"Claim rewards" button

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

For those of you who haven't seen the "Claim Rewards" button yet: I made an on-line demonstration of how it works.

Its purpose is to make time seem to pass faster while you wait for the reward pool to fill up.

The demo is here.

Disclaimer: not tested in all browsers.
Claimer: harmless.

Sort:  

I'm finally seeing this yesterday but if it to make time see to pass faster, I don't think it's working.:-)

Really? I could play with it for hours! 8-)

Line 1: "this": undefined
parser stopped, brain fried, core dumped.

Updated. Didn't realise the paste action didn't work.

Looks more entertaining than what I came up with!

I'm not into games but I suggested to the author to install it for his friends with his own bitcoin wallet. :-)

Very nice. Now if I only knew what its purpose is I'd be glad. Will the rewards disappear if I don't "claim" them?

I doubt they will disappear, but these days, I am sure of very little.

@gamer00 glad to see you here
you should post or have you?
please post!

Ok ok, I'll try posting something (soon?). I forgot to feel motivated for some weird reason.

@gamer00 looking forward to it!

No. Claim isn't a great verb to describe it and i'll see that it gets updated in the UI soon. Your rewards balance is just another balance in your own wallet, that sits there until you transfer it to your normal/spendable/liquid balance. "Transfer" or "redeem" or such is a better term. The rewards balance was broken out like that to make it easier to scale the blockchain processing of votes and balances to millions of users and billions of votes in the future.

I can understand there is a technical, back-end rationale for this, but did it have to make its way into the front-end user interface where it doesn't seem to have any added functionality? What user-interface functional spec is it in aid of?

It requires a signature from a user, and we do not store user keys.

This adds inconvenience and is a bad direction for UX. At least explain in the UI what it means and why it's there. People might think if they don't claim the rewards that the developers might somehow claim them.

I understand the UX consequences and agree, but all engineering is trade-offs between different goals. We needed to split out the rewards balance for scaling purposes. The text could stand an improvement, but condenser is for the moment in maintenance mode as we focus primarily on mobile, where we expect the majority of our growth in the next year.

We would have loved to automatically transfer the rewards balance to the user's active balance, but we explicitly avoid storing the user's active key for security reasons. It's somewhat unavoidable under our current app architecture for the moment. Things will be a lot better on mobile.

PS: https://github.com/steemit/condenser/pull/1356/files

Agreed, I think that there is an implied expiry on something which you have to claim, where as a balance is a more appropriate term, and transfer is the most accurate verb.

That claim and even redeem says to the user is that they must perform this action. It actually seems that they can perform it, and if they don't rewards will accrue indefinitely. Is this correct?

Yes, that is correct.

Thanks for explaining this. Sorry for the late reply. I didn't get any notice for replies (bug?) so I wasn't aware people are replying at my messages. Now I'm 2 days behind replying back.

Notifications bug is also being worked on, sorry about that. :)

Ha, it works splendidly in chrome on android!!

Good! I'm aiming for a job as the new Steemit user interface designer.

You will go a very long way ;0)

You need to add a giant spider standing guard over the reward button to add tension to claiming your reward.

Nice one! A bit much for a 10 min. hack though 8-).

true... maybe.
Works in mozzila too

Why the "maybe"? I'm no good at drawing spiders.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Clever! Worked in Chrome on a Chromebook.

Thanks for the demo, @ocrdu The problem is I don't see the button in my wallet at all and on both the Curation and Author rewards it shows estimated rewards last week: 0.00, which is simply not true. I'm guessing the button doesn't show because the steemit rewards system seems to be not working for me. I would like to buy some steem to power up my steem power, but if I can't trust the integrity of the system, why would I throw away money. I also don't get why the 7 day delay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78