You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Useful And Unfair - The Rise Of Bots On Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

As mainly a contributor here, I was finding bots useful. I didn't have to guess when voters would be around to see my work. The owner of the bot first had to accept my stuff as quality, so it's not like I did nothing to earn the vote.

So I'd get many votes and a fair reward. Then I'd put more effort into each post. Then, magically, I'm now back to square one earning pennies. I really don't want to skimp on quality and go for quantity. I don't earn half of what many others earn, yet I create 100 percent original stuff from the images all the way down to the words.

I keep telling myself, "Self, more people will come, eventually, and this will all stabilize."

I hope I'm right. It takes a lot of time and effort to make everything from scratch. I look around. I see many using another person's hard work included in their own and making a decent reward for it. I really don't want to take that route.

I'm all for bots if that's what it takes. I've also worked on an organic farm. I see how much waste goes into that effort. I'm all for fertilized crops as well. I can get shot for saying both of these though.

Sort:  

Until the advent of farming communities were headed by women. They picked fruits and ensured survival. Men hunted randomly. Then, when the barns were full, men took over. Now on Facebook women lose time. Meanwhile the men on “SteemIT” order information chaos. They know how to get better results with less effort. Could that be true?

I can't speak for other people.
From my personal perspective, I realize if I were to create or simply share a meme, more people would be prepared to process it and know if it's something they like much sooner. What I do is unexpected, for the most part, or at least I strive for that effect. My craft depends on loyal followers who've been exposed to my style. A meme creator has a template. The context is still to be respected. It's not as easy as it seems to create a clever meme. I respect their craft. Their followers already know how to react so it's easier to gain a larger audience. It's a proven business model, in a sense. It has more to do with the audience than the producer. There are markets in existence and then there are markets one creates. The first meme producer had to go through the same process.

I'm tired. I hope that at least makes a bit of sense.

I hear you...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67044.89
ETH 3251.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64