Authors should upvote most comments made on their post, that's just good manners

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

As long the comment is not spam or some other type of crap; that should be enough for the author to give any comment under their own post a vote!

Especially if you think not enough posts are getting the reward they deserve ... if you were to reward your followers that comment on your posts; that would actually help! just saying ...

For some people, who actually get hundreds of comments, just to keep up with it, would be too much. And of course only comments that start a new tread, not comments in reply to other comments, that would be too much as well. And sure, only the first 48 hours or so. And of course only proper comments, not silly little lines like; I like your post, or some excuse to drop a link to their own post and the likes ... obviously!!

But when I see a post with not even 20-30 comments, and although the author usually replies and upvotes some comments, when they don't upvote a lot of the comment, it just seems like such a lack of etiquette.

To me it seems that giving acknowledgement to those few people that actually liked your post enough to not only open it and read it, but also comment ... it's just a matter of good manners that you show your appreciation and upvote their comment.

Think of your post as an invitation towards the world to come and visit you and have a conversation, upvoting is like taking the time to make sure you welcome and shake hands with everybody who comes to your party with the best intentions. Sure, kick the drunken dude out, but make sure to walk over that shy person from work that came over, but has nobody to talk to ... you're the host of the party; make sure everybody has a good time ~ don't be like the whales!

And people appreciate it, you will get more followers from doing it. So, make sure to upvote enough comments on your own posts.

Happy Steeming :)

(don't forget to upvote my post! thanks)

Sort:  

another little tip; upvote your own comments!

it's all about moderation, if you do it too much it does have a negative effect

but if you think you made a really good comment on a new post with just a few other comments, by upvoting your own comment it will go up in the list, so that way you might get some more votes and replies

but you do have to be careful, don't overdo it

They get too lazy in hoping someone will do for them.

Up-voting comments means people are more likely to receive comments. And every time your post gets a comment, you go back to be listed in the "active" tab, and should get a wider audience.

I didn't even think about that, thanks

I upvote every comment on the posts I make as long as they're not what you said, spam or a bot. Not like I matter but it is what I try to do.

the more people not only do it, but also bring it up on posts of authors that don't ... the more it could become part of the steemit-etiquette

Unfortunately upvoting every comment can quickly drain one's voting power. I recommend authors upvote insightful and well thought out comments. And if you get in a discussion upvote just one of that users comments.

I sometimes use an upvote as the "end" of a conversation and upvote the last comment made by a user. Sometimes if I find the comment useful or interesting I'll look at a user's post and upvote it instead.

Of course if you're not concerned with curation rewards.. upvote away!

Well said @patrice
I doing that most of the time.
Follow, Followup, FollowBack
Oh! Poor me , I helping everyone and wasted all my SP
UPVOTES on them. I get Bugger all.

Do author really know who upvoting them?

I do. I takes every single UPVOTES seriously !!!

true, I thought about that as well, but didn't put it in the post to keep it short and to the point.

for some people who get like hundreds of comments that would probably be too much as well

and I was actually thinking about comments that start a new tread, not comments in reply to other comments, that would be too much as well

and yes, when I'm on somebody else's post I usually upvote the comment I reply to and the last one as you said, that comes kind of natural, right?

but when I see a post with like 3-4-5 comments, and although the author usually replies, when he doesn't upvote those few comments, I think it's a waste ... it's not the right etiquette ;-)

think about the effect if it becomes indeed the norm and all of a sudden people start to get at least some votes for their comments ... because it's about thousands of individual authors watching their own posts = of course they should only reward the proper comments ... it would be a good way to make sure everybody gets at least the acknowledgement

to me it seems that giving some acknowledgement to those few people that actually liked 'your' post to not only open it and read it, but also comment ... is just a matter of good manners

Totally agree. Some of the whales sometimes thought my comments were worth replying to but didn't upvote leaving me feel like my voice wasn't valued. Especially with variable voting power everyone should upvote a little.

welcome to the club :)

Author get too Greedy.
Boycott the upvote to them. I stopped follow them.
As they don't follow back.
Strike strike strike !!!! 💯 💯 💯

How do you put those 100s in there?

I've actually been meaning to write a post along these lines. Sometimes it seems like people forget comments can be upvoted!

it's a habit ... we're all still learning :)

Yes you do have to be careful some people reply like spam just to try to get votes instead of actually replying to peoples thoughts.

true, it's important to avoid awarding 'bad' behavior, but upvoting all 'normal' comments should become a habit for every author, an unwritten rule of courtesy

but if they are actually going through and listening to what you have to say.... isn't that the point of steem it? to kinda scroll through and comment and vote as much as possible every single day. non stop lol ahhhh right?

well, when it comes down to your own posts, I do think so, but when it comes down to other people's posts ... you got to be careful, as the more your vote, the lower your steem power gets, so you got to be careful not to over do it, except on your own posts

I really agree,Authors should upvote comments,as a part of a steemit etiquette. But etiquette must be based on a value system, or some basic value agreements at the very least ,and we lack this on Steemit. We need to focus much more on values, like solidarity and empathy.The etiquette is then a consequence of those values,not a mindless act.

I typically upvote and reply to any comment... but then I'm not all that popular :-( so its not too taxing to do...

Question: Is it faux pas to upvote one's own comment? Some people do, some don't. Whats the effect?

well, I just followed you :)

it's all about moderation, if you do it too much it does have a negative effect

but if you think you made a really good comment on a new post with just a few other comments, by upvoting your own comment it will go up in the list, so that way you might get some more votes and replies

but you do have to be careful, don't overdo it

So that being said, theres the checkbox to upvote your own content... should one consider unchecking that?

And thanks for the follow!

well, I read something about that, but I forgot the details, I just remember that for small players it basically doesn't really matter :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60896.89
ETH 3361.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49