It’s My Steemit Birthday!

in #steemit6 years ago

A year ago today I started my Steemit journey after waiting patiently for about a week for my account to be approved. I joined Steemit after I had recently become obsessed with the crypto world. I didn’t have any other social media or blogging accounts other than Facebook. But I had been very inactive on Facebook anyway, so Steemit seemed like a good match for me. I created an introduction post which received a warm welcome from many people including some dolphins and whales.

Despite the popularity of my first post, my next few posts were noticed by hardly anyone. This is very common on Steemit and many users quit after this happens. But I stayed and I quickly figured out that Steemit is too vast and there are too many users to just follow people willy-nilly. It is best to find users/communities that have the same interests as you. So I got involved in some areas/communities that I was interested in. I searched for niches to create posts about such as caturday and photo of the day contests. I started participating in some sports score prediction games. I tried to find friends in the fitness community and later joined a 100 daily reps workout challenge. Later on, I participated in some writing contests. More recently I’ve been active playing games on Steemit such as battleship, guess the movie, etc.

My Suggestions for Improving Steemit


The two main things that come to mind to me in order to improve Steemit are: 1) Spread the wealth and 2) Encourage quality content. Steemit could definitely use some improvement in both of these areas.

Spread the Wealth

The current ecosystem constitutes near abuse. Almost all of the money is at the top and the rest are fighting over leftover scraps. And so for the vast majority of people Steemit can only be a hobby. I think it’s unfortunate that more people can’t make enough money on Steemit for it to be a supplemental income source. Steemit could lose a lot of potential users to paid article writing sites like medium or blogging sites.

Encourage Quality Content

The current system benefits shitposting. Posting lower quality content frequently will generally result in greater rewards than poster higher quality content less frequently. This is the last thing Steemit needs because good quality content gets lost amongst the clutter.

A couple ways to try and encourage quality content I have thought of are: 1) Have more than just a one week payment. Instead, how about an initial one week payout and then monthly payouts thereafter. 2) Have ways to organize posts into playlists, promote/pin your most popular posts, and for users to search your old posts on your profile page. Users could be given a way to make playlists and categorize their posts as well as promote/pin their best/most popular work on their profile page so that their good posts don’t get buried and forgotten. There should also be a way to search because the way it is now if I want to go back and reread a post that I really liked, I potentially have to scroll though months of posts to try to find it.

Conclusions

I started out with the intent of Steemit being a hobby. I never hoped that it would become a supplemental income source. Steemit was simply a way to express myself, meet some people, and get a little crypto in the process. I’ve always tried to make my posts personable and cover a range of topics that interest me. Thanks for all the upvotes and comments over the past year.

Sort:  

Happy steemit birthday!!
I hope it will be another great year for you. ;D

Happy Steemiversary Mike! 😃

Ever so slightly belated, but I always arrive at a party fashionably late. Like me you are not a Steem-Rocket but still kicking and still creating, this is a win! You've always struck me as a genuinely nice guy and that is what this platform needs more than anything else, genuine people with a little heart to stick around and tough it out.

The growth will come in your 2nd year my friend...I sense we are at the cusp of something magnificent with regard to acceptance of blockchains...

I am incredibly happy to share the journey with you 😃

Thanks! I hope blockchain acceptance and popularity leads to something great in the world as well. I’m glad you are with me on this journey too.

Happy anniversary @ninjamike ... Mine is coming up soon.

Happy Steemiversary - you made it through one year and that is more than many. And you raise some great points here, communities are a great way to engage and grow with people - and simple things like taking the time to comment on others post is also a great way to get your own blog seen.

I think your point about "Spread the Wealth" is absolutely spot on, while we do have some excellent curation projects like @curie rewarding exceptional content - it is in all our interests that the smaller and upcoming accounts that are still working hard and producing good content - get some sort of reward for their effort. It is easy for the tit for tat circle to develop, with stake holders with similar Steem Power upvoting each others content for equivalent rewards - but when you have under 100 sp you effectively are giving each other a token gesture with no worth. For a long time now I have been supporting a wide range of our smallest accounts even though doing so makes no financial sense - curation rewards are tiny and return votes which are very much appreciated can not be equivalent. But it's the bigger picture, helping, growing and retaining accounts makes for a busy lively Blockchain - however important investors are it's still the people using it that bring the biggest attraction.

You have also suggested some great ideas for promoting quality content, I'm not sure how workable those suggestions are but it's always a benefit to see new ideas on how to progress. The Steem Blockchain presents endless possibilities, steemit.com is just one example of those and we have other blogging front ends to choose from along with a constantly growing range of DAPPS.

We have a lot to look forward too, hopefully more people choose to stick around like you have. And a big thanks to @poeticsnake for highlighting this post.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks for your detailed response.

The good thing is that you’re not alone. I’ve seen other large Steeminans out there who see the big picture and use their voting power on smaller accounts rather than going after curation rewards. The most obvious example is @hr1 who gives out lots of decent sized upvotes to smaller users with decent original posts. I got a curie upvote once but with curie you have to be really into writing to get curie upvotes consistently. I've looked into writing for other curation projects.

Steemmonsters is the only Steem DAPP I’ve heard of. I will have to look into learning about more Steem applications.

Congrats on making it a year on Steemit !

Your post has been sent to the promoted section due to your participation in @rentmoney's Followers Appreciation Promotion !

Thanks for the support.

Congratulations @ninjamike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63