Two weeks on Steemit - attempting to cash out!

in #steemit7 years ago

I havent been posting my daily/weekly updates, mainly because there isn't much to report on, but I decided to try to cash out on my Steem Dollars the last few days and I'm having such a nightmare!

I'm a noob to cryptocurrencies - in fact, they scare me!

So, first of all, I found a brilliant post by @abarefootpoet who explains how to open a CoinBase account and such to convert your Steem Power or Dollars into real cash.

I started following the post word for word - opened up a CoinBase account, and first of all had massive issues getting my account verified. My webcamera isn't very good and it was having difficulty reading my ID.

Now today, I have finally managed to get my CoinBase account verified and I've found out my PayPal won't link up! I can add my bank details to the account (although I'm not 100% happy having that on there due to the horror stories I've read) but I cannot seem to add PayPal! And there is no way to ask CoinBase for help!

I did read that the accounts have to match up - so I have to have the exact details in my PayPal to my CoinBase - which I am sure it does! I even double checked my address and mobile number. But I am faced with just this screen:

Imgur

Any ideas?

Or can I just add my bank details and transfer into my bank account instead? Isn't there a higher transfer rate compared to PayPal or have I misunderstood something?

Thanks in advance!

Sort:  

I have never withdrawn any but I will try to help. I do not think you can withdraw to Coinbase since they do not have Steem in their exchange. So I believe these are the steps;

  1. Convert your steem to Steem Dollars.
  2. Transfer them to an exchange like Poloniex or Bittrex (I recommend Bittrex as Poloniex is becoming rather shady in their T&Cs)
  3. Trade Steem for Bitcoin.
  4. You can then trade Bitcoin for fiat (cash) or alternatively, you can get yourself a debit card that exchanges Bitcoin to US$ or whatever currency is most convenient (Wirex is an example of a debit card).

There is a post here with a walkthrough. Hope that helps, and sorry there is no simpler way!

BTW, never be scared of crypto, it is easy as pie, as long as you are not playing with money you are scared of losing. I only started a couple of months ago, with zero knowledge and I have made around $5000 out of a $6000 investment. It is really simple I promise, some people might want to make it sound more complicated than it is, and if all you want is to get your Steem money out, it is not that bad I promise.

Thank you @olayar
I will have a look through your post later when I have some time to sit down and read it properly. It's just a little daunting having all these new terms, and opening new accounts - I only opened a Coinbase account because another post suggested I do that.
But clearly, there are others! I'm guessing that's what Poloniex and Bittrex are? Never used them before so I will check them out.

Hi @penny-rose
First, congrats on having gained some SBD to help you further your work. Unfortunately I don't know anyway to cash out but I can post your question @nicnicy and #minnowsfaucet community. He is very helpful, if you don't know him, I think you may want to start following him.
I posted your question at the following link:
https://steemit.com/minnowsfaucet/@nicnicy/minnowsfaucet-community-ping-pong-aug-18
Good luck with everything :D

there are many ways to cash out but depends to where You live to use the best method.

Google
Payza debitcard, payoneer debitcard, E-COIN E-CARD from Wirex, Xapo, Spectrocoin for Eastern Europe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62663.38
ETH 2445.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67