You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing AutoSteem - An automation tool for voting, curating and browsing Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago

I don't understand how one person made this and whole team of steemit paid developers feed us for months with prehistoric UI.

Sort:  

HAHA, thanks for the compliment. its been many late nights that is for sure and as a developer myself, i have asked the same question.

I have no idea how development work and it was fine for me till now. I was thinking that must be really hard and time consuming. Now I'm start asking myself what are plans in steemit headquarters and what they are doing all that time? Weird, at least. But we'll get new announcement soon. We'll see.

There are different kinds of development work. You have frontend (the visual and interactive aspects) interacting with backend (the storage, logic, processing, protocols (i.e. rules), consensus algorithms, etc.

I think this AutoSteem project is fantastic, I would however ask you to think about everything that needs to happen "under the hood" to make the Steem block chain work before you eschew the work of the Steemit team. While there are a handful of front-end developers at Steemit, they aren't all working on the look and feel of the site. They are instead focusing on the backend, figuring out how to support larger user bases, new native features, and fixing bugs with the protocol. Some of this stuff is subtle and typical users won't notice a lot of it immediately. Think of it as laying the foundation for a stable building.

Robrigo, I totally agree and respect the devs completely, none of this is easy. Autosteem is strictly that, a front end service on all the devs awesome work on the backend and projects like busy.org coming is much larger than autosteem and I'm exciting about it as well.

They are instead focusing on the backend, figuring out how to support larger user bases, new native features, and fixing bugs with the protocol.

IMO, this is precisely what they should be doing.

Having the front end created and run by the same people that also run the backend is a necessary starting point, but the power of the blockchain is that anyone can build a front end.

If steem ends up being very sucessful in the future, i think in five years, we'll all look back on the early days and say something like "remember when steem was so small we had to build our own front end and have people interact with the blockchain that way."

I have great respect for what the Devs have done, but at the same time its no good having the back end working great, larger user bases supported etc if there are no users.
Its so frustrating working with the existing interface. Today yet again I made a mess of a post because of having to use the terrible interface. Well done @unipsycho great work on this tool.

I didn't mean nothing bad about steemit devs. I'm just asked some questions which I think a lot of people here want to know. Your explanation is great and I think it will sit well with many.

To be fair, steemit HQ had to also develop all the libraries andthe blockchain tech behind all of this while many others may simply use existing tech and code.

See for instance busy.org. they make extensive use of the js libs written by steemit hq.

This project wouldn't be possible without these libraries and SteemJS is an awesome example of that for devs like me. Oldtimer simply asked a question, I know many have asked that as well. I do understand the time it takes for the WHOLE of what steemit HQ has to do, and they are doing well at bringing in lots of new features to steemit, hard to keep up with actually. Like NSFW filters, I had to add that since they appeared at Steemit and I knew then it was good for autosteem as well.

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Please answer me.

Hi I hope I do not mind too much because I just saw
Your profile on and I see you being the right person for me and deserving this offer. My name is LOPEZ Endrea I am of French origin but I live in Italy for 20 years because of my husband who is of Italian origin. I suffer from an illness which will lead me to death and I have a sum of 60 000 euros which I would like to make a donation to a person of trust and honesty so that it makes good use of it. I am the owner of a car accessories import company. To give a 10% share to the orphan children of his region just for the blessing of the lord after my death. I lost my husband 7 years ago, we have no children what my heart really touched and I could not remarry to this day because I love my husband too. I would make this sum a gift before my death so that my days may be counted for want of this disease to which I can not have a remedy for my illness. I would like to know later if you really want to benefit from this gift. Here is my email address: [email protected]

Please answer me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80