You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Strategy to Gain and Use Steem Power!

in #steemit6 years ago

Thank you so much for sharing this extremely valuable information, @gmichelbkk. It is one post worth bookmarking, upvoting and following you.

I was wondering, would you have any advice for someone who got nuked by a mega downvote from nearly 47 to 4 on 2 comments someone didn't like? Some have encouraged me to just keep on posting. Then I herd Ned say in a video that after a heavy handed downvote one's ability to regain their rep score would be dramatically hindered. So I tested it out several days ago and discovered it takes 5 times the upvote earnings as before to regain my rep. So I was wondering if you might have any advice. Thanks again.

Sort:  

Thank you @positivesynergy for your kind comment and I am glad the post is useful for you.

I don't know much about that, but I believe that if you have quite a bit of SP, downvotes don't do that much damage. Maybe the solution would be to get yourself some more SP and continue writing good posts.

Thanks for your reply and suggestion, @gmichelbkk. I'm still considering that. In my case it's a bit complicated, as the downvoter has well in access of a million dollars in SP.

Don't tell anyone I said this but you may consider signing up for EOS when they launch in June. Keep a presence here and create a new one over there. Perhaps you can use the same name. Frankly, their must be a better way for people who disagree than to destroy someones work with a couple of flags. It's not a good thing in my opinion to be able to do this as it inhibits one from sharing their true thoughts. It's kind of like a preemptive censorship. Not good. Blessings.

I agree with your comment @mistermercury. This downvoting is what I hate on Steemit as some people feel so powerful being able to excessively punish others.

I was just looking at a similar post that was addressing the destructive use of flags, etc. Perhaps you might be interested. Here tishttps://steemit.com/steemit/@scottcbusiness/the-downvote-proposal-a-solution-to-the-flag-crisis#@mistermercury/re-scottcbusiness-the-downvote-proposal-a-solution-to-the-flag-crisis-20180410t030546067z

Seems to me in order to retain people here on Steemit certain adjustments need to be made. Unhappy citizens migrate. The history of humankind.

Thank you for recommending this article, I will have a look.

Exactly! It's what probably most crypto enthusiasts really dislike of steemit.

“Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely.
-- 1st Baron John Dalberg-Acton

Thank you so much for your suggestion, @mistermercury. I will certainly keep that in mind when they launch. I also herd Max Keiser mention at the tail end of his show when he interviewed Jameson Lopp of BitGo.com about Yours.org and I went and signed up there. It's far more simple and deals strictly with Bitcoin Cash, which I like, but lacks the elaborate blockchain scheme steemit has where your invested SP gives you voting rights to give away that portion of the reward pool. EOS does sound interesting.

I agree there must be a better way than to allow whales like that to have so much power to destroy someone on steemit. I even found a video where @Ned said,

"One thing we have learned is Downvoting is BAD. The only thing they should be used for on the platform are to moderate spam." and then, "Because what we realize is there's a really strong humaneness to the platform and down voting is a sort of action that represents you know a real heavy hand you know in the real world."

I don't get that they still haven't done anything about limiting that biggest issue killing the brilliance of steemit, given he said that nearly 2 years ago.

I know a few Steemit stars that get downvoted frequently and their reputation doesn't go down... There must be a solution and I will study that more closely.

Thank you so much for your attention to this. It may be that they really do have enough SP and the other doesn't have enough to move it or maybe at the same time they get enough upvotes to compensate and not allow the difference to be seen. It really is the number one deal-breaker of steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53