You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What #doyourpart is all about.

in #steemit8 years ago

" personally" Yea, that's the problem. This isn't about personal preferences. We definitely have a philosophical difference here. If #doyourpart is about censorship, then count me out of it. Indeed, if Steemit is about censorship, count me out of that too. The reason why I'm here is for the censorship resistant, decentralized blockchain. If I want some regular forum, I'll just go back to reddit.com.

Sort:  

See what happens... This well intentioned project turned into a personal bias downvote brigade in less than a week. The goody goody hall monitors are coming, and they are still pissed off from being friendless in high school... You think what they've done to reddit is bad, just wait until they realize they can get money from it here. (like this guy, blocking correctly tagged things that offend him for personal\religious\political reasons)

I posted a suggestion that allows users to fix this themselves, without creating little censorship clicks downvoting everything and bragging about it everywhere. https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinfoilfedora/instead-of-creating-automated-censorship-tools-allow-the-users-to-fix-the-problem-through-curation

If nothing else, it would be easier than trying to police every post.

I'm on the same page with you @tinfoilfedora, if #doyourpart becomes what you describe, I'll leave it and just flag on my own using the criteria above.

I read your post; agreed. If we had better user side filtering features, then a lot of this flagging wouldn't be necessary.

You should publicly ask for the account features you think are necessary. Quickly, before this crap gets out of hand.
I have already ticked off the whales\developers for talking bluntly about website problems and politics, so you will probably have better luck. Feel free to repost the 3 feature fix or any part of it.
Just try to get people talking about adding user controls instead of censorship and moderation, before the goody two shoes brigades form and ruin this place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98