Somebody that Understands Payouts, Please Explain this to me...

in #steemit8 years ago

On Friday, I released Dr. Strangefur: Private Time, a four page fully illustrated black & white comic. I was so excited it received 53 upvotes and made a whopping 52 cents.

This morning I released my Voidart Challenge Sketchbook a few hours ago and I already have 15 upvotes. Thank you guys. I'm so glad you liked it. I already have a potential payoff of $24.04.

What did I do wrong with the comic?
What could I have done better?

Should I be watching the price of steem to make sure I am publishing during some sort of a sweet spot during the week?

Please Help Me Understand

Help me be a better Steemer.

Imgur

Sort:  

Everything you Need to Get Started Fast with Steemit, Social Media that Pays [Complete Tutorial with Screencast]
https://steemit.com/steemit/@georgedonnelly/everything-you-need-to-get-started-fast-with-steemit-social-media-that-pays-complete-tutorial-with-screencast

Hey there! I really like the work. To answer your question, it all depends who upvotes it. If someone has more steem power, their vote is worth more. Theyre much stronger curators, they have more power. So theres no right time or right way, it really just depends who upvotes or comments on the piece.

Also, if you have a lot of upvotes and a high potential payout, one downvote/flag from a whale can take away most if not all of the payout.

I guess that's just a random factor. I saw a Whale Fishing Chart this morning. Maybe that would help.

I noticed you attracted the robotev bots on the Sketchbook, likely down to the power of the votes...

Nice work by the way :)

I was thinking about what you wrote. I assume there is nothing anyone can do to attract the robotex bots. Is that right?

My understanding is those bot are run for the purpose of finding good content that isn't being rewarded and rewarding it...

Since you got votes on the one article but they didn't count much I guess they came in to help..
Looks like they did what they are meant to do...

Good luck....

I think it has to do with WHO does the upvoting...if they don't have enough STEEM then their vote doesn't count that much. On the flip side, if you have a couple of whales vote for a piece of content, a single vote can be very valuable. I have seen posts with 2 upvotes display potential payouts in the $24 range, and the wallets of those casting the two votes looked like whales.

Very informative tool. Thanks for sharing.

What @mycoft said :)

As you post, comment and upvote articles you could earn Steem or Steem power. You also have voting power, although I'm not sure if you can directly see your current voting power on Steemit.

If you go here and type in your username you can see your voting power:

https://steemstats.com/#/

Basically, when someone upvotes a post or a comment (or maybe just a post, I can't recall) they lose a little of their voting power. Eventually their voting power gets replenished if they don't continuously don't "spamvote".

When they upvote, the value of that upvote (to my knowledge) is determined by their voting power and the amount of Steem Power they currently have.

I don't know what the specific formula is, though.

You need to catch a whale :)

That seems to be the consensus. I guess someone needs to write a paper on whale hunting.

Thanks for the link!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57455.52
ETH 2339.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35