You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Special Something For My Most Engaged Followers. I Hope Other Whales Will Do This Too...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When I comment on your articles I will have to double check my intentions. Am I commenting because I like your work or am I commenting because I want some rewards? I still struggle with this. I want to engage on a genuine level but most of the time I don't feel genuine here on steemit. I feel I must engage rather than I want to engage. Maybe I think too much? I try and give my commenters that put some effort into their comments a big reward compared to those who just write a few words.

I did a little experiment last month. I dedicated almost all my SP to projects. Some commenters stopped commenting because I didn't give them a comment reward. The one's that stayed with me now that I finished this round of delegation will be getting higher rewards.

I also noticed a group of commenters that showed up as soon as my sp was free and they always post at the same time. I think they are bots but I don't know and I always feel bad when I ignore them....sigh

Sort:  

Yes! I fear the perverse incentives built into Steem can really hurt things.

The comment that you have to double-check your intentions is particularly interesting in the context of @Cryptoctopus' post. So, while we're all signing up to auto-upvote his stuff, it will be putting him (even more than he was) into the same boat that you're describing. He knows that posting any old thing is going to net him a bunch of cash, and posting quickly is easier than posting really interesting and thoughtful content. So the incentive is there to just do whatever. He has a history of posting useful things, but it's a form of pressure.

It might sound like I'm down on this initiative, and that's not the case at all. It is super-neat tech, and a fascinating experiment, but maybe not without risk. (I signed up on SteemAuto just now and became a fan!)

Steemit is social experiment, I try and keep this in mind when I’m posting and commenting. We are monetizing social engagement .... nothing new really but with a social platform like Steemit where we make the money rather than the platform like FB or others, which is something new!

I really like your insight of monetizing social engagement. It makes me think in different directions and the theme is closely related to my work on Network Management, Management & Referrals.

And that is what we could call the "steemit paradox"...
The reward system is supposed to elevate good content, but people always try to find ways to exploit the system.

Humans.... Always ruining good things

Well, we can fight the greed through ignoring the greedy and lifting up those who are create awesome content. I’m aware of the paradox, I watch it myself every day☺️

You win the comment of the day award. Yes, that's an issue and as soon as money come into play, people's greed glands get activated and it's difficult to think straight. Thanks for checking your motivation.

My personal motivation is to make sure that I can lift up as many people with me as steem increase in value and I hope to be able to bring up the people who are active and engaged on the platform daily.

There are bot and that's why I try to stay clear from comments that are too generic.

Oh that was an awesome response 😁

That's interesting, @reddust. I'll admit, when I read your post about how you could use your SP to get rewards by delegation, I took that maybe the wrong way. I figured you were done with engaging with folks and happy to be a banker! I'm happy to read your comment here. And I appreciate your point about checking our intentions in commenting. My own goal is to try to make a connection of some sort. I don't often just vote without commenting, too. Because it's the comments that keep Steemit social.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56