FEAR, POT, & CRYPTOCURRENCIES

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

home_alone_macaulay_culkin_kevin_mccallister_boy_fear_shout_fright_346_1600x1200.jpg

I’ve never met anyone who’s not afraid of something. Have you? Some may hide it well, keeping a brave face, and some may not even know the motivation for much of their actions is fear. Fear of the unknown and fear of each other guide many of our day to day decisions. Everyone has at least one fear that rules their life and limits their freedom. My fear happens to be money or not having enough of it. However, this is weird because my fear is completely irrational! I work hard, grow pot in Oregon as a secondary income, and I am head over heels for cryptocurrencies as a potential third income. When I asked myself why is it I fear being broke, it comes down to the fact that today institutions do no let you feel in control. Cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology are challenging, weather intentionally or not, the many institutions that leave the average person powerless. Cryptocurrencies and their various companies are attempting to decentralize institutions that function today as aristocratic safe havens. The crypto community has put it's foot down and is establishing itself with a $98-$110 billion dollar market cap (money talks). But why should you care about cryptocurrencies and why should you invest? Well, you have to figure that out for yourself but do not let FEAR keep you from at least learning and dabbling in the crypto market.

As I mentioned, I grow pot. I also own CANN coin & POT coin :). The marijuana industry is looked down upon by most in the financial sector. When you look at the industry and it’s legal potential, why not invest? Well for most, the barrier to entry is very high and the risk of incarceration is too high…even in legal states. Let me say that again, EVEN IN LEGAL STATES people fear officers arriving at their grows and arresting everyone on site. Unlike marijuana, when it comes to cryptocurrencies I do not think there is anything to fear as our (United States) government is baffled at the Bitcoin phenomenon. I think it is special that people are divesting from the broken, bias USD and putting it into things like BTC, ETH, LTC, DASH etc. The decentralized nature of cryptocurrencies eliminates blind risk and bias. There is no FED regulations, no insider trading, and coins come in a fixed supply. Side note, just my two cents, more often than not people who are investing in this space currently really have no fucking clue what they are doing. What they do see, what I see is a huge upside if this boat can stay afloat. The risk you take in this industry is in your hands but so is your profit. The rising awareness, acceptance by governments (Japan, Korea, UK) and rising adoption are supporting various crypto price movement which is motivating people to invest. Cryptocurrencies are emerging as a new asset class, digital assets. Given its low correlation with traditional asset classes, it’s being dubbed as a perfect diversifier for an investor’s portfolio.

If you have some extra money, go to Coinbase.com and register. Then sign up on Bittrex.com. Research, plan, and invest in yourself because this industry is just starting and it is calling your name.

Fear is the granddaddy of all illusions, and I am kicking my fear of to the curb and going all in on cryptocurrencies. As I go, I will let you know what I buy and why. I am going to be writing daily so stay tuned and please leave a comment and let me know what you want to know.

Sort:  

Hey and welcome to steemit, I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :)

Thanks man. Appreciate the love. Excited to contribute!

Welcome to Steemit @oaktownhero :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Nice work! .Gov = baffled has never been a good outcome for the people. After taking a look at your page, I see a lot of great content. Following and upvoted. Please feel free to check me out and follow back.


That damn government! Haha. That's for reading my man.

Congratulations @oaktownhero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks man. Excited to contribute!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47