What #doyourpart is all about.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hello! There seems to be some confusion on what exactly #doyourpart is all about. I can't speak for everyone, but I'll try to explain how I see it.

Our mission is to flag spam posts, but what does this mean exactly? If you see a post and don't like it, you are obviously free to flag it. I can't stop you; it's all about freedom around here in this decentralized blockchain land.

But that's not what #doyourpart is about. It is not about flagging posts that you don't like.

There are four main categories of posts that we want to flag:

Tag Abuse:

There are two types of this: Tag spam and Incorrect Tags.
Tag spam is easy. It's when the poster includes dozens of tags, many of which have nothing to do with the post, trying to game the system and gain attention for themselves. An incorrect tag would be posting a sexy girl picture in "bitcoin" or posting an article about bitcoin in "introduceyourself". You are placing the wrong material in the wrong place.

Plagerism:

This is posting material from some other source and claiming it as your own. You should always give credit and site your source and preferably link to the original material. I don't usually flag for this myself, so I'll let others talk about this more.

Duplicate posts:

This is reposting the same material over and over again. If I see the same thing posted three or more times in the same day, I'll definitely flag it. If I see the same thing posted two weeks later, I'd probably be fine with that, but I'll admit it's a judgement call.

Blatant Begging

In some sense, we are all begging a little bit. I'd be tickled pink if this post got voted up to the high heavens, but I'm trying to provide some value in return. Blatant begging is just when you post some very silly, no effort post saying something like "Whales please vote me up! This post is worthless, but vote me up to prove that a worthless post can make thousands!" I don't know, this might be the most subjective one, but I'll down vote these on sight.

Anyway, that's my interpretation of #doyourpart , and my thinking when I go on flagging patrol.

Sort:  

whale whale whale . what do we have here?

Great points! Lets beg in a healthy way :)

Especially like the blatant begging removal since it tends to be people complaining after mass posting mediocre posts that were copied and pasted from another source. And the initiative to pay people to do this shows that those with a lot invested here care how the community is perceived. Better content and less spam keeps people using steemit and gives a high retention rate leading to value even farther down the road.

I do agree with you, freedom of speech is important on a decentralized platform, but when things really get annoying, its better to delete.

How about Blatant Begging like this?
https://steemit.com/doyourpart/@calamus056/my-first-4-flagging-cases
Its got naked chicks for no reason, and "look at me I'm a do gooder", just begging for money.

Kind of hypocritical if you ask me.

I don't see that post as a blatant begging post. Looks like it got flagged though, so I guess someone was on the job. ;)

Steemit still in the beta stage. Anything goes but once we have a better guide line we will adjust to it and make it better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66530.02
ETH 3495.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64