Time for an update: How I've been giving back to the platform (+ bonus Vlog)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Click on the thumbnail to watch my 6 min vlog, where I share what I've been doing on Steemit "behind the scenes".


So it's been 2 weeks since I last did a post, and I didn't quite intend for that to happen, but life has just been full, not just because of my personal and family life (which has been busier than normal), but also because of all the Steemit things I've been doing, behind the scenes.

So check out my vlog (that I took earlier when I was driving back home), if you want to listen in 😃


For the "I only like to read" peeps

Here's a general overview of all the Steemit related things I've been busying myself with lately:


Helping out with the #steemsugars Discord server!

So @Steemsugars/ #steemsugars is a group birthed by the awesome @meanmommy33, with the purpose to help bring more women presence onto Steemit and crypto (which goes hand in hand with promoting Steemit).

Since meeting her when she came to London recently, I've been given some responsibilities on the Discord server to help ease her Steemsugars load ;)

Thank you @traciyork for making this awesome gif <3

It is truly an amazing and supportive community, and it is not exclusive to females, anyone who shares the same passion (to bring more female presence to the platform) is welcome to join 😃

SS-pansies-EN.jpg


Finding guests for @pennsif's radio show!

So last month, I was interviewed on his "Alternative Lifestyle" show, to talk about my homeschooling. You can check out the recording here:.

Since then, I've been helping him find guests for that show and his upcoming show, My Life in 8 Songs, starting Sat 3rd March, 9pm-12am UTC.

The show should be really interesting, there are already a few amazing steemians whom I've helped find for the show (like @ashleykalila, @ezzy, @meanmommy33), and I can't wait to listen in and see what songs they pick! Because I LOVE music, and would love to get to know these amazing people more through their song choices 😀


Promoting Humans of Steemit!

This project is the creation of @ashleykalila, and I've loved it since finding out about it late last year. I participated myself (which you can check out here ) and thoroughly enjoyed the process. (In fact, it was through participating in Humans of Steemit that I found out about #steemsugars!) I love reading the other interviews and always try to promote it when I can 😃


London meetups and promo-steem!

Since the last big London meetup I helped organize, it was a great group effort, 30+ people came, and it was so much fun. I've always loved Steemit meetups and promoting steemit, so will now be helping out @allasyummyfood (who is the London Promo-steem Ambassador) with her future London meetup/promo-steem plans, wherever/whenever I can. She talks about it a bit here.

There is also a London Steemit Discord server that although isn't very active yet, will hopefully help with future plans and discussions. If you live in London or nearby, feel free to join us, this is the Discord invite link


Sooo these are basically the main things I've been occupying my Steemit time with lately (unless I've forgotten something). I've really been enjoying myself with all these recent responsibilities. It makes me feel like I'm giving value to the platform, while having a ton of fun and making good friends along the way :)

And as I mentioned in my vlog, I have my own blogs/vlogs/projects in mind, that I do wish to be more consistent with. I am still learning to find a good balance to do everything I want to do here on Steemit, and I know I am slowly getting there.

Thank you for reading/watching! I appreciate all the support I've received from many of my Steemit friends, and I am grateful to be having so much fun here.

Let's hope it won't be another 2 weeks until my next post 😛

Much Love from RedRica


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

You're an inspiration on this platform 🙏🏿⭐️

Aw thanks fellow international :)

I really hope you'll be coming to Alla's meetup on Friday, we need some Adé in the house :P

Redrica - you are my favourite and I loved watching your vlog in a car (also because I massively rate multi-tasking). I finally joined Discord thanks to this post, as well as SteemSugars which I would love to get involved with a little more too.

So thank you for all your hard work behind the scenes and I can't wait to catch up with you this Friday! X

Aww thanks lovely! I think you're going to have to tell me all these nice things again on Friday though, because my memory sucks sometimes and I need reminding y'know :P hahah

Anyway! Super glad you joined us on Steemsugars! It might take a while to get used to Discord (or maybe it's just me!), but steemsugars really helped me get comfortable with using Discord. Log in every once in a while and join in the chats, it is a pretty active and supportive community :)

See ya on Friday :D

Will do for sure, more on weekends and evenings as I work full-time but I'll do my best!

Haha, sounds good - see you tonight, darling!

I had no idea you were involved in so many projects! You are too kind!

Balancing between family and steemit is rather hard! I am lucky I have 20 hours a week free from my family duties. But it seems you are with your kids all the time!? Here is a star badge for you - ⭐️!

Haha thanks.. it's been fun (mostly) having all these responsibilities :)

Yea we home educate our kids, and my husband and I both work from home, so we are all with each other all the time :P I'm a night owl, so I do most of my work late at night after the kids sleep, but I am definitely still trying to find a good balance and routine :D

You're self employed as well, aren't you?

Well, I am a stay at home parent and a recent graduate and looking for a job at the moment. The situation can change any minute! And if so - no more meet-ups on weekdays!

Self-employment is really flexible which is so good when you have got kids! Why did you choose to home educate yours?

Ah cool! I just finished studying for my degree as well last year, but I chose not to graduate, just in case I want to bring my grade up a bit :/

Hope you find something that is work from home! It is so much nicer to be able to do that especially when you have young kids :)

We home educate for many reasons, but the main one is because after doing some research on education systems, and from our own personal experiences, we just think 5yo is too young for school. We want her to learn mainly through play, mainly explore what she's interested in and for her to have the space and support to nurture her emotional development more first.

When my eldest turns 7, we will discuss it with her, reevaluate and see what to do next, but it is likely that we will keep home educating, because we'd like to eventually start travelling and world school them anyway :)

I had no idea that there was an initiative for women on steemit and in crypto! Thanks so much for bringing it to my attention. Day. Made. :-)

Exciting, isn't it? :) I put a steem sugar who's currently in Malaysia in touch with you, hope you can both get together!!

Thanks for checking out my post, and would be lovely to meet you when you're in London next!

Ah yes! I just realised we were at the same event, but didn't get a chance to speak!
Totally! Would love to join any meet-ups you guys have. Keep up the great content! :-)

Can't breathe with all that stuff...kudos ate
Sige lang, sige lang!

Haha thanks ate.. my responsibilities are flexible at least :) Your responsibilities on steemit are much more full on!

Full on it is! Am gonna be a full steemian soon.. let's see☺

Great blog post. Liked it! Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93