Upvote and Engage Your Comment Section | Build Community and Boost Rewards

in #steemit7 years ago

The secret to social media is being social. Everything that earns rewards on Steemit is a social interaction. It’s easy to get confused because there is money involved, but forget about the money and just interact with people as people.

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about how to approach building a fanbase on the Steemit platform. The answer is simple, just not easy. In the end, this article about rewarding engagement from @cryptoctopus really brought things together for me.

engage_loop.jpg

Create a 'Positive Feedback Loop' By Engaging Your Followers

While everyone is looking for a trick or an exploit to bleed the reward pool dry, all you have to do to win on Steemit is be yourself and treat other people right. Ultimately talking and listening to people on Steemit – building true human relationships – builds a more solid platform and earns you more rewards than any short-term trick ever could.

Engaging and rewarding the Steemians who comment on your posts does three important things:

  1. It rewards your fans – The people who read and comment on your posts are not just followers; they are fans.
  2. It builds your fanbase – Appreciated fans stick around, and maybe even say good things about you to their friends.
  3. It builds your rewards – Your loyal fans have more Steem Power thanks in part to you, so when they upvote you it’s worth even more.

Rewarding Commenters Turns Them Into Fans

People are happy to get replies to the things they post on social media. All people love attention, not just narcissists. They want to hear back! Something you wrote moved them enough to write something themselves – a message to you about your post.

Read it, reply, acknowledge them.

engage.jpg

This is the advice you will hear about building a fanbase on any social media platform – ENGAGE.

Comment back to them. Give them a thumbs-up. Maybe comment on something you like that they posted; maybe even follow their account. No matter whether you do one or all of these actions,

Rewarding Your Fans Keeps Them Coming Back

Here on Steemit, we can offer an upvote that is worth money, and that is a big advantage. Other social media triggers a small psychological reward, tied to the human need for social acceptance. Upvotes on Steemit provide that boost, too.

maslow-s-pyramid-vector.jpg

But unlike other social media, upvotes on Steemit also carry a monetary value. We are talking about hitting multiple levels of Maslow’s pyramid at the same time. That is the sort of thing that can really keep people coming back.

Rewarding Your Fans Builds the Value of the Upvotes They Give You

Yes, it’s nice to reward others on the platform. It’s easy to feel very generous when you are handing out upvotes, even when they cost you nothing. But engaging your comment section is not an act of pure altruism. You have a lot to gain by building a fanbase.

Your fanbase is made up of the people who engage with you and your posts. Some of that engagement comes in the form of upvotes that directly benefit you. You have a lot more to gain when your fanbase holds more Steem.

The more you upvote your fans, the more their upvote is worth. Treat them right and keep them as fans, and you will have a growing pool of Steem Power aimed at your posts. It all creates a cycle that rewards those who build and participate in an active community.

You may also like: Celebrating 600 Followers By Powering Up!

UVFRS.gif

Keep on Steemin'!

Sort:  

This is something you do well, that I need to take notes on. With limited time, I find myself spending a majority of effort goes into content creation - which is why I lack in the followers category. I network a lot and have since coming to Steemit almost 6 months ago. I find it difficult to manage dozens of new relationships with the 'real life' ones. I try to remind myself that I've got obligations to people that depend on me, so that always comes first; all else is second.

I do try to engage with readers every chance I get, don't get me wrong. That's golden advice, @olyup. Even a simple compliment can spread a lot of light in a dark place 😉

I love that you're challenging yourself to post more, since you did challenge me also..haha and look at us -- we are honing our skills, aren't we?! I really appreciate your support and know it's a few like you that make this place whole.
Keep on Steemin' ✌️😎

thank you for sharing important guidance in steemit that anyone should be aware of, by running like your guide I hope to get ahead and survive in steemit:)

!originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @olyup to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks! Maybe I should make this a habit, too.

Yes! I love Originalworks and use it often. Have you joined the P.A.L. network discord / Minnow Support Project? I'm a member and I highly recommend joining - it's easy! {the first PAL link goes to discord, the MSP​ link goes to the .org site}

It is a great way to get more eyes and network with fellow creatives. If you have any questions, hurl them at me! ✌️😎

Engaging is indeed a very important element here. I am trying my very best to keep this up.

I'm working at it, too. It's funny to think of it as work even, talking to people on social media.

Really, the work is about changing our habits.

Yes. And it's hard work. It's not a full time or part time. It's anytime and every time. But I am happy and glad and blessed to be here. 💕❤️💖💗😁♨️

The biggest payout I have gotten was from a comment, I am a firm believer in working the curation rewards for all they are worth. The time spent vs potential rewards is a no brainer, plus you meet great people and potential followers as you indicated.

My biggest was my first post, but since then, I have definitely had comments that paid way more than a lot of posts did. You're right that "time spent vs potential rewards is a no brainer" - at least in most cases that's true.

I realized a while back that commenting was the most undervalued activity on Steemit. Now I'm trying to take my own advice.

My introduceyourself post had $0.07 earnings , before the split for author and curation. I have comments that exceeded $19.00. , it didn't take me long to figure out that if I was going to be here and read and interact with people that meaningful comments are, in my case, more valuable to me than most of what I write.

I've made it a rule of thumb to respond to every single comment- even spam comments. I've actually ended up getting decent engagement from spammers once or twice.

That's interesting. I usually just ignore spam comments; my definition includes bland, generic comments that could apply to anything. It would be interesting to see how many are real people.

Not many, but a few. And it's only worth it when you aren't too busy and have some free time.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @grow-pro.

This post has received a 3.20 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @grow-pro. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

sponsored by the @olyup for president campaign, which is sponsored by @grow-pro ✌️😎

Congratulations @olyup! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am just a newbie here.. And I crossed in your blog. I agree, engagement is really important.. I will be more engaging here too while I am learning. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44