The reason your comments aren't being upvoted is probably because they're bad

in #steemit6 years ago

pexels-photo-48017.jpeg

Of course this doesn't apply to everyone.

There are a lot of people on Steemit who leave great comments and don't get any upvotes for that. I try to reward those people because they take the time to read your content and to also leave some feedback for it. That's a lot of time they could invest into something different, and we should appreciate their effort.

But not everyone deserves an upvote even tho others also take some of their free time to give you feedback. There are situations where certain comments don't add anything to what you said in your article.

We all know those type of comments and we've received at least one in our "writing career", and they sound like this "Good job!" or "Nice article!" or "Wow, great topic you chose there!" and anything similar to that.

Now, don't get me wrong - I don't get mad when I receive those kind of comments. But I don't get excited either. I appreciate them, but not enough to give them an upvote. Here's why - everyone can write those type of comments on any article without actually reading anything.

You don't need to consume any type of content to leave a comment like that and I'm sure, and I mean REALLY sure that if someone, at some point, writes an article and in the middle of it writes something like "Fuck everyone who leaves a comment saying 'nice article!' ", someone will actually write a comment like that.

Why? Because that person probably didn't even read the article itself and just adds a comment hoping to get an upvote from the author and receive some free money. That's one of the main reasons I reply to those comments, but I do not upvote them.

But of course, there's another type of person who writes a different type of comment that we all hate - "Nice, plz follow and upvote!" Nice job saving time by not writing 3 letters by the way!

Asking people to follow and upvote your content when you add absolutely no value, when you don't share or post anything interesting and when your entire profile is filled with memes you think are funny, is plain stupid.

No, I'm not gonna follow you until you prove that you can come up with something interesting for me to consume and I'm certainly not gonna upvote the memes you like just because you like them.

I'll rather spend my voting power on people who actually take the time to write their own thing. Even if they don't, and they just take a photo and share it, as long as they invested effort into that and do it because they want to share something with you, that's A LOT better and deserves an upvote in comparison to your memes.

If you want your comments to be upvoted, there's one simple thing you need to do - read the article, understand what the author wants to say, and then express your own opinion.

Don't just repeat what the author says to prove you managed to read the entire article and don't write a huge comment just for the sake of doing it. If you like the article and you have a different point of view, write a comment and share it with other people. If you agree with what the author said and you'd like to add something more, then do that. If you don't agree with the author, say it in a comment and be polite about it.

I appreciate when people share their opinions in the comment section and I upvote them when they do it. I also appreciate those who tell me I did a good job and then leave, but writing "Great article!" is just telling me "I think this article is good, but you can't know if I read it or not" and I will say "Thank you", but I won't upvote it.

If you don't receive money for your comments, then it's a big chance you don't do it well. It may also be because some authors don't upvote comments, but I'm sure most of them will as long as you leave useful feedback.

Sort:  

Yup.

The thing that gets me even more is when I post an article I have been writing for three days in preparation, something like 10-15 pages including hours of video-embeds with deep and relevant background info. And I get a comment saying "awesome article, and really insightful videos, they were amazing."

Only problem is the comment appeared 20 seconds after I posted the damn thing.

It felt like an actual human writing it, and it felt more genuine than just "nice article" comments. But the almost non-existent delay to posting that comment shows me the user in question has neither read a fourth of the article, nor watched any of the hours of video that supported my train of thought and that I carefully picked.

Don't do it kids.

Authors know how long it took to write their article, and how long it will take on average to read it.

Yes, I saw that too and it happened to me as well. How can someone reply to an article 10 seconds after it was posted if the article took around 3 hours or more to be written and has over 1000 - 1500 words?

They just don't give a crap about the author's work and they want to get paid for nothing. Not gonna happen.

Hi @raikuhen , thanks for writing this article. You actually did a good job by writing this article. It gives insights to what us steemians should write in a comment section. There is one article that I read just now, it is also related with the comment section, but it is about spamming. It was wrote by @crytoctopus. I think his article might interest you.

Sorry for responding so late, I usually don't touch anything related to work on weekends, so I didn't see your comment until now.

I just finished reading the article of @cryptooctopus and I agree with him. People who just spam you with whatever comments they can to either upvote themselves or hoping the author upvotes them deserve to be punished.

Luckily I'm not in a similar position to his since I don't really receive a lot of similar comments, but I see his point of view and I agree with it.

People need to learn what type of comments to write if they hope to get upvotes - useful feedback that can help the author improve, comments that express the point of view of whoever wrote it or something that can start another conversation.

Repeating what the author said or saying a bunch of random words hoping to get an upvote is just a waste of time, for both the author and those who check the comment section hoping to find something interesting.

Thank you for your comment and for recommending the article of @cryptooctopus :)

Its ok. By the way, thank you for responding to my comment, and yeah, I just replied today because I only discover that replies section in this Steem app just now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59