Stop expecting to be the next Steemit-millionaire

in #steemit6 years ago


How many of the users on this website came here with the expectations to earn hundreds or thousands of dollars per post? Almost everyone I guess. And this is a big problem. Too many leave because their posts earn only some cents, and the ones who don’t left, uvpote their sh*t into trending with the bots.
But I don’t want to talk about this problems in this posts, I want to show you why it is unreasonable to expect receiving even one single penny from this platform.

Everyone on Steem is posting articles. Well, almost everyone. And I asked myself: Why?
How many of you people have posted even only one blog or article in your whole life, before you came here? No one? Well, almost no one! So why do you think it’s a good idea to start posting here? It seems like every user joining this platform thinks he is a reporter or blogger or something like this. But this simply can’t be.

Well, I must admit, nor am I.
YouTube has many user. There are videos with hundreds of millions of views. But how many of these people watching these videos are actually creating their own content? Right, only a very small portion.
What is the situation on Steemit? You can look at almost every post. Just open some random profiles of people that have upvoted or commented on this post. And what you’ll find? Right, they all created blogs or videos or what else.
I guess you see the problem now. We need much more, let’s call them consumers, than creators. It’s pretty simple, if everyone creates content, then there’s nobody left to consume it.

consume.png

It’s that simple.
Not everyone can be a content creator. This platform was designed to be an alternative to websites like YouTube and Facebook. So use it like this.
You can still make money here: Curate fresh and good content, post helpful and smart comments. But don’t force getting upvotes by stuffing an already saturated market. Upvote other peoples content and not your own comments. Interact with them. Be a normal user just like you were on Facebook or YouTube.


You want a good example? Visit this German Steemian/DTuber (and (ex?)YouTuber): https://steemit.com/@sempervideo
He has payouts of some dollars per video, but he hasn’t received upvotes from dolphins/whales or bots. Actually the videos have hundreds (or sometimes over a thousand) upvotes. These are users like you find them on ‘usual’ sites. They watch the video, they like it, they comment. He has hundreds of comments per post, that’s what I call a community.


I have to correct myself, you can expect receiving money from here. But by using this platform like you used to do on other sites.


I have nothing against you posting your content. But don’t forget that you also need to interact with others or this whole system won’t work.

Sort:  

It makes sense what you say. Indeed I was confused, since I never blogged before, I have have to start just for the purpose of money. I prefer to talk to people get to know their thoughts. I'm a photographer, not a writer. I can put down some ideas, right, but I choose a camera, not a pen, to express myself. Do i have to force my self through and learn how to write or do I keep it simple just engaging and using my blog to post my pictures? @okean123

Steem is for content, in general, not just articles. There are tons of stuff under the #photography tag, there are even some competitions and stuff, and the mobile app SteepShot to ease the process of pushing photos into the Steem platform.

On the technical side of things, the Steem blockchain is indeed only meant for written text -
but written text does of course include links, and Steem works quite well together with IPFS. There is steepshot, daudio, and several other applications/websites where one can post content on IPFS and link it up and receive rewards through Steem.

Of course you can post only your photography. I think photography is a different topic and it isn't necessary to say much about your photography.
In general, do what you want! Other people may find things good, that I don't like and vice versa.

Isn't it a bit ironic that you're complaining about the bots but and at the same time use them? :-)

Yeah it is :). It's provocative!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

You got a 22.02% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @okean123!

Release the Kraken! You got a 61.55% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @okean123!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51