GIVEAWAY: 1920 German Notgeld note from the city of Karlsruhe in Uncirculated ConditionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #history8 years ago

Hey everyone! I'm thinking of a number between 1 and 1000. The first person to guess it will get this small but very wild flamed-out 50 Pfennig German Notgeld small-change banknote which was issued by the city of Karlsruhe in 1920. It's in excellent condition and the raised seal is very nice with no smudging. Almost 100 years old!

I'll mail it anywhere in the world, so you'll have to send me your mailing address via email to [email protected] if you win. This giveaway is exclusive to Steemit! If nobody guesses my number before this Friday it will go to the closest guess. Let's say no more than one guess per day per account.

If there is interest I'll do it again from time to time. This is a 100% PowerUp post. Good luck to all!

Sort:  

250 kommt mir in den Sinn. Aber warum eigentlich gab es schon in den fruehen zwanziger Jahren Notgeld? So schoenes Geld !

Danke für die Nummer und fürs Mitmachen! Schön ist das Geld - ohne Zweifel - aber die guten alten Zeiten waren sie bestimmt nicht! Am Anfang war das Notgeld des Kleingeldmangels wegen "nötig" - gerade nach dem Ausbruch des 1. Weltkriegs sind sämtliche Gold- und Silbermünzen auf einmal verschwunden, da der Goldstandard abgeschafft wurde, und man fing an zu hamstern und zu horten. Im Laufe der Zeit wandelte des Wortes Sinn, und das "Notgeld" wurde zu einem Zeitdokument der Notzeit. Die Geldscheine wurden als kleine Zeugnisse der Notzeit und der Wertlosigkeit selbst vom Geld an sich gedruckt und gesammelt. 1923 ging es wirklich los mit der Inflation, und Notgeld ist noch einmal nötig geworden. Insgesamt gibt es mehr als 200.000 verschiedene Notgeld-Ausgaben von 1914 bis Ende 1923!

Ich habe ein Video übers Thema gemacht, auf Englisch "What is Notgeld?" (es gibt nur wenige englische Materialien übers Notgeld):

Danke. So interessant. Steemit der Abendbildungskurs !

Cool giveaway! Very unique!

I'm guessing 808! :)

Hey @acidyo, thanks for the kind words and for being the first to guess! I don't want to say hot or cold but you can guess again every day until Friday. Your avatar makes me want to play Tiger Heli. :) I haven't even figured out how to make an avatar yet, I should probably go do that!

Hehe, its the "Settings" button on your wallet page. :)

Good luck to everyone!

Congrats, you are my 500th follower! ;)

Re-steemed this post :)

Well congrats to you and also many thanks, I appreciate it very much!

I'll take a lucky guess and say 777. Cool contest!

Hi Kenny, you were the closest - the number I wrote down here was 734! Just send me whatever mailing address you would like your Karlsruhe Notgeld note to, you can send it privately to me at [email protected]. Thanks for the very lucky guess and I hope you enjoy the note and have a wonderful weekend!

WOW I am so happy!!! :D Thank you for having this contest and I'm feeling very lucky now!

I have emailed you with my mailing address. Please let me know you have received it by replying to it, or here if for some reason you don't get it. Thanks again for doing this very cool contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57324.42
ETH 3010.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36