You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Double Standards: An Open Letter to the Original Content Only Police

in #steemit8 years ago

Great reply. As for fair use, I suppose if you were doing a review of a movie, or even a humorous outtake, using a still would not be unwarranted. I cannot think of many other reasons...if perhaps you were writing about a politician, you couldn't be expected to hunt him/ her down to take a pic. So there are some legit reasons to use stock images.

Here is a question:

Would you ever downvote/flag an blog on Steemit for including unoriginal image content?

Sort:  

I am yet to flag anything yet, I think. If I see stuff that I feel is inappropriate, I don't upvote it.
And yeah, I know the value of stock photos, during my time in the TV broadcasting team, finding some stock royalty free photos was part of my job. A very minor part, but nevertheless. :-)
So far I had no reason to add stock photos to my writing, and I am going to keep it that way. I've used a book cover, when I was writing about a book, and a logo of Slashdot and Bitshares, when talking about them. But that is it. :-)

Me too! I have never flagged someone and I have never been flagged. Hopefully that stays the same!

On that note, another steemian once even took an original picture that @condra posted on steemit and re-posted it on steemit as if it were there own! (That one got flagged by someone (I think.))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39