Steemit Suggestion - Interests

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I've joined this site just a few days ago and I'm liking it so far. However I was in the dark as to why I wasn't able to do more with tags and finding out who to follow. The stream of posts is currently still relatively small but it's growing every day and reading/curating new posts will become harder and harder to do. So I've got a first suggestion to make.


I was missing the ability to have a stream of stories containing only tags that interest me personally. This is where a new menu item comes in place. This will generate a stream of stories containing only my preferred tags. Not only lets this filter the stories to our personal preferences it can also help people with curating stories towards specific tags.




How do we add/remove a tag from/to interest? Find a story with the correct tag and press the check symbol next to it to add it to your list of interests or press the cross to remove it. Because this list can in theory grow pretty large I think we can put an initial limit on it of 5-25 interests and see where it goes from there.




It then from then on shows up on your user page so that other people can see what your interests are and can decide to follow you. The items in this list are clickable so the people watching your user page can jump to the trending stories stream of that tag directly.

Tell me what you think and feel free to come up with additional suggestions and/or ideas.

Sort:  

was this anyway solved for you via feed?

Second this. It was partially solved by the feed, but would be really nice to be able to follow tags/topics instead of just individuals.

I really like this idea. It would be a new way for users to find more content they are interested in, while ignoring stuff they don't want to see!

I just featured a link to your post in my list of proposals to enhance the Steemit website :)
https://steemit.com/ui/@timcliff/let-s-make-steemit-better-comprehensive-list-of-suggested-ui-ux-improvements-to-make-to-the-steemit-com-website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64310.07
ETH 3504.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49