You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemit the Future of Self-Publishing? (A Veteran Author’s Opinion)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Absolutely, Steemit is already growing into a great platform to publish work. I never liked the results from Facebook advertising, I think they cheat you somehow, plus they tricked people, I grew my following organically to 25,000+ people then boom they started blocking my post and trying to charge me just to show each post to more than 20 people. I'm so done FB and IG... Good post! Resteeming.

Sort:  

I think this is critical for artists to understand. Building a big following is important, but OWNING that following is crucial, and nothing on Facebook is owned by us. Thanks for this perspective. I'll be following.

Good Point! @cristof I've been trying with moderate success to migrate my fb and IG following to my own website and email list. Steemit is good, because I don't see them manipulating traffic for pay. Thanks for the follow, check out my writing on why steemit works well for visual artist, I think you will find it interesting. Link: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nathanjtaylor/9-reasons-why-steemit-is-the-future-online-platform-for-visual-artist

You can bet I will. I think the platform works even better for visual artists than for writers, though it's often pitched as a blog site. I'd expect you'll have solid success here, and I hope you do.

Facebook did the EXACT same thing to me. My author page had huge engagement, they changed their algorithms and I lost 98% of my readership overnight. It was crushing...but then I found Steemit. : ) Thanks for the support, man!

Yeah man, I know, Facebook is a trick... you are welcome, happy to support, let us do big things with steem!

Amen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59218.43
ETH 2534.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44