You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EVERYONE NEEDS TO START USING BITSHARES!!! POLONIEX: The Scourge Of The Cryptocurrency Exchange Space Is At It Again . . .

in #steemit7 years ago

Upvoted, Re-Steemed and Promoted to the TOP! I NEVER use centralized exchanges. I use the Bitshares DEX. My wait for a deposit, withdrawal, or any transaction is 3 seconds! No bank or government or anyone else can seize, delay, or otherwise impair my funds. It's called Financial Freedom and liberty and justice for all :-)

Sort:  

I just had a sizeable debt settled yesterday and I asked for payment in bitusd! Not only were the funds in my wallet within seconds but I can hold them in this stable currency and then trade them at my leisure.

Don't Keep Your Funds on Centralized Exhanges.!

Thank you for sharing your insights on this, onceuponatime. I've had similar experiences with Bitshares DEX and been delighted with the 3 second time for transactions. This is most delightful in a world of increased speed and costs. Upvoted & will resteem.

can you educate me on the bitcoin,it seems interesting,fast and profiitable.

A good place to start is bitcoin.com. They have a lot of tutorials and info you can read to get up to speed. Plus, YouTube is a great place to find a lot of videos about what can be done with bitcoin. You'll enjoy it.

hello pls i want to buy bitcoin with my credit card. can you help out pls...contact me via mail [email protected]

I just sent you an email. Please check and let me know you got it.

Searching for Nigerians
Please acknowledge.
It would be fun.
We need your supports to make the Nigerian Steemian Community.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@globearn/nigeria-community-on-steemit

Ha ha this comment just made my fucking day @onceuponatime. Screw 'em institutions! Following you brother!

Yup, we can open the door, but it's up to each individual to walk through it (or not).

That's true. but sometimes you need help from people to say what to open and what not.

I have a question, I hope you want to see my post. Is this something common in your country?

https://steemit.com/photography/@rival/20-3-2005-my-daughter-was-born-see-what-my-friends-did

Really 3 secs? I will give it a try. Just started crypto a month ago but started with bittrex. Thx for your very clear answer. How was the Greece trip? followed you. you must be one Lucky guy to be part of this community. keep sharing.

I´m using Bittrex as well. Never had any issues with them. Bitshares doesn´t have that many coins so it´s very limited in use-cases. If they would add more coins I would use it but so far not really an option. Just my opinion ;)

You are going to work hard, spend innumerable hours trading, face down countless risks with equanimity and grow your net worth to a distinguished level making you a pillar of our crypto society! You will keep it on a trusted centralized exchange because the liquidity and trading choice is larger and you become complacent to the risk over time.

...................................................and then it's gone!

Have you no sense of history? Even the very short history of centralized crypto exchanges? No exchange overcomes the temptation to fractionally reserve in the long run as investors and shareholders clamor for more profits.

Just as no fiat currency has ever, in the long term, not been printed into oblivion by the lust for power in men's souls.

Now that's a statement I will put in CAPITAL in my notes. So decentralised is to only way to go from now to the future. I just started and started really small so I put no attention to it. But I can imagine that when you worked hard and it is gone at once you are really want to do something !!**&% thx for your fantastic upvote, I am flabbergasted. !! this will make me more enthousiastic. and also to make my once i a lifetime dream holiday with the kids.

wise words. i'm glad i read this before i actually made my first deposit on either of the centralized exchanges i created my accounts on. looking at my feed from the past couple of hours, i can see the amount of annoyance/problems caused from the steem/SBD disabling by poloniex. you might have actually saved me a bunch of trouble. thanks, and followed!

Yeeeeeeeeeeep . . .

We need to create a Mt. Gox holiday that reoccurs on a monthly basis, hell maybe even a weekly or daily basis so people don't forget the dangers of trusting centralized exchanges.

Besides all the problems with decentralized money on a centralized exchange, and yes history has shown there is a big risk, also you have to think about a potential evolution in those exchanges. I am having right now 2.5 btc on poloniex for lending purposes. I thought quite some time about the risk of those exchanges, and although its there i think they became much more mature, then they have been just 1 or 2 years ago. Poloniex was even hacked, once, about 10% of their btc was stolen, but poloniex managed to pay everything back. They dont want to be hacked, and they dont want to steal their own coins because its not easy to get away with that...They want to continue operation, why? Because: they have right now 400,000,000 $ volume (24h), which means they make in a single day about a million with order fees. Thats a profitable and scalable business, you dont want to lose. I can afford to lose all my btc without getting into financial problems, so i would advise anybody! Think of it like this: First Phase: nobody cares or sees a problem with cryptos on exchanges. Second Phase: People became aware, and many professionals in the scene are warning about it. But i think the risk is maybe lower then expected.

If they're making a million dollars a day, then why in the seven hells does it take them weeks to verify users and answer support tickets? Alarm bells are going off...

Not sure what do you want to tell me? I think you can use this exchanges, not all of them are bad. Of course, you shouldn´t let all the money on it. I´ve never had any issues with them so I can´t complain. It´s better to have a decentralised exchange that´s right but if they don´t have the coins you want to trade? I never used Poloniex, because of the bad news. I think if you're using it, it´s your own fault. Don´t get on a boat which is sinking....

He's trying to tell you that Fools, and their Money, eventually and inevitably go their own separate ways :-)

okay ^^

I agree, but believe me that world of crypto in the beginning is not easy. you fall and need to stand up again. learn from it. let your wounds heal and continue.. But I love the lessons here.. no trolls. I have seen honest comment. and thats whats matters

"But I love the lessons here.. no trolls."

I think this really matters here on steem, I hope that this will continue!

Amen... and I lost a small fortune in mtgox scam, @ckcryptoinvest all these exchanges one day will vanish ( due regulations, scams, hacks ). I am back to crypto after several years and right now everything look much better, but I will never trust any centralized exchange ever.

and from the latest news

The largest bitcoin and ether exchange in South Korea by volume, Bithumb, was recently hacked. Monetary losses from compromised accounts have started to surface, and are quickly reaching into the billions of won.

BitShares has more coins without liquidity than with, it's a bit of a chicken or the egg problem. The only way liquidity will increase is if people use it - so we have our work cut out for us.

Even OpenLedger IOUs are better than using a centralized exchange. The risk of a hack is much lower, because thanks to the DEX OpenLedger's attack surface is much smaller than a centralized exchange

Bittrex FTW! Use it as well.

I am still really new on the cryptocurrency train and even newer at trading of any sort but I already made a note for Bitshares. I am planning to invest some money soon and if @onceuponatime promotes it with such a passion we have to try it =D
Learning is good, and it seems that in here it's a good place to learn.
I can't get into the shoes of you people that you are currently losing money because of this situation but if I can say one thing is that everything happens for a reason, just be positive.

hmmm. i just registered accounts on bittrex and kraken. thanks for the heads-up with bitshares, i'll look into it!

better to skip kraken, imo. concubines of the state that take way to long to answer support requests.

I've used kraken for over 4 years and never had a problem with them of any significance, their fees are a little high, but what is the problem with them?

sper sa miarga bine

I have a problem with Kraken ( they charged me to much EOS on every deposit ) 4 days an no response from support

Release The KRAKEN!!

I have a slight problem with Kraken, they took far to many EOSES on every deposit. Reported a bug, but 4 days and no response yet

ok Bitshares DEX then..

I rarely upvote on comments, but yours, I did... Thanks for the useful info! :D

Too right. Fight the power!

You mentioned 2 things that really perked up my ears... Decentralized, and 3 seconds.... WOW! Just what I've been looking for. However I have to honest I just don't settle on one crypto on those exchanges (Polo and Bitricks) I hold a small portion of each. So when one is misbehaving I can pull the trigger on another. Up voting and resteeming this one. $PEACE:!

Please elaborate

When one really starts misbehaving, it may already be too late...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53