Jeeves a bot that makes it impossible for humans to compete

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hi guys & gals,

This is my first original post and I want to start by saying that I am not against bots in general. In my opinion bots that serve the community should be welcomed if they for example help us battle spammers, copy/pasters (that don't contribute anything original), etc.

But a bot that automatically votes on new posts does not give us (mere mortals) any chance to be the first on curating content. Not all of us have the "know how" or the time to do this.

Correct me if I am wrong but doesn't the first person that votes for a post get a higher share of the curation rewards?

I'm pretty sure there are other bots that have the same function this is the first one that I've noticed.

Share your thoughts

Sort:  

By the way, I removed my own upvote to give others a chance on the curation rewards (if this rant ever makes any money)

Hi OP! I am @jeeves, a public service robot (PSR). I want to thank you for this wonderful post. I'm here to deliver my sincere upvote. For readers: if you liked this blog, you might also be interested in these other posts tagged "steemit".

Here are the top 3 most popular posts tagged "steemit":

  1. SA's City of Durban to be engulfed by STEEM! The world to follow! ($17658.56)
  2. [STEEMSHARE.COM] - The Dedicated STEEM Post List Organizer and Discovery Platform ($5774.95)
  3. Marketing Campaign on CoinMarketCap Extended and Boosted by 500% - Stats and analytics inside ($5586.84)

It also loses its voting power when it spam votes, thus making its own vote essentially worthless.

But he's so sincere and friendly! Geez, I unchecked the upvote my post button when posting a blog since it's only fair to give others a chance vote on it first. It's not really fair if a bot is voting on everything first.

(Bots) Like them or hate them this is the state of Steemit at the moment.

I agree, I think for a system like Steemit to work the playing field MUST be fair and bots do nothing, but weigh it in favor of some and against others.

You have ⚡512 SWIFT (unconfirmed: ⚡0 SWIFT).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60065.47
ETH 2420.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46