You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About Author Etiquette and Forced Votes

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

there shouldnt be an expectation to have comments upvoted. That's unrealistic, and maybe greedy yeah. I don't think there should be too many rewards for commenting at all. I write lots of replies and will take discussion anyday over votes for them.

Comments help build the community. Not every post can have $1000 plus value. I reply to show the authors that there is value in what they shared regardless of the steem dollar value, at least to someone. The replies help signify that value to others and helps them get noticed by more people, and those who have more steem power than I can offer atm.

Sort:  

This might be the best explanation of my own view on it. Much better than myself trying to explain it :)

I love that you acknowledge this explanation as a "better" way of explaining what u meant.
This shows very honorable character.
That is why I follow you because you set an honorable example. I appreciate UPvotes of course but do not expect them. To expect them just because, is delusional and greedy.
UPvotes should only be made if someone WANTS to. I also feel a comment is a more thoughtful and respectful response than an UPvote, even if not more valuable.

Thanks! I completely agree that a comment is much more valuable than an upvote when having a proper discussion.

Yes!
ESPECIALLY when like me you have NO SP to give any value to an Upvote anyways nor many UPvotes to spare.

Thanks. If Steem is going to be as successful as other social media platforms, then the social part should be cultivated too. If someone is just out for the dollars they dont really care about achieving a platform that as quality and/or fun, original, informative content.

True, on the other hand, the main goal of steemit is the bootstrapping of a new currency. I think the problem with it now is that people just want to cash it out right away. Perhaps with the addition of marketplaces this could improve. The development is crucial at this stage. Most people are unable to create high quality content. Not everyone is a content creator.
And curation rewards are too low to really make something out of it at this stage.

Yeah a reply is always much better than a vote particularly if its an engaging comment. Thats how I like to treat it too now I think about it!

which is pretty much what I said in that post, but menta completely twisted my words ... read the post: nowhere in there it says 'each and every comment'

We just gave our opinions to the questions you asked. Nothing wrong with upvoting comments.

but I was smeared in the process, and nobody bothered to actually read my post or defend me !!

That's not cool. I woldnt worry about it people moved on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78