A Few Words From Guest Judge @rebeccaryan About Steemit Culinary Challenge #32: Picnic AlfrescosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A big hello to all Steemians. I was absolutely honoured when my girl @woman-onthe-wing asked me if I would be interested in being this week's Steemit Culinary Challenge's Guest Judge.

I didn't hesitate for a second...not even a nano-second.

I said "yes" immediately because it was through this contest that I first started to build my reputation, new friendships on Steemit and of course Steem Back Dollars which I took in 100% Steem Power.

The decision to take my SBD in 100% SP has most definitely paid off for me because when I upvote now, I am actually able to give other Steemians a few bucks at a time. It's really a great feeling when I can see that my upvote on someone's original contribution on the platform, now makes a notable difference for them financially. 

YAHOO! That's a big win and something that I have been working hard to achieve for the last 10 months.

Perseverance pays off if you stick it out.

My advice to anyone, just starting out on the platform, is to look at what contests are being run by other Steemians. There is a tag for all contests, so make sure you check it out. 

The most recent contest that I participated in was put on by @theprophet0. He's one of Steemit's youngest witnesses (16 years old this year, I think). He was giving away 10 Steemit Car Magnets and I was lucky enough to win!

I wrote a blog post about it and you can view it here (just in case you missed it): https://steemit.com/steemit/@rebeccaryan/theprophet0-s-blog-vote-get-paid-car-magnet-campaign

It is the first post that I have ever written that made over 100 SBD and I am not embarrassed to admit that it brought tears to my eyes because of the level of support that I have experienced from our outstanding community. 

I was so stoked about this that I have made 3 more vlogs and I'll share them with you right now!

@knarly327 filmed all the videos today and he uploaded them to his Youtube chanel (Scrap Fe) on June 24th, 2017.

Our first stop was to Brambleberry Farm which is about a 10 minute drive from our house and is owned by a wonderful lady named Kerry Copestake. 

The theme that I chose for this week's culinary challenge is: Picnic Alfresco. I decided to give extra points for any enter that included local ingredients which are grown either by the contestants themselves or sourced from a local producer who is harvesting food within a 100 km radius from where they personally live. 

@knarly327 and I jumped in the car and headed to Kerry's farm:

More information about Brambleberry farm can be view right from the farm's website: http://www.brambleberryfarm.ca/

The fresh strawberries are fantastic this year. Kerry said that this was because the plants didn't get hit by an early spring frost this year, which is customary for our region in Ontario, Canada.

Here's a little more information, directly from me about this week's Steemit Culinary Challenge:

Please consider joining this week's challenge. As I mentioned, you don't have to be a professional Chef or even a recognized Cook to participate. Please feel free to try your hand at it. Here's @woman-onthe-wing's contest announcement which will give you all the particulars about what you have to do to qualify as a participant:

https://steemit.com/steemitculinarychallenge/@woman-onthe-wing/steemit-culinary-challenge-32-winners-and-new-theme-and-introducing-a-new-bonus-prize

This week we also have a special bonus which has been offered by my girl @englishtchrivy. She started the SCC and ran the contest for the first 20 weeks! She knows a thing or two about how Steemit works and how to run contests. If you haven't followed her already, @woman-onthe-wing or @theprophet0 I would highly recommend that you check their blogs out. All of them are great people and they all have helped me a great deal.

This Steemit Culinary Challenge closes on Wednesday June 28, 2017 at 12:00 noon UTC.

Now, let me share a fun recipe with you that I wouldn't hesitate to pack in a picnic basket!

Avocado Deviled Eggs.

Ingredients:

  • 6 hard-boiled eggs (The older the eggs are, the easy they are to peel the shell off of them.);
  • 2 ripe avocados;
  • 1/4 Dijon mustard;
  • 1/2 tsp of paprika (to dust the tops of the egg halves with);
  • and 2 stems of chives to garnish.

Directions:

  • Buy the eggs locally.

  • Boil the eggs in water, in a medium size pot, for 15 minutes on high heat.

  • Drain the eggs and soak in cold water for 15 minutes.

(If you soak them for 15 minutes in cold water, the yolks won't oxidize to a blackish-grey colour on the outside.)

  • Peel the shells off the eggs and soak them in could water to remove any remaining particles of shells that may have been left behind after peeling.

  • Cut the eggs lengthwise and put the cooked yolks in a food processor. Save the cooked white halves and store them in the refrigerator until you are ready to fill them.

  • Cut 2 avocados lengthwise, remove the pits and roughly chop them. Then add these pieces to the food processor with the egg yolks.

  • Add Dijon Mustard.

  • Blend well, until the mixture is smooth and creamy.

  • Put this mixture into a piping bag and individually fill the hollow of each egg white.

  • Cut fresh chives from your garden and chop into small pieces to use as garnish.

  • Lightly dust each egg half with paprika and small chopped bits of fresh chives.
  • Served chilled.

Enjoy your picnic with good friends and family!

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey. Happy picnicking!

~ Rebecca Ryan

 


Sort:  

Oh my goodness Rebecca this post is one of the most honest and personal and interesting that I've read on Steemit! It's amazing to hear the impact this community and rewards have had on your life... I have shed a tear or two myself in moments of joy that Steemit brings and at times of financial struggle when the rewards have been my saving grace. I have to say it makes the experience all the richer when you find real connections with other people, as I have with you Rebecca :-) I also want to say a HUGE thank you for putting this post together in terms of the SCC and absolutely adore the video clips, it makes it so fun and wonderful to hear/see you in person too! I can't wait to see more entries... I guess the picnicking may be happening as I write this!

It was my absolute pleasure @woman-onthe-wing! I know how hard both you and @englishtchrivy work/worked to keep this high calibre contest running. I think all 3 of us have shed a few tears. Finding judges, making sure rules are followed, educating others on the "how to participate" (sometimes in other languages) ensuring that winners get paid and generally keeping everything fair for all. It's a tall order without any guarantees from one week to the next. Both of you are special people and I am lucky to call you both, dear friends. :D

love the vlog! :)
very very pretty!
you look like you had fun!

I did greatly @englishtchrivy and it was important for me to be able to recognize your contribution with the SCC. Thanks so much for all the help, encouragement and support you have given me. I really appreciate it and consider myself to be privileged to call you my friend. ;)

Excellent post! Mmm strawberries. I need a pound a day to help prevent 9/11-related esophageal cancer from ground zero. Last biopsy already showed pre cancerous cells, unfortunately. Studies shared by nutritionfacts.org show strawberries can and do help. Hence the pound a day lol
And I am dying to try your deviled egg recipe. Avocados are a nice touch. Looks delish!

I agree we have an outstanding community here. Thanks to people like you!

Hi @magick323!
OK, you must be really careful if you decide to amp up your strawberry intake. Normally they are absolutely loaded with pesticides and routinely fall into the dirty dozen list of foods that can make cancers worse. If you can find an organic grower that is ideal.
Please please please consider using cannabis as medicine. With the correct strains and % of THC in the correct concentrations, cannabis kills cancer. We have known this for a long time. It's currently what Gord Downie (lead singer from The Tragically Hip) is using to fight the terminal brain cancer that he was diagnosed with in December, 2015...he's still alive and along with all 5 band members, just received The Order of Canada award, 2 weeks ago.
Rick Simpson is also another great Canadian Icon. He helped me when I first started using cannabis medicine to treat MS. If it wasn't for him, I'd be blind and in a wheelchair today.
In 2008, Rick produced a documentary called "Run From The Cure".


In the last 9 years, the making of fully extracted cannabis oil has changed a great deal. Now we can buy oil that is fully extracted using C02 instead of isoproply alcohol or other solvents that can leave harmful residuals in the oil if not extracted correctly. This means that the medicine is even more effective.
I am begging you, please at least look into this.
I will help you and teach you what I know and there are a tonne of other Steemians who I know will be happy to help. :)

Hopefully, we can discuss rso in chat one day. Blockchain is public and I live in an authoritarian, fascist Red State lol. Although many are fighting here for medicinal use, the likelihood of it passing is slim to none.
The good news is I get strawberries (and raw honey) from a local grower as I am able to. Also, I did check with an esophageal cancer foundation, called salgi I believe, and they confirmed the studies were legit. But I do take breaks. A pound a day, in a smoothie, usually is a bit much, even for someone who loves strawberries as much as I do! :-)
Thank you for your concern, my friend. I am so happy you live in an area where you can use the oil and even happier that it has helped you so much!

I am sorry @magic323. I often forget that this herb is still illegal on most of the planet. :(
The info is out there and at least others will read this in the future and realize how policed we really still, are in 2017.

The governments should be transparent and the people should have privacy. How can we be free without privacy? :-)

Hi @rebeccaryan Thanks to our friend @woman-onthe-wing today I'm going through this wonderful post. It is real what you say, I live it, I am new to the community, the happiness and economic improvement that has been generated in my day to day thanks to Steemit is unmatched. In my country this is an opportunity for salvation.
There are many things to thank for the way of doing your post, (I'm going to study it to improve mine), to promote the natural as #modomama I'm spreading the natural in the recipes I publish.
Congratulations here from the South you have a faithful future follower.

Welcome @haydeart! Thanks for reaching out and sharing your thoughts and Steemit experience with all of us. I love that Steemit is changing the lives of people all over the world. It's absolutely fantastic and it's one of the best random acts of kindness that I can think of, when I'm able to give hard working people a few dollars. It seems like a drop in the bucket, but just keep going because those drops will only continue to grow and get bigger over time.
I have followed you and will help when ever I can.
Steem-on my friend!

Thank you thank you, it is an honor for me that you have given me an answer. I wish you a happy day. Full of many blessings.

Thanks.jpg

Back at you @haydeart! It is my pleasure.

Rebecca
I thought I was late to the gathering @rebeccaryan's latest post. I don't think so now. So much content, it will take some time to read and retain. For me. It may take longer. Ha
Thank you. I will be coming back many times for this one. This is one of your best.

Francis

Thank you @francisk!!!
There is literally no stopping me now that I have a Steemit Car Magnet! Hahahaha!
I am seriously considering wrapping my little car in Steemit marketing as I travel the country meeting new people and showcasing what their passions are.
Unbelievable fun! (Not to mention, delicious.)
Are you with your family now?

@ rebeccaryan
Not yet. I leave Friday.
I plan to go to the Reunion if possible. July 4. That should be a good day. I also met a man here where I am, who is interested in Steemit. He said he wanted to see mine. That will have to be soon. Hope to leave Friday.
Enough about me. Girl, there is no stopping you now. Even the old sky saying might be a little shallow for you. Ha
Anyone reading this. Rebecca is showing us how to succeed. Every step of what she shows us is covered completely. Yes. It is time consuming. But, our question to ourselves is this. Do we want success? She is showing us. If we are not willing to take the time and do the work.
Our success won't be as @rebeccaryan's success.
We could get there. But, it is going to be slow, slow,and slow. lol
Rebecca, love your car magnet. It looks so in place on your car.
And for your recipe? Excellent.
Oh. Your encouragement to @magick323 to check out cannabis is your good deed for the day.
The financial guys have been touting the cannabis market for a while now.
I get notices nearly every week. Such as "Martin D. Weiss, Ph.D., Money and Markets." Free sign up for interested people.
oops. Time to run. Thank you, thank you Rebecca.

Francis

Thank you Francis! Canada's birthday is July 1st, so we have a holiday coming up too! Enjoy yours and good luck with the "will you show me yours" LoL!
We spent most of yesterday afternoon, teaching 2 more people about how cryptos and blockchains work....it's hard not to come across as a "born again currency life coach" lol!

Rebecca
You da bester. Ha
Thank you so much for helping not only me. But also, all who will participate.

Francis

Good luck bro :)

I have followed you. ;)

Thank
I also follow you

Hi @jipo!
Thanks! (I'm a sister.) LOL!

Hahaha (LOL)

I love devilled eggs. These look like a whole 'nother level. Will have to try. Thanks for sharing. And congrats on the hardwork just paying off. Inspiring.

Thank you @amexperts! The mustard gives them a kick with a bit of heat. I used a 1/4 cup of it because I happen to really like mustard. You could start with an 1/8th of a cup and taste the mixture before you add more. :)

Oh I love mustard as well. And have a few jars to use up :)

The recipe made more than I needed to fill the eggs so, I'm going to use the remaining filling on a salad. :)

Now that looks a whole lot better than a traditional deviled egg

Thanks @jeffjagoe! They do have a bit of a kick because of the mustard. :)

Great achievements ma'am . I appreciate your work. Keep it going on.

Thank you @gushannsaini!
Welcome, I have followed you and will help where ever I can. ;)

Thanks maam. thank you for your support.
I think you can help me in one way. Please check your steemit chat I have texted you.

@rebeccaryan - Holy guacamole and hard boiled eggs batman! I'm gonna have to try this recipe ☺ Thank you!

Thanks @dozjia! I love your comments!!! It is holy guacamole batman! Now the Dijon mustard adds quite a kick so you might want to start with 1/8th of a cup, then taste and add more to match your palette preferences.

I like spicy, but I will go with the Rebecca recommendation. Rebeccommendation

Hahaha! I like that a lot @dozjia!

Careful with the eggs.. might miss look. Change with the little cute turtles egg.. hahaha

That actually could happen at my house @doqstrader! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94