STEEMIT Down Vote Should Be Done Away With Proof Is In The Numbers

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

STEEMIT Down Vote Should Be Done Away With Proof Is In The Numbers

I am not going to put hours of time into this article, for many reasons. One being the WHALES will probably not like what I have to say in this article. Here we go , I believe that the down vote on steemit should be done away with, lets say 1000 minnows like your post and you have a payout coming but all the sudden 1 whale comes that does not like it and down votes you, now you made nothing. Why should one Whale be able to be the deciding factor on what is good content. Most of the whales from what I have seen don't write good articles anyway, not sure how they even became whales. I think it would be more fair to just let up votes do the deciding , and if you don't like the article or a picture there would be no vote placed.
Lets take a minute and look at a few numbers
On 7/27/2016 steemit had 38960 accounts
On 8/5/2016 steemit had 47033 accounts
This was an increase of 20.62% in 9 days , that is great until we start to look at the active accounts.
On 7/27/2016 steemit had 15900 active accounts in the last 7 days
On 8/5/2016 steemit had 12405 active accounts in the last 7 days
This is a decrease of 21.98% in 9 days.
On 7/27/2016 steemit had 6425 active accounts in the last 24 hours
On 8/5/2016 steemit had 4547 active accounts in the last 24 hours
This was a decrease of 29.23% in 9 days
Now we can see that just because total accounts are going up it does not mean steemit is keeping those people. Those active accounts should also be going up not down. Now lets look at how we can keep those accounts active , I say by getting rid of the down vote people are attracted to steemit because of the possibility of making money and if 1000 minnows like my stuff and I only make 5 dollars that is fine but if 1000 minnows and one whale like my stuff and I have 500 dollars coming then a different whale comes and takes it all away that is not right. These lost active accounts I believe are from people coming to steemit to make money and yes I agree some articles are no good ,some are great, but I see even great articles not making anything because a whale down voted them. These people will only try so many times before they give up and leave. If steemit is going to survive more people have to have an influence on the upvotes not everyone wants to see just what you whales want to see. The problem is the whales only want certian content on here, but everyone likes different stuff and I am afraid that if this problem is not changed the whales will be swimming alone.
I VOTE GET RID OF THE DOWN VOTE. IF YOU AGREE GIVE ME AN UPVOTE.

Sort:  

Don't think that down votes have anything to do with people not staying on steemit, in fact they can help drive away users that just come to abuse the platform and not to contribute to it. Even if there are not than many new users or not everyone that signs up initially remains, it is still better to have a slower growth with better quallity than to have an uncontroller rush of spammers and scammers that can actually drive away much more of the existng users that want to stay at the moment and be a long term part of the community.

Don't take this the wrong way, but how long will you continue to write articles for .20 or less an article?

I'm not taking it wrong, but I did not come here for the money. I came to try out the service at first, then liked the community and decided to invest time and effort in seeing it grow better and more useful. Though at this point I'm not sure how that went I'm still trying to contribute my part in making things better. Sure, nobody would refuse some extra money for the time spent here, but if a user comes only for the money and making money is his/hers only goal on steemit, then this is probably not the right place for that.

@cryptos I replied to his post before I even made to down to yours and saw you were making the exact same point drawn from the same conclusions. +1 to you for taking it the right way.

@razorwave people spend all day on Facebook and Reddit for free.

If you're here to strike it rich you're on the wrong platform and your time would be better spent working a 9 to 5 job. Incentivizing posts with crypto was never meant to replace your day job. A lot of the people making the money here are also doing a lot of the work. I'm not saying there aren't posts that win the so called "lottery" as I've seen it referred to but most people blogged for free long before Steemit was around.

Believe it or not, some people actually do it for the love and not for the money...

Would you prefer that we have no way to downvote spambots?

I would not be against a down vote if it was used for just spam bots , but that is not the case whales are using it to down vote content they don't like. There has to be a different and more fair way. Would you be angry if I was a whale and I came and down voted your stuff just because I don't like it and it took you 4 hours to write the article and 300 people love it but my vote took all your money because I did not like it. There is a difference between spam and just down voting because you don't like something.

Then how do you program Steem to know the difference between spam-downvoting and spite-downvoting?

You say that whales are downvoting stuff they don't like - I haven't seen that happen. Can you point to an example of it?

I am not a programmer never claimed to be , but here is just one instance that a whale downvoted something they did not like just look at the votes and see @dantheman downvoted it but all the other whales upvoted it. I know this post made a lot but this is just an example there are others. I have seen it over and over. maybe your just not paying attention. Just want you to know I'm not trying to be a dick just telling what I see. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@brendazambrano/hi-i-am-the-first-playmate-with-more-than-a-million-followers-to-blog-on-steemit

Do you have a link to it? I'd like to see it, but I'm definitely not going to just go combing through all of @dantheman's votes to find the single one you're talking about.

You don't have to comb through anything all you have to do is click on the link I provided and click the little arrow beside the votes and you can see he down voted it.

Ah, sorry - for some reason the link wasn't showing up before. That's interesting - I wonder why he downvoted it.

biophil here this guy wrote a story about when dantheman downvoted him,if you dont believe this is happening , active users are declining and that does not bood well for investing more in ones steempower
https://steemit.com/steem/@sirwinchester/a-steem-island-adventure-how-the-king-of-the-ocean-destroyed-my-fishing-boat

@biophil "Would you prefer that we have no way to downvote spambots?"

You took the words right out of my mouth. People have been begging for a down vote option on Facebook since its inception to no avail. Some people here need the power to moderate content with a single click or the Steemit economy would be gamed to death and crash over night.

Very well said I agree the down vote should be done away with. And thank you for the information about the active users I agree the active users should be increasing not decreasing .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68