir, don't listen to your wife but learn and read as much as you can about the weighing factors of rehab. Investigate the uses of medical marijuana and other drugs then compare them. Educate yourself on this because you could end up pushing your daughter and wife further away if you don't. Hell, pay for a class to attend on marijuana education and by 3 tickets, one for all 3. Marijuana has great benefits but it's not for everyone. I hope this helps and I'm sending a link for classes as well as my son @christoryan who is much more informed about the medical, legal, and beneficial studies on this drug. God bless and keep strong! https://medicalmarijuanaeducationcenter.com/

Thank you. I appreciate the advice

Hey no worries man and I hope that you find what you're family is looking for.

If she is 18 what can you do? Boot her out if she does it? Not really a good option as it will just push her out and into who knows what. You can give her advice but you can't decide for her.

I guess you're right.i personally don't think it's a problem unless it gets out of hand

Though marijuana does not have that bad of health effects necessarily, it does ruin your dopamine count and it makes you lazier and less ambitious. Some people may not take it seriously, but I believe you should punish her. It also COULD lead to worse drugs, but that is not the best rationale for punishment. Anyways, I think if you care about her future and success, you should punish her.

I disagree. Here's Joe who can explain it for me...

I had no idea that it lowers dopamine. Make sense why smokers seem to move slower. I guess it affect people with Ashdod more then. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68