Even Though a Friend Quit Steemit and Powered Down, Why I Just Powered Up

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I am a scientist. I love experimentation.  

To me, Steemit, and the blockchain for that matter, is a giant experiment. That is why I have been involved in cryptocurrency and blockchain for the past 2.5+ years.  

I see flaws in Steemit as others do, but in the short time frame since I started following STEEM and Steemit, I have seen the experiment evolve and adapt. This is also Beta, so bugs are still being worked out.  I have also watched @dantheman have many open discussions about the way forward and discussing areas that need improvement and potential solutions. That alone is commendable to have a member of the Development Team so active in the discussion.  See some additonal @dantheman comments here: 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@chitty/whale-s-dilemma

A friend who convinced me to join, has now decided that this platform is not for him. He is a strongly principled person who is passionate about a lot of things. I understand those convictions and, as we all have free will to support what we like, support that decision. For me, I would like to continue to see where this experiment goes and evolves. 

With new folks outside the blockchain sphere joining daily some with a large following on other media outlets such as the Corbett Report, it has been interesting to watch the interaction an influx of new ideas and content. 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@corbettreport/the-corbett-report-is-here-here-s-how-i-introduced-steemit-to-my-150-000-youtube-subscribers

We are all part of this blockchain experiment and the exchange of ideas is paramount to the improvement and success of not only Steemit, but other Projects as well. We are, as we speak, shaping history.  I was recently looking at some images of local history in Southwestern Pennsylvania, where I am from. This area of the United States has a rich history spanning the Revolutionary War to the Industrial Revolution. As I read the stories of important figures in local history, I realized that we too are making history and folks will talk about us and our Projects much like the people and places I was reading about.

I want to see this and other Projects succeed and evolve. That is why I chose to Power Up and convert my Steem to Steem Power. Feel free to check.  Cheers!

[Image courtesy of https://steemit.com/money/@cool/why-you-need-to-power-up-right-now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87