[Steemit Hunt] Readme - Developer documentation made easy

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Readme makes it easy for developers to create great documentation, provide transparency around code changes and build vibrant dev communities.

Background

This product is relevant to Steemit right now. The most important aspect of a crypto token protocol is the developer community and if the Steem protocol is successful the success is going to be led by developers. Right now, the Steem documentation is not very good. Additionally, there is no transparent changelog that highlights code changes and no comprehensive developer hub (see @tuck-fheman's thoughts about the lack of transparency on protocol changes in the post and comments here).

Why would you want to use it?

Any developer building an API or leading an open-source project would want to use Readme as a way to foster a developer community.

Any aspiring developer on a protocol would want the protocol to implement it so that they could get up to speed building products on the protocol faster. I'm personally interested in building curation bots but haven't been able to figure it out with existing documentation (I'm a very novice dev). The

What are some new products that you love? Hunt them with the tag #steemit-hunt



Sort:  

Good call. I hope this is prioritized by the Steem core devs as in my mind this will be the single biggest driver of growth (more transparency, more devs, more useful apps that use Steem).

If I have understood the situation right, Steemit doesn't have currently manpower to spare to write good docs. But they are interested in hiring somebody to do that, so if you know somebody who could be a good fit for that job, contact Ned.

Probably right. I just think this is the highest leverage thing they could do right now.

Yeah, I agree.

The devs on Github for steemit.com have been responsive & excellent. I've made some pull requests to fix the README there, but that's really the only piece of documentation. The protocol / steemd API is way more complicated, would be great to see readme or similar implemented. I'm not a very good Dev, but I can write docs & examples, and I bet there are more people like me that would contribute.

And man you're kicking my butt on steemit-hun posts ;) I want to get back to some theme work on steempress so I can actually display this stuff nicely, hence no postings on the tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89