Opening Doors And Sowing Seeds

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Hi Everyone,

Since joining in September last year (2017) I’ve worked extremely hard to build my brand, by always following through on commitments.

The faith and trust of the community is paramount to success on this platform and is something that is always in the back of my mind when I interact on Steemit.

To help breakdown my long term commitment to this platform I need to share a bit more about my life.

I work in an office job where I get a regular income each month and have tried to be good with my money.

This has allowed me to buy Steem from either the open market or friends that I have met at our monthly Adelaide Steemit meetups.



Building my Steem and powering up is one of the best parts about this platform, you can instantly see your upvote go up a few cents and are able to share this by rewarding content you like.

People may look at the contests I run on @o07 @o07life and @footytips as low value content as Steemit is meant to be a blogging site.

They are entitled to their opinion absolutely, but I have tried to make fun & engaging competitions for the whole community from minnows to whales that can earn SBD and cast the net wider to engage more people in using cryptocurrency.



When it comes to unique content, Steemit is the place to find unique and interesting topics that can be saved onto the blockchain for future generations and these are key pillars that were and are still vital to bringing likeminded people onto the platform.

If we want Steemit to take over the world, we need a broader audience and a way for new minnows and people looking to interact on a daily basis that brings them back wanting more.

Every single dollar I've put into Steemit has been powered up and any left used to help build other start-ups including fundraising the @thesteemhouse project spear headed by @thatsweeneyguy and his team.

Contests can be run in so many different ways but I now promote in my daily GIF contest on @o07 "No Upvote, Resteem or Follow Required" as I don't think people should be spamming feeds and following anyone just to be eligible.

There are so many rules in some of these contests, even for an experienced user it can be hard to make sense of it at times.

If you like me, and what I'm about you will follow to keep up to date with my page and content so you don't miss any of the fun.



We need to think long term, and I'm trying to do this through actively promoting participation for anyone that would like to engage, meet people and potentially walk away with a prize.

I've given away many things in these contests from Silver and Gold Bullion sent all over the world to SBD and Steem.

Giving back and sharing is so much more important to me than upvotes or follows.

It's the bigger picture that excites and keeps me engaged, meeting new friends and making the most of my time when engaging.

I'm looking for support to keep these daily contests going and ensure that the prize and reward for the winner.



This doesn't even have to be an upvote, it can just be your participation in what we have going on each day to help engage part of the wider community.

I'm going to go off on a bit of a tangent here so bear with me...

My Step Dad's side of the family use "Auslan" to communicate or otherwise known as "Australian Sign Language".

This is a way they can interact with friends and family that can also read and use sign language.

Previously I was active on Facebook where I would only speak and talk to people that could write and speak English.

Moving onto Steemit I found myself interacting with people from all over the world and some didn't speak much if not any English.

Not being able to speak another language, I found that I could still engage with them in a visual context and or images to share my thoughts.

Images can help break down communication barriers and this is key in self-help guides we see on Steemit for new users.

This is evident from work like my friend @overkillcoin has done with the help from other members of the community.

We can even look at the use of emojis across mobile platforms where you don't even need any physical text to show a specific expression or thought :)



I wanted to make contests that could be easy to participate and help engage a large number of people from different backgrounds to keep engagement and fun anytime you went to my page.

My goal is to effectively "preach the good word" to new members through not only recruiting, but casting the net wider and sharing this beautiful platform with as many people as I can.

If this happens to be though GIF contests on my page I am more than happy for this to be my legacy.

Steem is bigger than the Steemit platform, with new integration happening all the time to diversify and increase the audience just like SMT's are to the blockchain.

By decentralizing the Steem currency and opening this up to new adopters and communities will not only strengthen the value of everyone's wallet, but ensure that we are diversified in this competitive market.



An example of engagement can also be defined by ones commitment or willingness to follow through on a goal.

Back in December 2017 @mattclarke was offering a delegation of 500 SP for 12 months to 20 lucky individuals

To be eligible each person needed to head to the big Christmas tree in Adelaide and take a selfie with a present.

If you were one of the first 20 to do so, you were awarded a delegation to help kick start your Steemit experience.

I know some people that would sorry to use the term "kill" for a delegation or leg up on this platform, but unfortunately a large portion of these people lost interest.

So if a delegation can't keep them active what can?



This is where contests and giveaways come in, they keep people logging on each day and browsing content.

Depending on the price of SBD at the time most of the contests I run provide a few back to the winner and let’s not forget that this money reaches far and wide allowing the winner to share with friends and family how great it is to be a part of.

They may only be small minnows in a giant pool but they swim in a school of others that want to get bigger and stronger over time.

Another example of what I've done to bring in new people to use the Steem as a currency is on my page @footytips

Essentially this is a AFL and NRL sports page where users can enter their predictions each week in a non-progressive contest.

This awards SBD to the winner and also an entry into the end of season draw for a physical match day ball to be sent to your home regardless of how far or expensive the shipping is.



To help link this into a positive user experience, Matt was struggling to get his wife @amandaclarke engaged and active on Steemit but knew she loved doing AFL tips with her friends.

This provided a online easy way for her to have a chance to win and engage with the community at the same time!

Amanda actually won the first week of the AFL contest, and from what I heard was really excited for the victory :)

She has returned each week with many others who have found something that brings them back to the window that is Steemit.



In summary, there are many ways in which we can get people back to Steemit each day.

If one of these is a chance to earn cryptocurrency through contests I think its a great opportunity to help us grow.

Big shout out to @mattclarke for his ongoing support, both practical and financial on my page.

I'm looking for further support to keep these daily contests going ensuring a prize and reward for the winner.

Hope you all have a great week ahead and I welcome any comments below :)

Images reference source

DQmWSmZiW35v2QHr3vCeoEckaf1yXzkKtyZ1dpL96WtGpu5_1680x8400.jpg

Member of #teamaustralia and #steemsilvergold

See @o07 and @footytips for giveaways!

Sort:  

You've always been giving back my dude! I hope your hard work ends up paying off and you get everything you can out of steemit. From friends, connections, new business opportunities whatever it is! You've helped kick start my journey back in the new year as well! So thanks for that! :)

Cheers Dom,

Making friends is a huge part of what I love about Steemit.

You're a hard worker and the writing and collaboration in different communities is helping build your profile in a big way.

We also need to get that #beerpong idea going once we get some free time!

Enjoy your silver coins, and if you don't manage to get a 2018 round I got you covered :)

Absolutely! You're the first one I actually had an audio conversation with and it was pretty cool spit balling ideas back and forth! Ahh yes yes I will also take some videos from this years tournament in July!

Thanks man! Some guy was supposed to hold two for me so we'll see if that happens otherwise I may get in touch with you and send over some Steem for them :)

Don't worry about the Steem, I will hook you up for free if he doesn't come through.

haha only if I beat you in a game of Beer pong first! If I loose then you send me vegemite, and I make a blog eating a vegemite sandwich ;)

I don’t always participate but your contests are great. Especially as I first started out on the platform. You are right, it gives people an easy way to engage. Plus your contests are what taught me how to post gifs. ☺️

Thanks for being a consistent contributor to steemit! ☺️

Thanks for your support, I appreciate your feedback :)

Personally I believe that is very important to make people return everyday no matter if it's through giveaways, diary, motivational speeches, travel blogging, vlogging or anything else but this is how we keep the platform alive, how we make it more genuine and get the opportunity to interact with people from all over the world 😊
It's a win-win I would say

Absolutely correct,

No matter what the hobby or interest is once communities gets launched on Steemit we need to be ready.

Also your travel videos bring me back to watch and experience your personal journey :)

Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much :)
It really means a lot.

Your welcome :)

Wow what a generous competition run by @mattclarke, what a shame so many people lost interest.
Good idea with the daily contests. Keep people more active and enjoying themselves.

I totally agree with your ideas on expanding the content on steemit. I know some people complain about some of the content being posted... But really they are adding value, while some people may not find the content interesting, and even be angry about having it on steemit, it will attract others who do like it to join steemit.
No matter how garbage somone thinks it is, There will be another person out there who will appreciate it.

I love the competitions you run, still haven't gotten around to entering one. But think they are a great idea, I'll get there soon.

Hope you had a great weekend mate.

Thanks Mate,

My weekend was good just helped my Grandma with some things at her house :)

It would be great to see you participate when you have time.

I'm quite overwhelmed by the comments of support on this post.

Keep on trucking, and lets do this thing!

Thanks for the shoutout, Stefan.
It's important that we move from theory to practice. I'm sure many crypto fans remember the giddy rush of their first transaction.
The ease, simplicity and permissionless nature of direct peer to peer money transmission has to be experienced first hand to be really understood.
We can talk to people about how great steem is, but it's all academic until they actually get that intoxicating first chance to use it.
I remember sending 5 SBD over to America to shout someone some crumpets.
I just sat looking at the computer for a few minutes afterwards, really taken by the enormity of what I'd just been able to do.
Your gif and footytipping competitions help to break steem out of the 'preaching to the choir', 'crypto anarchist' crowd and into the hands of regular people from all over the world; people who may lack the skills or confidence to blog, but who know a good thing when they see it, and I've seen the results of that with some of the tremendous feedback you've received.
I'm proud to be a part of it. Keep up the great work :)

Thanks Matt,

Feedback is something that you just can't put a price on in life.

We have a really good thing building here on Steemit, and the possibility's are endless with the right care and support from the community.

New ideas are happening each and every day that we need to embrace, if only to ensure that this specific group of people or individuals first experience using steem is a positive one

Many exciting times ahead, look forward to seeing you at our #mallsballers meetup next week :)

28308405_10155523056034353_675104811_n.jpg

I'm right here with you. Couldn't of said it better myself and I am happy to be part of the crew on Discord too... I believe giving back and helping this platform is the only way to go or this Steemit thing wont work. Let's all keep up the good work and keep it moving so we all win together..... Strive for Greatness......

Absolutely,

The discord has so much room to grow and develop also.

I just didn't want to overload it with dozens of channels at this point.

We have over 80 people now so it getting exciting :)

Bottom line is I'm here with you and all of you. Love is what it's all about......

I often wonder what will keep members here. I think giving them steem before they understand what steemit is will cause them to leave. I think delegating to them before they understand they have to comment and upvote others to build their own brand will cause them to leave.

Ultimately, helping them too much will cause them to leave. I think we need to engage with them, leave comments, sponsor contest, recommend contest. That way they build friendships that will cause them to stay. I personally LOVE YOUR contest. They are easy fun and no pressure to upvote or resteem. Thank you for being part of the solution.

I love what many like matt have done in attempt to help engage members, i think for those that choose to stay will never forget there generosity.

Hey Kubby,

I really appreciate you feedback.

The first time I heard you working on the live stream radio channel I was like "That woman is a brilliant ambassador for Steemit"

Holding their hands too long can also have the same effect like you were saying.

We need to be their guide in a way, helping them travel through the big ocean and protect these minnows from sharks etc on their path.

Some of the GIFS you come up with are absolutely brilliant btw :)

Hopefully we can catch up at the #teamsuatralia Christmas party in December!

#stillmybed #kubbygifqueen #getkubbytoaustralia

I think while it can be a tricky thing keeping people around at end of the day people mostly just like to feel like they fit in somewhere and they feel appreciated. Having zero engagement with others, zero rewards, and zero community around you, along with making zero friends makes it hard for someone to want stick it out and remain. Many people see it like growing a garden and it really is. You got be around and somewhat consistent. So in that sense we are many of key thoughts on what keeps someone around.

I’m doing my own little outreach program. I got a little less than 200 random names that fit within certain parameters and then I started to filter it down and I’m now with 27 names left on that list. I removed the spam, zero effort, plagiarists, and content that I just don’t have time to properly interact with on a daily bases like video.

The remaining left I’m going and have been starting to engage with mostly with their passion that we share in gaming. From there I’m going to slowly try and build a repore with these people and I hope to make some friendships. If any of them create something outstanding I have a place to share that might give them decent little reward to help keep inspiring them and show them what quality content can get here. On top of that if I can get to a point where they want join a community I’ll have recommend and if they made some decent content they will also just get an invite out form a community I’ll share that amazing work.

For now many seem to be appreciate to just have had someone anyone leave them a comment that was not total spam. Sometimes they start wanting asking for some feedback. Other times hey that’s great I mention they should try out this or that content or go check out what ever as well. At end of the day I hope engagment, community, and yes a little reward will help keep them around. I also know for some that just won’t be enough. They come here expecting to get rich quick and that not a thing.

While it can get time consuming if everyone took on a few newer but not exactly new people that looks like they want be here and contribute to the seemit community w can have some impact on keeping those types around.

Great points @enjar

It really hit home with me when you talk about rewarding people and staying engaged.

I started a discord page up a few months back that is up to about 80 people or so, open for anyone to join.

We try and share our content and support where possible to keep the ball rolling.

Each week I select the 5 posts from the feed that I feel were unique and give them each 1 SBD for their work.

It may seem like a small prize for some, but others who aren't getting as much support on their page it makes a big difference in their engagement on the platform.

You're more than welcome to invite your crew over if you like the more like minded people can stick together the better :)

I got a couple of places to stick people if they choose to want to be apart of a community (not everyone does, many still have not even tried to engage back with me .) I do love the more manageable size discords so I'll be sure to check it out. Always more fun when you can get to know most of the people in one.

Absolutely, have a great weekend!

I wanna fly down there for a meet up. That would be fun.

Good reading more about your thoughts and goals. You do good work.

Thanks Bro,

You've played a big part in helping drive the discord and also lending a ear when I need to have a chat :)

It would be great if you were able to come to Australia one day or maybe I can some to Utah to see Ingles and Exum play down the track!

#justagifofyourboymichell

a very good post @o07, your words this can be a very good motivation for all of us in living this life. I think that to be successful requires a lot of struggle, we have to work hard, effort, and never give up despite having many challenges, because the more challenges we go through, the greater the chances of success we get.

The important thing is, we stay focused on the goal, that way, whatever we do will definitely get satisfactory results. Thanks for sharing, and hopefully you will be more successful to work.... :)

Thanks @reynakarina

Hard work does pay off in most situations from my experience.

In saying this, we also need to make sure we acknowledge others that need some motivation to keep them engaged :)

I think it's great for Steemit to have generous people like you. I think the most important part of any website or community is always the people, and nice people are the best of them all.

Keep doing what you are doing, and enjoy the few hours of weekend left XD.

Cheers,

The people and friends you meet are definitely a huge part of this platform.

Feel free to pop by my page and join a contest when you have a free min :)

I will definitely keep going don't worry!

https://i.imgur.com/ZtvPsPR.mp4

My GIF-fu is weak... it doesn't load here XD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72