Thoughts On My First Week on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

Hello Steemians! I love this community and I'm so excited to have found it after saying "Sayonara" to Facebook and the constant stream of the same reposted memes and political flame wars. I have read great poetry, I've seen beautiful art, learned about history, laughed at genuinely funny and creative posts, and I've learned about Steemit and cryptocurrency in the process. So many of you have poured so much into this and it is such a positive force on the web I really just can't say enough about it.

You all have been very kind about me nerding out, and as I said in my introduction, I'm literally obsessed with my Notgeld hobby and I'm sure pretty much all of my posts are going to relate to it in some way. I've gotten lots of upvotes for content that probably would have been ignored on Facebook, and for that I'm truly grateful.

But as a noob, I've definitely made some mistakes. I tried to do a giveaway thread that would last through today, but I didn't realize that most content on Steemit literally dies within 24 hours. I'll have to think of another way to do that in the future. It got a lot of upvotes, which is great, but I was hoping for more people actually getting involved in the giveaway (you can still guess today).

I've only gotten one follower so far - but he's a really good one, @johano, who is even more into foreign languages than I am! - I imagine this is because I'm posting what I think is interesting and not so much trying to play to other people's interests.

So that leads me to what I hope to work on for the future, trying to post content that is not just interesting and historical, but at least slightly more relevant and hopefully more valuable to the community. This weekend I will post Part I of my first Steemit magnum opus, Cryptocurrency is the Notgeld of Our Time, and send a link out to my email list as well. I want to focus on the cultural meaning of cryptocurrency, how it informs our worldview and shapes the future, how it determines our ideas about money and commerce, and what we take away from it that we can pass on to future generations. 

I think Steemit represents something that may well be central to the legacy of cryptocurrency, and I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thank you Steemians! Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey @notgeld - welcome to steemit! :) Consider me follower #4.
One of the best pieces of advice I can give is just be yourself. Don't pigeon-hole your content. People connect with people and we are definitely interested in learning more about our fellow steemians. Build your community. Interact. Practice the 3 C's

Content creation - Curation - COMMENTS

I've been saying this from the beginning and in less than 4 months I've grown my following to over 400 and I'm a few posts away from being a dolphin. All best and I'm looking forward to geeking out with you! :D

Hello @merj99 and thank you very much for the follow! I like your advice very much because there's no way I'm going to write about something I'm not into. :) Good luck on your dolphinhood - I had no idea there was a Cetacean Scale on Steemit! I can see you're right about the three C's, especially comments, because it's so great when people really care enough about what you've written to take the time to respond. I know things are about the upvote economy here (and I still don't know nearly as much as I should about that), but I'm more interested in discussion and learning from cool people who are motivated to share, and for now I'm just going to trust that the upvotes etc. are structured in a way to facilitate that.

Thanks again, have a wonderful weekend, and I will be sure to check out your posts!

Now you have two followers. Didn't know the term Notgeld before this post. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks very much for the follow, Tommy! Now that you've followed me you're sure to hear more about it. :) Thanks again and I hope you have a great weekend!

Saluton Notgeld, und danke fuer die Erwaehnung. Ich bin gespannt auf den naechsten Artikel.
Und hier ein anderer Gutschein mit beschraenkter Gueltigkeit:

after saying "Sayonara" to Facebook and the constant stream of the same reposted memes and political flame wars. I have read great poetry, I've seen beautiful art, learned about history, laughed at genuinely funny and creative posts

That is exactly how I felt after a few months. Great to read!

I have noticed your username around, but wish you a warm welcome to the platform :) if you have any questions feel free to DM me under the same username on steemit.chat. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36