Follow me ... follow you ... (Genesis) this is not how Steemit works! A little guide ... again.

in #steemit7 years ago

This may be a little guide but also a rant about how Steemit works. A friend of mine just wrote this article. I also have thought about it before.

Just a little thought before going into more details:

THIS is how this concept works:

You follow somebody if you like what he is doing. If you know him, if you share the ideas, if you are interested in his thoughts, art, photographs, music etc. He will follow you for the same reasons.

My cuban friend is totally right about quality over quantitiy. So let's get into Steemit for moment:

Basically you get votes from people and you are rewarded for these votes based on the weight they have. There are different components to that. First the steempower (SP) they hold. Secondly the percentage of their vote, that they give you (YES if you get bigger, you can choose if you give a 5%, a 37%, a 100% or even a 0,05% vote). Thirdly it depends on how much the voter has already voted and how much voting power (VP) he has left. After the next hardfork you will have 10 (!!!) votes with 100% VP a day.

OMG thats confusing!

Nope, it isn´t, it may be at the beginning, but it surely make sense. Most bigger SP holders split their votes down, so they can vote a lot more. And you can (almost) vote as much as you like, but with less voting power, thus less impact and thus less rewards per vote.

follow-1818545__340.png

Understanding this, also means the following:

If you have 5 000 followers holding 150 SP each, able to vote for 10 posts a day, what do you think how much this will impact your rewards? And then compare this to one of the major SP stakeholders holding 500 k to 7 mio SP. This means if you get a 1% vote from freedom account (holding roughly 7 mio SP) this has an equal impact as if you get about 500 votes from 150 SP holders.

I can be totally wrong about it in future, but a large follower base is worth nothing on Steemit right at the moment, so

please, please, please,

all you newcomers to Steemit: Welcome, but don´t annoy people with this vote for vote, follow for follow crap. This may have worked on Twitter, or on other Social Media. Here it doesn't. You will only make cute cat into grumpy cat...

cat-1937001_1920.jpg

TL; DR

  1. Steempower = SP = the amount of Steem you hold longterm in your wallet.
  2. Votingpower = VP = the impact of your Vote, replenishes to 10 votes with 100% per day after Hardfork19 (google that)
  3. Quality over quantity (this concerns your GAINED followers and your CONTENT).
  4. You risk downvotes if you annoy people too much, almost all big fish here will at least mute you if you do it anyway.
  5. A follower is worth nothing if he has no real interest in your stuff, for he will not vote for you.

I hope this helps somehow to make this place a better one.

Thanks for reading!

Follow for more!

(this is the only time, I personally tell people to follow me, and they will do so, if they liked my content)

@pollux.one

Sort:  

Thank you so much, @pollux.one. I'm very glad to see another post regarding this crap of follow me & I'll follow you back disease that has infected newbies. It is really very annoying. If I were to be the kind of person who flag down people, I would have flagged down very many of them by now. About 3 weeks ago, I wrote a blog post about that and even showed them constructive and creative ways to gain followership. Here, the post https://steemit.com/steemit/@maryfavour/follow-me-i-follow-you-the-new-trend-on-steemit . The more Steemians who write about it, the better. Cheers.

Thx @maryfavour! Probably we will need even more of these posts, because of the nature of steemitposts... after 12 hours they are almost forgotten already ;-)

follow for follow crap

exactly!
that's like a fever these days
roamin around
this is Steemit indeed!
not twitter :)

Upvoted and resteemed your post.

Isn't this also a kind of spam? Nothing is added to the comment thread or the post except 'upvoted' and 'resteemed'. The author of the post or comment can find out that for themselves quite easily.
Is your comment really any different to a follow me I'll follow you comment. Not saying they are the same exactly but...at least yours was relevant to the post.
Comment spam is comment spam. Some could view your simple comment the same way.
Could any comment of just 5 words be anything other than spam?

Take time to read my previous comments on this post. Cheers.

This wasn't a real criticism, just pointing that any comment with few words....no offense meant, and I did read and even upvote some of your comments, including the 5 word one I was replying to.

Im new here so I find this really cool and helpful. Thanks for the heads up man. Any advice for a newbie like me here?

You should check out the numerous posts of @sykochica, you'd probably find everything you need there.

Thanks for the shout out! :D
@chadym if you don't find answers in my guides, feel free to ask me whatever. Happy to help out!

Alright already following him. I havent made any posts yet I got too busy from our city's festival. I was tasked to take videos. Thanks guys. Really do appreciate it <3 Ill ask some if I dont find my way in your posts @sykochica Thanks for linking him to me too @pollux.one

Thanks for make it more clear on the Steemit way!!!! :D

It was inspired by your post. Initially I just wanted to post the youtube link and some words... then it escalated somehow ;-)

It always escalate :D Really good!

Regarding, the upcoming Hardfork 19.0, I have also done my best to educate my followers (I prefer to call them team members), so that they prepare well ahead of time. Here the post, https://steemit.com/steemit/@maryfavour/steemit-hard-fork-0-19-0-moving-from-the-40-full-power-vote-era-to-10-full-power-vote-era . Honestly, it makes no sense begging for followers or votes. Do what is right. Create good content, interact with people and add value to their lives, be consistent, power up your steemit account, give yourself time to grow in steemit, be happy with every step you take in steemit & broadcast it, celebrate Steemians who are adding value to steemit, stop running after whale votes. Steemit is not a get rich quick platform. It is a platform where you earn according to the value that you add to the steemit community. Well done!!!

I see nothing wrong with follow for follow if asked in a post, if someone follows me it means I get into their feed at least to potentially be seen, then as a gesture I follow back now they get into my feed for at least a chance of being chosen as good enough to get an upvote or maybe resteem.
I don't agree with asking...begging for a follow or an upvote or a resteem in comments...that's spam.

I just don't like that follow for follow thing. And I know for a fact that a lot of those who do this, will be muted by most of the bigger fish in this ocean, thus loosing the possibility to convince them by quality.

People really have to understand that the whole platform is build on one principle: Provide value, get valued in return.

Nicely put in one sentence ;-)

I certainly find the people commenting that they have upvoted and followed and then begging for the author to return the favor quite annoying and dishonest. I would never follow somebody that would leave a comment like that.

It has no value. That is the point.

Yep, exactly.

Thanks so much for this. I am basically tired of the follow me follow you crap. It just came out of the blue. I can't stand the grovelling.

It's the twitter / FB / Instagram mentality. There you count something if you have 10 thousands of followers that do not care at all about what you have to say. Here this is just not needed and a waste of time (and patience of mine and some others)

Great post, I personally am following everyone back until I reach a certain amount of followers.. but I don't expect everyone to follow me. Like you said it doesn't really matter. I've actually made more rewards just interacting and commenting on other posts. I think that is a more effective way to be noticed by more powerful accounts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88