Feature request: Either remove or at least increase the nesting comment limit

in #steemit8 years ago

For some reason, comments under a post only nest 5 levels deep and once you hit that limit, you can no longer reply to the last comment. If you want to reply after that, you have to awkwardly find a higher level comment to reply to, which makes the conversations look confusing.

I'm not sure if this is a block chain issue or just a user interface issue. It seems like it wouldn't be too hard to concoct an interface that would allow deeper nested comments. Maybe something like this:


(Pardon my poor photoshopping)

Conversations are important so I think this would help.

Sort:  

I agree, for the moment we end up having to repy to the wrong person to keep the discussion going

I think mostly users are not checking all comments and new commenting start after 5 levels deep end.

Just make classic forum or facebook/reddit style comments.
This should be simple.

This would really be a nice feature update. I know that when they designed it, the 6 level nesting was there because the author would get a split of all the comment payouts (up to 6 levels deep), as a reward for creating a post that encouraged a lively discussion.

I have no idea if this is true or not, but I've heard rumors that they removed that. Someone should be able to find out fairly easily.

If they did, then there is not really a reason to keep the 6 level nesting restriction anymore. If they are still doing the author payout for 6 levels of comments, then they probably could not do this without a hardfork.

Either way, I think it is a good idea - just different levels of difficulty to implement :)

I included a link to your post in my list of proposals to enhance the Steemit website:
https://steemit.com/ui/@timcliff/let-s-make-steemit-better-comprehensive-list-of-suggested-ui-ux-improvements-to-make-to-the-steemit-com-website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94