You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Double Standards: An Open Letter to the Original Content Only Police

in #steemit8 years ago

Yup. That is why I use my own photos, or screenshots only. I write my own texts, and I illustrate them on my own. I mean sure, it is easy to get some royalty free stock images. But I'd rather be original. As for text, I'd also like someone to write a guide on fair use. You know, it is legal to quote, even if your work is commercial. People who do not excercisie their rights are gonna lose them. :->

Sort:  

Great reply. As for fair use, I suppose if you were doing a review of a movie, or even a humorous outtake, using a still would not be unwarranted. I cannot think of many other reasons...if perhaps you were writing about a politician, you couldn't be expected to hunt him/ her down to take a pic. So there are some legit reasons to use stock images.

Here is a question:

Would you ever downvote/flag an blog on Steemit for including unoriginal image content?

I am yet to flag anything yet, I think. If I see stuff that I feel is inappropriate, I don't upvote it.
And yeah, I know the value of stock photos, during my time in the TV broadcasting team, finding some stock royalty free photos was part of my job. A very minor part, but nevertheless. :-)
So far I had no reason to add stock photos to my writing, and I am going to keep it that way. I've used a book cover, when I was writing about a book, and a logo of Slashdot and Bitshares, when talking about them. But that is it. :-)

Me too! I have never flagged someone and I have never been flagged. Hopefully that stays the same!

On that note, another steemian once even took an original picture that @condra posted on steemit and re-posted it on steemit as if it were there own! (That one got flagged by someone (I think.))

You are original @xanoxt!

Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37