Why aren't you following me?!?!😢😢 ENOUGH WITH THE WHINING ALREADY!! Just some quick advice.

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm about a month into my steemit adventure and yes I have been frustrated. Then I read a whole lot of posts about people not getting any attention, or hardly any money on their posts. I quickly realized I was sounding just like them. 

After a slow beginning, I started following a small group of bloggers, like @hilarski and @lauralemons. Both of whom write fantastic articles with lots of personality. 

I quickly realized I don't write, nor do I have the art ability, nearly as well as they do. So I practiced. I put REAL EFFORT into a post last week that netted me my first $30 article. 

It also boosted my followers by 30!!! I had 10, and in one week it became 40!! Yes it's true, hard work pays off. 

Now don't go copying other people you think are good writers, instead look at how they make their article flow. For me, an article has to be easy to read or I lose interest, guess what, that's probably you too!

So instead of thinking that your pandering to a few whales looking for those big upvotes, make the realization that you're actually blogging to 40 or 50 thousand readers JUST LIKE YOU!

Not everybody is a crack reporter! So you have to have fun, make your article fun yet factual. Whether you use jokes or hilarious pics and gifs is up to you. But for the love of god don't post it if you can't read it yourself!!

Even this little article I've read seven thousand times just to make sure it is clear and concise. 

The only other piece of advice I have is to watch the timing of your post, I've had better luck and views in evenings between 5 and 10 pm, or between 3 and 8 am. I live in central US for your info.

Still the biggest element is content and clarity. Make it fun, make it educational or sarcastic if you want. Just make it easy to read and clear! Please! And it doesn't hurt to put a little Follow Me button at the end to help build your audience.

So quit whining, buckle down, and show me what you've got!! It'll get noticed!!

good luck!

oh, an ummm, please follow me?

All photos from freedigitalphotos.net Except the meme at the top, that's mine :)

Sort:  

I was beginning to get disappointed with Steemit until one of my short stories got the jackpot. But then it got back to normal (meaning: nada!), but slowly, by observing some of the strategies of other players here, it got better and better... Nothing huge, but enough to give me hope and make me write more. And I agree with you: there is something important about the timing of your posts. I live in Europe and it seems the evenings are doing better, even here :)

I just read a couple of your posts, they deserve the jackpots, nice writing!

All i can say is watch out for the flaggers! Once they start for stupid reasons , they dont stop! Alot of people are continuously jumping ship! Especially the minnows by the thousands! Too many things need to be fixed before it gets better. Not trying to be negative at all. Heres a link to a post i recently wrote on this subject. I really liked your story! But theres just far too many people going unnoticed for many reasons. I will follow you. Not everyone can use a follow button. Im on a tablet, and just tap on the persons name at the bottom of the page to follow or unfollow. I hope you keep doing good! Sadly most will maybe get 20 or 50 dollars if there very lucky once! Then get nothing again . Even though there awesome writers. The system needs to change, then maybe some will return. Good luck. Please check out my post! Thanks!
https://steemit.com/story/@karenmckersie/this-minnows-taking-a-break-from-steemit-bye-bye

Great points! And steemit is still pretty much in its beta form, so we will see things change I'm sure. For the better?

congrats on the success! keep it up!

Well done. I like a positive attitude :) I will follow you!

I will follow everybody that comments on this post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47