Do you upvote yourself? Why? Should I?

in #steemit7 years ago

upvote.PNG I am really at odds on this one. I generally do not upvote myself, but after a few drinks.... Is there an etiquette or some level of reputation or some Steem Power threshold for upvoting or not upvoting yourself?

Sort:  

Voting on your own posts depends on your steem power and strength.
If they're low, it won't make any difference on your post.

The whales are the ones that really enjoy upvoting their own posts

I've never upvoted one of my own posts....luckily, I've never needed to, as I got some (albeit sometimes small) appreciation for my work.
But I get why it's done...It's another vote and that counts too (every vote counts, rigtht?) and it's a cent, why give it to someone else, when you can get it?
But I guess there are pros in not upvoting your stuff as well. For example, just the other day I got a comment by @trump3t for not upovoting myself and I got a small reward :) I think he has a very valid point...that it is way more fair to give to the community than to yourself.

I used to upvote my own posts until I found Steem Follower. It's a vote exchange where you earn points for upvoting other people and people earn points for doing the same for your posts. As your posts are upvoted your points go down. When your points get to zero your posts stops being available for upvote.

It's better than upvoting yourself because you can help out a fellow steemian, get a bigger upvote than you could give yourself(because now you get upvotes in exchange for all your upvotes), and you still get your curation rewards for your upvotes.

Here's the link: https://steemfollower.com/?r=4476

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pastbastard to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @pastbastard! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I do upvote my posts. But as you can see, I'm new around here. Why I do it? Well, first of all, I like my post, after all, I wrote it. Then, if there is a button that will count my vote that means my vote matter, even if it will have almost no significant impact .

I must admit I also wondered about this and at the moment do not upvote myself, just seems weird.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67112.11
ETH 2610.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67