You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Staying safe from claims of plagiarism: the magic phrase to use.

in #steemit7 years ago

The magic phrase might protect from claims of plagiarism but i believe there's a Fair Use Test for actual copyright claims :)

One of which is whether the use was for non-profit or commercial purposes.

Sort:  

Again, it's not my job to police copyright. I might be a steemit lawyer ;) but I'm not a real life lawyer and I'm not going to go around flagging things that might be a copyright violation.

I wouldn't either but the original artist / photographer / musician might. No one really cares when there's no money involved... it's all free publicity right? But when the post makes a few hundred, that's when things might get interesting.

Anyway, i agree with you. Just put the magic phrase at a minimum.

That's a fair point. There's always a chance that the real author will come to the site and demand a cut, especially if your post made significant dollars.

What to do in this case?

I'm not sure, but I probably would give them something, just to be nice, if nothing else.

About a month back I did post a video by SGTreport, gave proper credit of course. It turns out that they joined soon after. In that case, I gave @sgtreport the liquid rewards (SBD) of my post. I was just happy to see him here.

That's a good way to handle the situation and i think everybody wins as a result.

It's going to be interesting to see how Steemit handles this. iirc YouTube faced similar issues when they were starting and they started policing / deleting accounts as a result of complaints.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64