How to introduce Steemit to my YouTube Audience of Approx 50k Subscribers

in #steemit7 years ago

steemityt.jpg

I plan on introducing Steemit to my YouTube audience of 47k+

I just want to know a good way of explaining steemit to my audience, and how I should go about doing it.
Definitely let me know some thoughts and opinions in the comments section!

I'm not sure if I should get into the subject of cryptocurrency and the block chain (I doubt much of my audience knows too much about it because I've never covered it before) or should I just introduce steemit as a new social media site where you are compensated for your effort towards the community..Hmmm

I just want to bring some new users to the site that might really enjoy it here.

Talk to you in the comments,

-NextTimeTech

Sort:  

There are so many different things you could say. One thing I've noticed is that you can risk information overload. I've recently been recommending grabbing one idea at a time and talking about just that idea rather than trying to do everything in one video.

My interest if I ever get around to making a video was to show the difference between crypto miners and the effort, expense, and time they put into mining currencies, and the guy/gal in a coffee shop using their laptop and phone to mine Steem just by using the platform... no special hardware required, no being put out of business by people who buy more expensive equipment to you.

Another idea you can share is the idea of community. It is kind of like Reddit, but the added fact you make money posting, voting and commenting tends to deter a lot of the trolling. There is a lot less trolling here as they tend to destroy their accounts and not make much. This means the community in general is far more willing to talk about opposing ideas with respect. There are exceptions but, they are a lot less than any other platform I've ever seen.

Respect, and perseverance will pay you.

You could also look at @shayne's analysis of his experience of youtube vs reposting his youtube videos here on steemit. Here is his post on that.

If you have questions or need help feel free to reply to one of my posts or comments so I see it.

Glad to have you here, and I wish you luck in bringing more people.

My personal interest is to get people here and get user retention to as close to 100% as we can.

Awesome advice, thank you

thoughtful, inspiring..

I've just nominated this comment of yours as the best comment of the Day by @acidyo.

Thank you. I appreciate it.

That would be great if you talk about Steemit in a video!

If you mention getting paid for posting, commenting and up voting then people's first question will be - where does the money come from. Basically it comes from investors who think demand for steem will rise, and therefore its price, as more people come to steemit and want to buy steem to enhance their voting power and therefore their earning power when voting. Lots of others have posted about this and I think it's in the FAQ and whitepaper. But be prepared for that question!

Thanks for the heads up and your explanation

I think it's a bad idea to say it's coming from investors and it's not exactly true either. The value of steem comes from investors and users who buy steem power but the actual distribution of steem comes from the newly minted coins. It's best to say that it comes from inflation, you can compare it to the printing press with fiat currencies.If there was no investors people would still get rewarded steem.

Gregory Mannarino recently did this @marketreport and it seems to have been working out pretty well for him. The first I heard of Steemit was the other day when he dropped it on his youtube channel. Check out what he did here

I hope the example help, I would generally suggest just do it in the style you usually do (his usual video is just like that) and hope for the best.

Great idea and it depends on your YouTube channel. The blockchain may be over their heads, but SteemIt can introduce itself by feeling familiar (blogging), so that might be a better place to start.

Do you guys think I should introduce it?

You should for sure! I don't know what type of videos you make, but you don't necessarily need to make a big deal out of it. Just a few sentences to get their interest, and they can easily google it to learn more about it. Or just make a video about Steemit! That might work, but it might also come across as a bit too "promoty".

Yeah I'm kind of thinking of just showing how interested I am in the platform, give them an idea of how to signup for their account, and offer help to the new users that do sign up

That sounds like a good plan in my opinion ;)

Just do you. With that I mean, talk about Steemit the way you feel about it. My geuss is thats the best way to reach the 47K people. You've got that many followers for a reason, so elaborate your view on Steemit by using the best way you could do so. By doing you.

You should do an interview with someone who knows it in and out.

Just cruised your youtube channel and signed up for ibotta with your referral code looks interesting.

haha cool, thanks!

Hi bro, i love your idea, i recomend you to see @craig-grant he is here on steemit, and he gives a good talk about this awsome comunity, so check it out, and maybe you can learn something new from him or take some tips or something like that, hope been helpfull see ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70