Why not unapprove inactive witnesses ?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When will we unaprove inactive witnesses to make room for active witnesses
Top 50 witnesses
https://steemdb.com/witnesses

And all 100 Witnesses list
https://steemd.com/witnesses

Just look here how many non producing no pricefeed witnesses there are voted in taking up space for hard working witnesses?

38 witnesses of 100 dont have pricefeed and 22 dont even produce any blocks.

Why is these ppl even approved?
I think its time for a change and vote those people out to make room for witnesses interesting in helping the platform and just not interested in powerdown and profit of it.

https://steemdb.com/witnesses

Example below
witness778ef.png

For unaprove a witness just click
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
cli_wallet
vote_for_witness YOURACCOUNT WITNESSACCOUNT false true

Dont forget to follow upvote resteem and maybe even approve my witness.

@ned @dan @dantheman @riverhead @charlieshrem @roadscape @smooth.witness @abit @jesta

@steempty @joseph @arhag @wackou @complexring @datasecuritynode @anyx @witness.svk

@liondani @gtg @clayop @pharesim @chitty @furion @fyrst-witness @teamsteem

Server
HP-ProLiant-DL360-G6
Dual Xeon Quadcore 3GHZ
32GB DDR3 ECC RAM
768GB 10K SAS drives RAID5
Stable 100/100Mbit connection

Shoutout to all great people that have helped me get this far.
@officialfuzzy @fyrstikken @klye @creationlayer @sykochica @poeticsnake @chitty
@linouxis9 @kingscrown @pharesim @xeroc @ash @krnel
@contentjunkie @natebrune @picokernel

All you need to know about me as a witness
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sykochica/featuring-proctologic-get-to-know-your-witness
When it comes to voting for witnesses, there is really only one choice - me!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses
cli_wallet
vote_for_witness YOURACCOUNT proctologic true true

Sort:  

When it comes to voting for witnesses, there is really only one choice - me!

Or me ;-)

Good article, i keep asking myself that question over and over again.

yea guys like you and me will never have a chance when whales are upvoting eachother and bring no value to the community

Sure man, i made it as top witness out of nothing when i first started, without knowing anyone.
Anything is possible if you believe it can.

and now you are sacrificed to make room for new wales

I think there could be a lack of understanding of how to determine who is deserving of our votes.

All I know is I heard Ned in an interview say we need to expect more than just mining from our witnesses. So I have been actively searching out the witness thread looking for folks like yourself that contribute to the community as a whole.

I have also found it hard to find candidates not on the top 50 list so thanks for posting the link...

I agree with this more than the OP. Entirely inactive witnesses are obviously a wasted vote but having a price feed or not on a low backup is not itself a big concern. I'd vote for a backup witness who is contributing to the community but lacks a good price feed over one who has a great price feed but does nothing else.

When it comes to the top 19 (or high backups that could soon become top 19), server infrastructure, reliability, price feed (both that it is maintained along with the policy used by the witness to determine the price being fed), etc. are all important. This includes not only the primary server, but also backups server(s), seed node(s), and other infrastructure (network connections, etc.). For the top 19, the core server and network infrastructure constitutes the minimum requirement, and no witness failing on any of these points should be voted in. On top of all that, consider how the witness contributes more to the community.

Also extremely important is the role of witnesses (especially top 19) in governance, since witnesses decide on software upgrades which ultimately determine the underlying rules of the network. For this consideration, vote for witnesses who have relevant knowledge, experience, good judgment, and are accessible and responsive to your own concerns and interests on these matters as a stakeholder and network user.

Smooth Then we agree on something anyway

Fuzzyvest : because they cannot maintain the witnesses

@berniesanders commented already about his reasons. I didn't flag but I didn't find the OP to contain particularly useful information either. See my long-ish comment in the reply tree somewhere.

Thanks for the post - ive been doing a lot of research on this particular part of Steem .. I dont really "get" the witness idea.. Ive been seeing a few campaigns as of late. I would love to mine Steem about as much as anyone here.. but unless you are a whale of some sort this feels like a closed community.

I disagree... I'm on the top 50 witness list and I'm certainly not a whale nor was I around for Bitshares.

Witness positions are earned through dedication and hard work for the community.

Agreed you got my upvote not because of any pre existing relation but because of how active and what you've actually contributed to steemit.

Whales can upvote eachother to get full control of the top 19 witnesses.

Whales can upvote eachother to get full control of the top 19 witnesses.

I think having a good assortment of witness from different career paths would be good. Not all top 19 should be coders, but we definitely need some coders in there, maybe a few financial individuals, business individuals, ect.

I think the governance would do exceptionally well if the governs had different backgrounds to bring varying opinions to the table.

This post is about witnesses dont bring anything valuble to steem and still get approved instead of make room for hard working witnesses.

Great points! This needs to happen... immediately!

As long as whales can upvote themselfs they think they are untouchable so thats why this post is flagged

Hopefully folks see that I am all for Steem and strive to be active and reliable!

Thats our main goal but its being abused by profiters

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Just to add to the insanity, I want to say that I operated a non-price-feed-having witness for a while under @kloudery. I've since pulled it down. Anything else I should to to ensure it's good an de-registered?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79