Disagreements, Name Calling, and Accusations - Code Of Conduct

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

enter image description here

What a week it has been for Steemit.com.

Whaleshares

A few days ago, I watched the video from a Whale who posted about his displeasure in the Whaleshares project. While I can appreciate his right to disagree, I don't agree with his approach and characterization of those who support this project.

Making blanket statements about people he doesn't know and calling them shameful is not productive to this community.

Mogul

Yesterday, Matt released his 'Mogul Game' post. The community jumped all over it. Now, while I don't like the idea of charging a bunch of money for the idea of the 'Game', but it was the method in which some in the community responded and then Matt's subsequent rebuttals. Some of these were very unprofessional.

Civility and Professionalism

I wish everyone in the community, new comers and veterans alike, could always remain professional and courteous.

While disagreeing with one another is fine, but becoming abusive is not. Here is a code of conduct I wish we as Steemians could employ while stating our opposing views:

  1. Objectively explain why one disagrees with a particular product or service
  2. Refrain from name calling
  3. Refrain from assuming you know why the creator did a particular thing
  4. Refrain from using language that attacks a person's character

Disagreements and opposing views can be healthy

One could state the potential harm done to the community, if the project or service proceeds as planned. Please be mindful of your approach.

Stay Calm and Be Respectful

We are all grown up here and I think we need to be respectful of each other as people. The level in which some of the comments have degraded to has departed from the realm of respect and professionalism.

Steemit: We are better than that!

Let's stop repeating this toxic behavior.... There are other places on the Internet where that behavior is accepted, but not here.

Thanks @pairmike


Please Resteem and Share
Sort:  

I listened to the ENTIRE pitch for the game. I responded on a couple of pages to people, but just because Matt is monetizing his and his team's work does not mean it's a con, it's a sales pitch for his seminars and service add-ons. I doubt that in any way violates ANYTHING Steemit represents or offers.
I honestly have no interest in signing up, nor enough money for, ANYTHING he's selling, but I REALLY doubt the game itself hasn't been really well vetted by Stan (as it's partnered with BitShares for this) and Dan both- AND IT'S FREE when it RTMs. THAT's not a con, regardless of how wonderful or crappy the game is.
I could say it SOUNDS like the seminars and add-ons are (in my opinion) massively overpriced for what benefits he touts they offer. But NOBODY's forcing you to buy in now, and you can play the game for free in a month, like everyone else. This is no worse than all the investment newsletters out there, and there's a REAL product it's based on.

Actually I am actively helping the games development, and know all about it. And yes it has been vetted. But this community is very toxic, as is evidenced by this and other episodes.

People everywhere are toxic, toxic people are everywhere.
But not all people.
I think the principle of overwhelming the bad with the better is built-in, not bolted on, to Steemit.
How about you?

Keep on STEEMIN' with that even keel, Mike...

Track records are important.
Matt trainer has been sued before by previous clients.
When you Google him scam pops up next to his name. I don't doubt the game could be real but his attitude didn't help sell it either. I distinctly remember him dragging my name through the mud because I had questions. And telling me I was a weak ass loser.

You'll notice Mike called Matt's responses to you and others in the webinar unprofessional, too, and I DON'T think it was about your questions then, but shouted abuse on a lot of pages...
Keep asking the uncomfortable questions. If Matt gives people enough pause due to his behavior, the prelaunch stuff won't go much of anywhere. If the game's for real (it shows every indication it's real), stays free (that would be seppuku, I think, to charge at the door), and is well received, he STILL gets rich as he's bought a lot of BitShares, which will skyrocket if the increase in participation in Steemit and BitShares is anything like what's projected (and we KNOW Steemit membership is going to greatly expand ANYWAY, I don't even have a clue what the This Summer buzz is).

Something Stan mentioned several times and at least another person or two, it might have been the BitShares publicity blitz about the Hero, or Matt's game, or EOS (?), or something else entirely, I don't remember enough detail.

I'm going to look it up. I feel bad for Stan. He doesn't deserve this unless he knew it was a scam.

It's not a scam if there's a real game. @michaelx above says he's actively helping in developing the game, that it's real and fully vetted. Presuming that fact and the other points I mentioned, sleazy merchandising is NOT a scam. Telling everyone CAVEAT EMPTOR!!! is not slander, at all, either.

Couldn't agree more @pairmike. Speak to people as you would like to be spoken to. Thanks for the post.

Thanks, I hope we can change for the better.

You trying to tell me I have to grow up!?
However I try to be profession I think. :)
Best,

We may be adults, but the relative anonymity that the internet affords can sometimes make people act more like children.

I hope more people get your message though as I have read some comments before that make me cringe.

I really believe this behavior hurts the community as a whole.

If you look at the past year of Steemit, there's a lot of people who immediately flag posts when they disagree with something. While I think it's fine sometimes, there's been abuse from both sides of arguments. That's why honestly I've turned away from politics and most likely won't try to speak about religion. Regardless of whether it's here, on YouTube, or wherever.. I'm just a little tired of starting arguments online over silly things. The only way to change someone's pov is to understand where they're coming from fully and put yourself in their shoes for a little.

I don't this community to become like the others.

I mean eventually it'll go mainstream though. If all goes well, it should hit over 1M accounts by next year. I'm sure things will change a little bit before then, but I'm curious to see how everyone will adjust

Completely right @pairmike. This also applies for those who come and use aggressive words before knowing what is happening beforehand. Thanks for the post!

...well said mate.....i read a bit through that stuff yesterday but i stayed distanced as a newbie.....and not much more to ad anyway.....
i really hope for STEEM that its gonna stand out,compared to all of the other social medias and become a new way how social media works,behave,where everybody respects everybody......sort of.....dreaming a bit.......

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Steemit: We are better than that!
Let's stop repeating this toxic behavior.... There are other places on the Internet where that behavior is accepted, but not here.

Thanks @pairmike

AMEN!!! We should be an example for the world at large!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67931.04
ETH 3244.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67