Staying safe from claims of plagiarism: the magic phrase to use.

in #steemit7 years ago

First off, I'd like to state that I only speak for myself, and not for Steemcleaners or anyone else, but these are my thoughts on plagiarism. (I suspect that Steemcleaners has higher standards.)

If you are making a post and are worried that it might get flagged for plagiarism, then here is the magic phrase to use:

"I did not create this content"

There you go, put that phrase somewhere in your post, preferably next to whatever picture/music/video/article that you are sharing, and you will be 100% safe from my flags (and most others I think).


"I did not create this picture"
This picture is amazing! I wish I created it, but I didn't. The actual artist should pat him or herself on the back.

Obviously, if you can specify that artist and link to the original, you should do this. This will make your post more valuable, more likely to receive upvotes, and you'll be that much safer from any flagging.

The above pic I found at https://www.neondystopia.com/what-is-cyberpunk/ I'm actually not sure who the artist is, but if someone lets me know, I'll be happy to add it to the post.

But what about copyright?

To be honest I don't care much about copyright laws. Those laws are just laws made by pesky governments, and it's not my job to defend copyright: I just fight against plagiarism.

I am a Kopimist with regards to my views on sharing data.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Missionary_Church_of_Kopimism

Sort:  

The magic phrase might protect from claims of plagiarism but i believe there's a Fair Use Test for actual copyright claims :)

One of which is whether the use was for non-profit or commercial purposes.

Again, it's not my job to police copyright. I might be a steemit lawyer ;) but I'm not a real life lawyer and I'm not going to go around flagging things that might be a copyright violation.

I wouldn't either but the original artist / photographer / musician might. No one really cares when there's no money involved... it's all free publicity right? But when the post makes a few hundred, that's when things might get interesting.

Anyway, i agree with you. Just put the magic phrase at a minimum.

That's a fair point. There's always a chance that the real author will come to the site and demand a cut, especially if your post made significant dollars.

What to do in this case?

I'm not sure, but I probably would give them something, just to be nice, if nothing else.

About a month back I did post a video by SGTreport, gave proper credit of course. It turns out that they joined soon after. In that case, I gave @sgtreport the liquid rewards (SBD) of my post. I was just happy to see him here.

That's a good way to handle the situation and i think everybody wins as a result.

It's going to be interesting to see how Steemit handles this. iirc YouTube faced similar issues when they were starting and they started policing / deleting accounts as a result of complaints.

I think they should put the words like

This Content is 100% Copy Pasta

LOL, Now Following you!!

I did knot create THIS Comment!
!

I am right with you neo. I think all that matters is simply disclosure of the content and the fact it is not your own. I see a lot of copy pasta where someone cites a "source" but does not disclose the fact they did not create the content they used the source. I might take to a harsher stance on this content.

doesn't citing a source acknowledge that you aren't the creator of the content?

not being wise-assed...I do that all the time...using a source note rather than flat out saying I didn't create the content.

I do make sure I explicitly say "I did not create this content" IF I don't add anything else to the post (commentary etc)

Well you include commentary - or post to an appropriate tag like news-link?I think that matters a lot. There is a difference from a rep 30 account posting cointelegraph articles verbatim without commentary and what you are doing - peeped your stuff, can't believe I was not following.

It really depends on the situation but I think there are a lot of posts that don't bring anything to the table but someone else's words. I don't find value in much of that.

Thanks for the follow ;)

I think there are a lot of posts that don't bring anything to the table but someone else's words.

I see some value; it's still bringing me information. Granted, sometimes I see the same link 4 or 5 times. And triply granted it is nowhere near as valuable to the platform as a whole as a little analysis, or even a wise-ass remark ;>

#news-link interesting tag; hadn't seen it before...then again I usually discuss these things in terms of #fakenews anyway

There is absolutely a place for reposts and news links - value as well. The interests of the community today are interesting. I'm happy to be here for the evolution.

Great post.
I am writing on an open invitation to an artist that I like to quote to join Steemit.
That way he can be quoted and get paid here on Steemit =)

Very interesting post, thanks!

The correct content from you @neoxian
I like your opinion of this.

Now am less scared of how to use those very old pictures on my phone that i can't even remember where i got them from.😊

Steemcleaners are like cheetahbot then? even saw tweet bot going around too. Thanx for heads up to even site sources for pics too. You even mention if you don't know where you got it at, you are open to adding it to the page as well if someones knows who made it.

Welcome back @cybercodetwins ! Yes Steemcleaners are a group that controls the @cheetah account, and @steemcleaners and @adm, they chat on steemitchat #steemitabuse channel.

I do hang out there and often help them flag bad posts, but I don't always agree 100% with what they do.

I had to look up what Kopimist meant. Nice to learn something new!

Woo, I taught an old guy something new!

Yes you did! However, don't get too excited... With me, it isn't that hard to do lol. I can be a bit obtuse... ;)

Love the copyright talk.

As to everything else, thank you for doing this. New author here and have been trying my best to supply original content...

Hope to get noticed :)

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67