You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Staying safe from claims of plagiarism: the magic phrase to use.

in #steemit7 years ago

I am right with you neo. I think all that matters is simply disclosure of the content and the fact it is not your own. I see a lot of copy pasta where someone cites a "source" but does not disclose the fact they did not create the content they used the source. I might take to a harsher stance on this content.

Sort:  

doesn't citing a source acknowledge that you aren't the creator of the content?

not being wise-assed...I do that all the time...using a source note rather than flat out saying I didn't create the content.

I do make sure I explicitly say "I did not create this content" IF I don't add anything else to the post (commentary etc)

Well you include commentary - or post to an appropriate tag like news-link?I think that matters a lot. There is a difference from a rep 30 account posting cointelegraph articles verbatim without commentary and what you are doing - peeped your stuff, can't believe I was not following.

It really depends on the situation but I think there are a lot of posts that don't bring anything to the table but someone else's words. I don't find value in much of that.

Thanks for the follow ;)

I think there are a lot of posts that don't bring anything to the table but someone else's words.

I see some value; it's still bringing me information. Granted, sometimes I see the same link 4 or 5 times. And triply granted it is nowhere near as valuable to the platform as a whole as a little analysis, or even a wise-ass remark ;>

#news-link interesting tag; hadn't seen it before...then again I usually discuss these things in terms of #fakenews anyway

There is absolutely a place for reposts and news links - value as well. The interests of the community today are interesting. I'm happy to be here for the evolution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42